NYX Lipstick (In General)

3.8

81 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Ceresin Wax, Microcrystalline wax, Isopropyl Mynstate, 12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Squalane, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Ethylhexyl palmitate, BHA, Propyl Paraben, Iron Oxide, Pigment.


on 2/14/2015 11:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is a solid lipstick. I've bought a few and they are consistent in formula through the shades. The formula is very creamy, smooth, pigmented, and even on the lips. It leaves a sort of cream finish on the lips. I wouldn't say it's moisturizing but it's also not drying. It lasts a good 4 hours on me, but after that the cream finish fades and so does the color and you're left with a very faint, faded color. I say it's a solid lipstick. There's nothing fancy about it, but it gets the job done well. I recommend it. It's especially great if you're new to lipstick because it gets the job done without complications and the shade range is great. Solid product. I think that's the best way to describe it.



on 12/27/2014 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Sigh...MUA has really dropped the ball on correctly categorizing these reviews. I can't really do anything within my power to correct this so I'll just be as specific as possible.

I am reviewing the NYX Round Case lipsticks.

I did not like the butter lipstick line, the liquid lipstick line, the black label lipstick line........it seems like every NYX lip product with the exception of these (round case) and the butter glosses dry my lips out.

I have bought a ton of lipsticks in the past year as I began to give lipstick a chance and sent glosses to the back burner. Originally I figured ALL lipsticks must dry me out, but that simply isn't true. Some are balmy & moisturizing, like these!

I own the following shades:
-Pure Nude: Very light warm peach.
-Strawberry milk: Very light, cool toned milky pink.
-Femme: Pinkish red
-Stella: Yellow pink
-Fig: Medium nuetral midtone pink


Pure Nude and Strawberry Milk are my favorite shades as I am a pale NC10. I would recommend any of them though.

The formulas are very pigmented and buttery. I do not need to wear chapstick under these and I have chronically dry lips. Some have even complained that these have "too much slip", but that's far from being a negative in my book. The more moisturizing, the better.

Word of advice - do not trust NYX's website for the descriptions 100%. Unfortunately Stella & Femme have micro-glitter in them despite being advertised as cream formulas. Fig, Strawberry Milk, and Pure Nude are true cream formulas.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2014 8:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

ROUND: So creamy and light with better staying power than I expected. Apollo is frosted orange red that really flatters. Twist is lighter and a bit more orange. Saturn is pinker. I've ordered more colours and will update. I've tried over ELF's lip primer, which is okay but not great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2014 12:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love these lipsticks. Some of the shades are outrageous but whatever floats your boat I guess.
I do wish they would last longer on the lips but they do look beautiful. I will never spend more on a lipstick again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/3/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So far I've tried NYX Macaroon Lippies, NYX Matte lipstick, NYX Round Case lipstick, & NYX Matte Lipcream. I absolutely love the Macaroon Lippies-they come in such fun colors, have great pigmentation, apply smoothly, & have no scent, which is very important to me. Same for the Matte lipstick, though I would consider their finishes more of a satin than a true matte. The Round Case however, I couldn't stand the smell. And it wasn't even like one of those things where after a little while you stop noticing it, after removing it I could still smell it for hours, & it's a very fake perfumey smell, very unpleasant. I just couldn't stand it. And it's ashame because other than that it went on smoothly & had great pigmentation, but I just couldn't take that smell. The Matte Lip Creams have a somewhat strong smell as well. Not as bad as the Round Case, but still enough that it bothered me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2014 4:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I purchased the lipstick in "Stella". Not impressed. Feels a bit grainy, transfers easily, gets everywhere. The color is pigminted, but for me, this was not comparable to the ELF 1 dollar lipsticks at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2014 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Nice colors, very pigmented and in a reasonable price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2014 1:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am exploring the wonders of drugstore lipstick, there are some wonderful ones out there. I am in Europe and the hype of these lipsticks made me think worth trying. So for me, these turned out a bit more expensive than just their nominal price.

And they are OK, but just OK.

The good:
- the range of colors is fantastic. Incredible, literally hundreds of colors. This is what might make this a rebuy.
- the colors I selected are pretty.
- I like very much the original bullet shape - with a tiny little curve. Classy and precise.
- I like the weight and how well the packaging closes. But more on that.

The not so good:
- itīs fades pretty fast. It applies kind of slippy anyway, and even without being very moisturizing, the more mid-tone colors do not last past one hour. (The red leaves a stain for longer, but it does not really look intact or even very nice past that first hour or so).
- the packaging is very nice from one angle but just one angle. Lots of information, and ugly white code bar printed direct on the lipstick case, which looks cluttered and just not classy. I wish they had put it on a removable sticker, like a lot of companies do. Compared for example with the packaging of Essence or Catrice lipsticks which cost around the same, itīs disappointing.
- made in China. I try to avoid putting on my mouth or near eyes anything made in China. Just in case.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2013 10:06:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's great how cheap it is and it's really pigmented to thumbs up for that. Only down fall is it doesn't stay on and goes like on my teeth and transfers. I have the bright red one. It's also great as a blush because of how pigmented it is it looks so natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2013 5:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I love how NYX lippies are so inexpensive, but not at all cheap! Gorgeous colours and most I have tried are long lasting. My favourite colour from the range is Snow White.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top