Dior Poison

3.4

253 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/18/2015 4:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Although I have never owned Poison I had a coworker in the 80s who wore it frequently. The top note was grape Kool-Aide but I love the scent of grape Kool-Aide. I knew I could never pull off so heady and strong a fragrance but I did like it on her unless I was in close proximity for too long. The revised version that I have sampled in stores is hardly recognizable to me. I would definitely wear the vintage now if I could afford it...but just a tiny bit.



on 5/18/2015 4:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I never wore this in the 80s but of course I remember it. I have a tiny bottle of Esprit de Parfum I bought some years ago just because I felt I should have it in my collection. Occasionally I would take the stopper off, sniff at it, and go 'ooof!' It's a potent creature. A few months ago I was working with someone and felt like I could smell a hint of .... Poison. But it was soft, barely there, pretty. I asked and yes, it was Poison. I figured this woman had some amazing chemistry and probably wore it at homoeopathic dilution. But I couldn't get it out of my mind. So I finally decided to try the new EDT. It's not a beast at all. It's definitely recognisably Poison, but it's soft and soapy too. It has a real Balmain Ivoire thing going on, like a column of green soapiness running through it. Of course the original Ivoire was a lot fruitier than it is nowadays, so I suppose the new Poison is like the old Ivoire. At any rate, I love it! It wears softly and isn't at all over-powering. I'm sure real Poison fans will be disappointed, and it certainly doesn't smell anything like all of the light fruity stuff that's popular nowadays, but gosh it's a beautiful fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 1:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Phewwww...smells like old bayberry candle wax that my granny used to put out every Christmas. No thanks.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have worn this perfume twice.......each time I have been complimented by a man. First, my boyfriend then a man at a party was not a pervert but I felt like he was circling me and trying.to sit next to me.....Finally, he asked for the name of my perfume and told me how much he enjoyed it. This is strong stuff. I only dab this on my wrists and a few dabs behind my neck. It really is quite beautiful applied light.This one is for night one-year round.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2014 7:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow this perfume is strong but I love it. I had a bottle in the 80s and it used to clear a room with one spray. There are slightly watered down versions of it, Poisen Tendre, Hypnotic Poison etc and I love them all. The original Poison is strong stuff, very deep, musky and gorgeous and smells like expensive stuff (which it is). I love the way it lingers on my clothes and hair when I spray it but be warned only use a couple of sprays so the bottle last for months. If you use too much you will get told by someone as it is one of those heady scents that can give people headaches if too much is in the air. But I have to say this has always been a firm favourite of mine and one which I will continue to keep buying. Apart from the price there is nothing I don't like about it.


on 10/12/2014 11:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Dior's Poison changed the fragrance landscape in the 80s. Pure and potent. The current one on shelves is a shell of it's former self. I have a bottle from around 1997 (before it changed to the apple bottle). It's a deep, heady, mysterious floral. There's a lot of fruit and musk here. I think this is a suitable scent for a man as well as a woman. It is potent so you don't need to over apply. I love the dry down. It's an interesting scent!


on 9/4/2014 3:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know why anyone likes this, it was given to me as a present and smells SO unappealing.


on 6/28/2014 12:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Puts me in a time warp. My first love high school sweetheart bought me this. Reminds me if the good times. Loved this stuff!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2013 6:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Dior's Poison reminds me of a certain type of woman-we've all encountered her in one way or the other. She's a woman you've got to have respect for, though you won't neccessarily like. She's full of character, who has overcome adversity in life-being viewed first as a villian by society, which has since realized that she was only doing what it took to survive-but which still provided no apology. She still holds her head up high, albeit with some bitterness. She vows never to be the one who judges, but she simply lacks, at this point, the mental capacity to stop herself, and succumbs to the ways of society she had scorned.
To me, it's a dark fragrance. The bitterness can be seen by the stark contrast of the uplifting aldehydes and jasmine, and some strident note-perhaps incense or honey-this overwhelms the nose much like the woman above would overwhelm your senses. She is way dominant, and just won't take a no for an answer.
Also, there is something to be said about the thematic elements of this fragrance. When Dior designed the apple- looking bottle, we thought the resemblance to snow white was cute. Then we find that the qualities of the fragrance are slightly reminiscent of the evil which. Then comes another edition of poison-this time in a red bottle. Is it me or is the resemblance simply uncanny?

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2013 12:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the cologne I wear when I want to smell sexy. It's very sultry and unique. I wear this one often.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1375 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1887 Reviews
Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
Back to Top