Dior • Poison • Fragrances

rated 3.4(249 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 claregriffin on 10/23/2014 7:58:00 AM more reviews by claregriffin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Wow this perfume is strong but I love it. I had a bottle in the 80s and it used to clear a room with one spray. There are slightly watered down versions of it, Poisen Tendre, Hypnotic Poison etc and I love them all. The original Poison is strong stuff, very deep, musky and gorgeous and smells like expensive stuff (which it is). I love the way it lingers on my clothes and hair when I spray it but be warned only use a couple of sprays so the bottle last for months. If you use too much you will get told by someone as it is one of those heady scents that can give people headaches if too much is in the air. But I have to say this has always been a firm favourite of mine and one which I will continue to keep buying. Apart from the price there is nothing I don't like about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jhenley on 10/12/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Dior's Poison changed the fragrance landscape in the 80s. Pure and potent. The current one on shelves is a shell of it's former self. I have a bottle from around 1997 (before it changed to the apple bottle). It's a deep, heady, mysterious floral. There's a lot of fruit and musk here. I think this is a suitable scent for a man as well as a woman. It is potent so you don't need to over apply. I love the dry down. It's an interesting scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 penelopet on 9/4/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by penelopet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know why anyone likes this, it was given to me as a present and smells SO unappealing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KathieL on 6/28/2014 12:25:00 PM more reviews by KathieL

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Puts me in a time warp. My first love high school sweetheart bought me this. Reminds me if the good times. Loved this stuff!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 12/21/2013 6:46:00 AM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Dior's Poison reminds me of a certain type of woman-we've all encountered her in one way or the other. She's a woman you've got to have respect for, though you won't neccessarily like. She's full of character, who has overcome adversity in life-being viewed first as a villian by society, which has since realized that she was only doing what it took to survive-but which still provided no apology. She still holds her head up high, albeit with some bitterness. She vows never to be the one who judges, but she simply lacks, at this point, the mental capacity to stop herself, and succumbs to the ways of society she had scorned.
To me, it's a dark fragrance. The bitterness can be seen by the stark contrast of the uplifting aldehydes and jasmine, and some strident note-perhaps incense or honey-this overwhelms the nose much like the woman above would overwhelm your senses. She is way dominant, and just won't take a no for an answer.
Also, there is something to be said about the thematic elements of this fragrance. When Dior designed the apple- looking bottle, we thought the resemblance to snow white was cute. Then we find that the qualities of the fragrance are slightly reminiscent of the evil which. Then comes another edition of poison-this time in a red bottle. Is it me or is the resemblance simply uncanny?

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gigit77 on 12/12/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Gigit77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the cologne I wear when I want to smell sexy. It's very sultry and unique. I wear this one often.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumedlife on 11/8/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by perfumedlife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I don't review a lot of perfumes but I believe dior's classic poison deserves one .
Poison is a classic in all those years I read reviews that are negative and I don't understand why . Of course is a strong perfume but in my opinion a perfume has to be a little strong it has to have an identity . Poison is a distinctive perfume and in my opinion a masterpiece. Most of the modern perfumes are all most the same : fruits and again fruits maybe some flowers and on special occasions maybe little musk or wood . But let's think for a moment which perfumes made history ? I don't remember any modern perfumes they all look and smell the same miyake is like water the new vercace all the new high end perfumes are like duplicates on the other hand from my personal experience when I was wearing an oldie like rive gauche ysl or knowing Estée Lauder or poison I was always getting compliments and questions of what I was wearing . Of course a fragrance is a very personal thing and it plays with feelings emotions and mood fragrance is like an id but it's nice to leave something behind you . And why should we pay for a perfumed water that lasts in our skin for an hour ? Recently I'm wearing poison again and I was out for a drink and someone asked me what perfume i was wearing . I said poison , He replied that's how a woman should smell . I believe that's says all . A classic feminine perfume with a lot of mystery inside that dark bottle .

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VeroniqueDubois on 10/7/2013 4:00:00 PM more reviews by VeroniqueDubois

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Darn. It has changed, indeed. Reformulated several years ago and not the same Welch's sweet grape juice original that I used to wear as a teenager in the late 1980s. Yes, the days of giant hair, no internet or emails, and not even cell phones (other than the uber-rich odd person who had a 3 pound foot-long one). I was hoping to smell Poison again and be catupulted back to clubbing to MC Hammer as strobe lights flashed and you hoped nobody would burn you with their lit cigarette. Or ignite all of the hairspray we wore on fire.

Sorry, gals of the 80's. This scent is no longer the same.

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 12/31/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is to Christian Dior what Opium is to YSL - totally classic and nostalgia inducing. I love the smell although it's more of a winter smell. I would love to wear this again if I moved to a colder climate.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 11/22/2012 5:54:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this for nostalgic reasons. My mother always had a mini bottle of this lying around the house and I'd always give it a little sniff now and then. So of course it reminds me of everything 80s and my childhood. I've tested many 80s fragrances lately and compared to those (and a lot of them smell the same) its different and not as dated or as typical of the decade. But you'd have to very brave indeed to wear this nowadays. Its pungent and in your face, I can't even describe the notes as it hits your senses to strongly to make anything out.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dior products

More Fragrances products