LUSH • Enzymion • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 rosieflower on 8/17/2014 7:44:00 PM more reviews by rosieflower

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

horrible for my oily skin. I feel like lush really don't know what to do/ can't offer anything for oily skin - the salesgirl who was totally lovely gave me this as it was 'the only moisturiser without cocoa butter'?!?? like as if that suddenly makes it ok for oily skin. I gave it a fair shot - two weeks use - partly cos I really wanted to buy into the whole natural skin care philosophy and partly cos it was so bloody expensive (if it was good I could have stomached the price). But it gave me spots like nothing else! not subtle blocked pores or those tiny white under the skin spots but horrible juicy yellowheads vom!!! I know it doesn't contain cocoa butter but it was as if I was rubbing like cocoa butter for your body on my face! I admit it was really good at keeping the shine down, I loved this about it, and loved the smell too, but the spots were in no way worth it. I bought this a couple of months ago and my reason for reviewing now is that I just ran out of moisturiser so picked this up in desperation and literally two days later I'm getting the yellow spots again, I've counted three so far. normally the only spots I get are from stress, too much oily make up or touching my face too much so it's shocking to me that a moisturiser claiming to be for oily skin can have such a bad and sudden effect! really sad that this didn't work for me. oily girls please be careful!!! get a sample first if possible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peachhsorbet on 7/6/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by peachhsorbet

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

My skin does get very oily, and I have used moisturisers that were making it worse. Before I tried this product, I was using a Neutrogena moisturiser and whenever I put it on at night my skin would be crazy oily in the morning.

Enzymion is the complete opposite of this. I use morning and night, and you only need to use a little at a time, so for the price is it a good investment (the use by date is only a couple of months from when it's made but the employee I spoke to in my local Lush store said it can be used for longer).

When I use it at night, it doesn't keep heavy or sticky on my face like other moisturisers. I also don't wake up with my face feeling sticky and oily either, which is a massive plus for me as this makes me break out in red bumps on my t-zone.

Using it in the morning instantly refreshes me due to the fruity, citrus scent. This product also serves as a great base for makeup. Furthermore the employee I spoke to told me it will help combat oily skin when wearing makeup, which I can honestly say is true as I no longer have to blot my face or touch up my makeup during the day, which is a pain especially during these hot summer days.

I am not keen on the parabens in this product though. Although I know Lush do look for alternatives as they know people are more aware of them (and don't want products with them in) so I hope in the future they find them. I also do not like the packaging - it's not that sanitary. I wish this product was in a bottle with a pump, or in a container in which you can squeeze the product out.

Overall those this product is amazing. Quite pricey but because you don't need much every time you use it, and also it works very well with my skin, it is a great investment for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ScarletteLawson on 2/19/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by ScarletteLawson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Enzymion claims to be good for oily skin , and I think the opposite is true . There are a lot of oils in this, and while LUSH claims that they are good oils they r mostly not . Look up the ingredients ! Many are comedogenic (pore clogging) and the perfumes are a big no no (and it doesnt even smell good, i hated the smell) I have oily, acne prone skin and this just clogged my pores and felt greasy. Also, it is SO expensive. I just got the sample because I didn't want to spend 40 DOLLARS. Another overpriced, overrated LUSH moisturizer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kailingggg on 2/16/2014 12:33:00 PM more reviews by kailingggg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is just not a good product for my oily skin. It felt really thick and sticky on my skin like there is a film laying right on top of it and it can't breathe. First off, this is suppose to be a moisturizer and its not even a bit moisturizing for my skin. Especially since i live in Singapore, the weather here is constantly wet, hot and humid, i would prefer something more moisturizing and less sticky as compared to this.

Packaging is super unhygienic. I don't like the idea of constantly sticking my fingers in although they are clean (or i hope they are lol) And it is really pricey for the amount of product you get! I was quite shock when i first opened the lid as it was only half way full and i paid like 50 dollars for this. Totally not worth its. Not repurchasing this, EVER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 estellanutella on 1/11/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by estellanutella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Acne-prone babes -- attention!

I feel your painz. Mostly because it is on my face.

This product will very likely break you out. I got a sample and for the first few days, it seemed okay and then... small bumps, white heads, and THREE big ol' cystic bumps!!! You name it, I got it from this!!! Argh. I haven't had a break-out in over 10 months, I almost forgot how bad it can be. And now this is going to take MONTHS for me to fully recover... So please, acne-prone gals, be careful!!

COMEDOGENIC INGREDIENTS:
1. Cocoa Butter is VERY/HIGHLY comedogenic
2. Wheat Germ Oil is VERY/HIGHLY comedogenic
3. Stearic Acid is MEDIUM comedogenic
4. Cetearyl Alcohol MEDIUM comedogenic
(5. Evening Primrose Oil is LOW-MEDIUM)
(6. Avocado Oil is LOW-MEDIUM)

DAT A LOT, YAH?!

resources:
http://www.caryskincare.com/acnecomedogeniclist.html
http://www.acne.org/messageboard/topic/319593-the-bad-list-comedogenic-ingredients-and-products/
for oils:
https://www.beneficialbotanicals.com/facts-figures/comedogenic-rating.html

Plus, parabens (preservatives) are known carcinogens. I mean, it's common enough knowledge that even Sephora's website offers "paraben-free" products as a filter option. I'm very disappointed in LUSH, a company that appears in their marketing to really care about their consumer's health but clearly does not if they are still pushing paraben-filled products.

I was so busy this week that I didn't check MUA or the ingredients in this product before trying my sample -- a sample that I only grabbed because I suddenly ran out of moisturizer and there's a LUSH right by the subway. (Toronto, Dundas Stn, I'm looking at you and your ill-informed though well-intentioned employees.)

This is the lowest rating I've ever given a product. I feel kinda bad... but it had to be done.

P.S. The packaging for this is pretty unhygienic -- having to open it and dip your finger into the product exposes it to bacteria (even if you wash your hands) so this moisturizer definitely should not be kept for longer than 6 months maybe.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GGnumber1fan on 12/18/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by GGnumber1fan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So first off, I do want to mention that I am a LUSH Sales Associate, however, I promise that I am completely honest when I review about the LUSH products I use.
I have used many facial moisturizers out there, and so far I have only found a few that have been decent for me. But when I found Enzymion, I was completely blown away. I have very oily skin and so it is quite difficult to find the right moisturizer that won't make me feel even oilier than I already am. Enzymion is formulated with multiple fruit enzymes such as papaya. Additionally, lemon is literally the first ingredient in this product; therefore, this really helps at keeping skin very matte throughout the day and clear of any oil blockage in the pores. Lemon also helps to brighten skin and fade away pigmentation or post-acne scars (which is problem I have). This is LUSH's most lightweight moisturizer and it also doubles up as a makeup base, so you actually don't have to use a makeup primer afterwards, which is SO great.
I use this moisturizer morning and night after using the Tea Tree Water toner by LUSH, however, for the day, I also mix it with a moisturizer that has SPF 30 inside, as none of the LUSH moisturizers contain sun protection due to being cruelty-free products, and cosmetics with SPF must undergo animal testing, which LUSH is strongly against.
I literally feel like this moisturizer helps control my oil production throughout the day so I don't get as oily as I used to. As soon as I apply it, it absorbs into my skin instantly. I can definitely say that after completely using a full pot of this stuff, I can see a difference in my skin. It is clearer, brighter, and a lot smoother as well. I absolutely adore the smell. It smells kind of like Froot Loops cereal (apparently), and I somewhat agree. I feel like this moisturizer is not really earning enough love; if only more oily skin people knew about it!
I am absolutely going to repurchase a new pot as soon as I can because I don't think I'll ever find a better moisturizer than this one. There are literally no flaws that I can think about, except of course the most obvious downside, which is the packaging. The LUSH pots are OK but definitely are not the most sanitary nor the most clean-free. Product often gets accumulated around it. I don't really complain though because, as most LUSH fans probably know, when you bring back 5 black pots to a LUSH shop, you receive a free Fresh Face Mask of your choice, which is amazing.
I definitely recommend Enzymion to anybody with slightly to extremely oily skin. It doesn't irritate whatsoever and it's a Vegan product.
Visit a LUSH store to either receive a sample or buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Baf160 on 12/14/2013 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Baf160

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pricey but worth it! Even in my late 30s, I have acne-prone skin. This is the only moisturizer that keeps my skin supple in winter but doesn't cause breakouts. A little bit goes a long way and, although it's costly, the pot lasts a long time. The only change I'd like to see is to a more sanitary container rather than Lush's signature black pot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kgsurfs on 7/25/2013 1:19:00 AM more reviews by Kgsurfs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First off, I am kind of a Lush junkie. I love how natural and fun their approach to beauty is. Enzymion was a moisturizer I asked for a sample of every time I stopped into a Lush (so I wouldn't have to buy a full size...I'm a college student!). I like the fresh lightly fruity but not sweet scent and I am CRAZY about the fruit enzymes (hence the name) that help to balance out oily skin throughout the day. I can't say if the enzymes actually work to balance out oil through the day because I use this as an evening moisturizer (I ALWAYS wear SPF in the day) and I can't say how effective it is because I use it sparingly when I need light moisture. I don't know if I would buy this again...it expires kinda quickly. I may be nuts but I like my $7 jar of coconut oil from Trader Joe's better.,,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lewellenkelli on 6/12/2013 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Lewellenkelli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells like fruit loops. Which I love. I have combination skin, sensitive, acne prove skin. This moisturizer soaks in well and quick. Leaving a someone matte finish. It also last a good deal because you only need a small amount. I don't like that you have to dip your fingers into the tub each time to get product out. I would much prefer a pump

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Astrida5 on 5/11/2013 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Astrida5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have mixed feelings about this moisturizer. It definetely feels fresh and nice on my skin and the smell is amazing. But I'm figuring out if it break me out or not. Still can't say it does, because I haven't tried it very often. I hate the packaging. I would love to see this product in a squeezing tube. I gave this product 3 lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Moisturizers products