Chanel • Spices Quadra • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/20/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am shocked by the rave reviews. . . I feel bad complaining but I can't lie, this is the worst high-end eyeshadow I own. And I own a ton of make-up.

Anyways - packaging is absolutely gorgeous like Chanel always is. Sleek, classy black compact. That is where the good stuff ends. When I first got this months ago, upon opening the compact, I discovered dusty, overly shimmery shadow with almost no colour pay off, even over primer. My Wet N Wild palettes sadly blow this out of the water, they apply like butter, with rich and saturated colour. I thought maybe something was wrong with mine so I went back and exchanged it for another - and same thing. Even the darkest colour (a brownish shade) barely shows up on my NC25 skin, all I see is shimmer.

Then trying to get this sparkle-laden dust to adhere to your lids - I have an easier time giving my cat a bath!!I thought maybe I can use these as highlighting shades (just in the inner corner of eyes) but they are too dry to hold up and end up all over my cheeks. . I also noticed the colours split and crack like chalk. I'm really disappointed and shocked especially for what this costs. UD, Lorac, MAC, all those brands and even the drugstore brands like WnW carry way better quality eyeshadow. I won't be buying any Chanel eye make-up ever again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doris98 on 12/23/2012 10:41:00 PM more reviews by doris98

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

My first Chanel quad and I love it! I've been holding off on buying one for a while because I had so many other colors in my stash, but finally caved. My daughter picked this one out for me, and I must say, the combination is great. The pink and gold colors are great for the lid. The brown is an almost plummy brown with great pigmentation that shows up differently depending on the amount you use. The highlighter is also good. Definitely a quad where I can use all the colors. I'm definitely getting more Chanel quads in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 1/13/2012 5:44:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this quad! I own many Chanel quads, and have always bypassed Spices because I was convinced that the darkest shade would be too red for me. But, alas, I finally tried it, and am super glad that I did.

The 4 colors are a pale pearl with pink iridescence to it; a midtone warm peach-pink; a shimmery sheer gold; a shimmery berry-brown plum. I have dark brown eyes and light golden skin, and find the colors quite complementary.

Typically, I use the peach-pink all over the lid, layer the gold on top, concentrating on the inner third of the eye, add the plum-berry-brown in the outer "V" and along top and bottom lashlines, and then add a touch of the lightest shade in the tear duct and on the browbone. I finish with a dark brown eyeliner (either Chanel Coffee Bean or one from D&G), blended along the lashlines, and use a pencil brush to layer a bit of the darkest shadow on top of the liner. And, of course, a couple of coats of black mascara!

The darkest color also looks good all over the lid to create a smokey eye, especially for those with green or hazel eyes. It's a really alluring alternative to black or regular brown.

Lasting power is good, as is pigmentation, like other Chanel quads. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 worldtraveler05 on 11/2/2011 1:27:00 AM more reviews by worldtraveler05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Because I knew I was leaving the country for up to a year, I wanted to make sure I got some quality eyeshadow that I knew would last me awhile. I usually use Mark (by Avon) eyeshadow, but you have to kind of use alot, and I wasn't sure if it would be available at all in Korea (though I doubted it), so I got this Chanel eye quad because I use many other Chanel products and have been happy with them all.

I took quite awhile at the counter in Nordstrom trying to decide which compact I really wanted. I ended up with this spices one because I usually go for the more neutral colors that you can tell you have eyeshadow on, but it isn't overdone. This product doesn't disappoint. I'm loving it and will probably buy it again when I run out of this one (It still looks as if I haven't used it at all though). It's expensive but worth it in my opinion to have a better quality product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olympialetantoli on 8/27/2011 4:26:00 PM more reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Chanel eyeshadow quads are amazing, they have four shadows for base, highlight, crease and liner. They work well together. Spices is my favourite, easy to wear and natural. There is a champagne colour, apricot, brownish bronze and a light golden frost. Gutted, this is DISCONTINUED in Canada! Argh, I'm so so upset. I love this quad. I have another 2 from Chanel but this is by far the best. I've hit pan in three of the colour, the only one left is the Light Chocolate colour. Sigh, I tried to repurchase today but nobody has it.... And worst I cannot buy it online from Chanel US which seems to be the only place carrying it. So it is pricey... upwards of 50 BUT if you think about buying 2 or 3 MAC eyeshadows even the pan versions will cost you just as much or more... so you really are getting a good deal. I love how sheer & luminous these colours are. It isn't super pigmented but I don't mind. I like to build it up with my 217 Mac brush. All of Chanels eyeshadows have amazing quality. Really made my brown eyes pop. It didn't look different depending on my skin tone, I'm usually an NC25 but in the summer I can reach NC30/NC35....and its just as wearable. SO it should work with most skin types. But alas, I'm out of luck. Maybe I'll go to NYC before winter to visit family and pick one up. So depressing that I'm this sad over an eyeshadow set but thats how much I loved my Spices. I have Golden Eyes and Vanities and this is by far the one that I wore the most. If I knew ahead of time that it was being discontinued I'd have bought one. I also love the sleek package. Classic black, comes in a little velvet pouch. The compact is amazing, I've dropped it several times, never broken. Also the mirrior is spectacular. I use the mirror for application even for tweezing. Very good quality but I expect nothing less from Chanel. I read somewhere Leighton Meester wore these in the movie Conutry Strong....and apparently Armani has a similar version of this quad. Hopefully that won't be discontinued too!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Melikeymakeup on 6/25/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by Melikeymakeup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just bought this today.It's not like I really needed more eyeshadow but I needed some retail therapy. Luckily, I love it!
It has really pretty, gentle colors. To me, they look coppery and they really enhance my hazel eyes!
Therapy was a success! ;-)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mettasari on 10/9/2010 9:49:00 PM more reviews by mettasari

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is good for ppl who want natural look, i just got this a few weeks ago and im loving it! the texture is fine and it lasts me the whole day without having to re apply. a bit expensive but worth investing :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AJT711 on 3/16/2010 4:15:00 PM more reviews by AJT711

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

my favorite eye shadow colors for an everyday look. I use the brown shade for my eyeliner and eyebrows and it works very well. Perfect compact to carry in your makeup bag for a nice daytime look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dempsj on 8/23/2009 8:59:00 PM more reviews by dempsj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've worn this eyeshadow every day for years. It's rare to find an eyeshadow that suits everybody, and can take you from day to evening, but this does! The colours are well pigmented and long lasting too. The perfect addition to any beauty collection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteradi on 5/28/2009 12:19:00 PM more reviews by glitteradi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this. It is rare for me that all the colors work this well. There is not any unwearable or bad textured shadow shade in this quad. I am NW 20 and this could be all I needed, it would take me from day to night. I really regret selling this. I thought there was something better but there is not. 100 % of this quad is gold and I hope Chanel never discontinues this. This is the only product from Chanel that I need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products