NYX • Lipstick (In General) • Lipstick

rated 3.7(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 drin13 on 3/26/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by drin13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am exploring the wonders of drugstore lipstick, there are some wonderful ones out there. I am in Europe and the hype of these lipsticks made me think worth trying. So for me, these turned out a bit more expensive than just their nominal price.

And they are OK, but just OK.

The good:
- the range of colors is fantastic. Incredible, literally hundreds of colors. This is what might make this a rebuy.
- the colors I selected are pretty.
- I like very much the original bullet shape - with a tiny little curve. Classy and precise.
- I like the weight and how well the packaging closes. But more on that.

The not so good:
- itīs fades pretty fast. It applies kind of slippy anyway, and even without being very moisturizing, the more mid-tone colors do not last past one hour. (The red leaves a stain for longer, but it does not really look intact or even very nice past that first hour or so).
- the packaging is very nice from one angle but just one angle. Lots of information, and ugly white code bar printed direct on the lipstick case, which looks cluttered and just not classy. I wish they had put it on a removable sticker, like a lot of companies do. Compared for example with the packaging of Essence or Catrice lipsticks which cost around the same, itīs disappointing.
- made in China. I try to avoid putting on my mouth or near eyes anything made in China. Just in case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mysilentface on 8/18/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by mysilentface

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like that NYX is cheap and has a large color range for their round lipsticks, so if you're unsure about a color, you won't regret the purchase too much if the color doesn't work out. However, everything about the formula is awful to me. The chemical/plastic scent and taste is incredibly strong and doesn't fade away. The texture is creamy but has too much slip that it bleeds like crazy. And even with the creamy texture, these are somehow the most drying lipstick I've ever worn. The wear time I got was about 30 minutes to an hour. Personally, I would never recommend these. Spend the extra $2 and get another drugstore lipstick with 10x better quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maggiepup on 7/11/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by Maggiepup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's great how cheap it is and it's really pigmented to thumbs up for that. Only down fall is it doesn't stay on and goes like on my teeth and transfers. I have the bright red one. It's also great as a blush because of how pigmented it is it looks so natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraCee07 on 5/14/2013 5:20:00 PM more reviews by SaraCee07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I love how NYX lippies are so inexpensive, but not at all cheap! Gorgeous colours and most I have tried are long lasting. My favourite colour from the range is Snow White.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stella3737 on 5/11/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by stella3737

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I have to say as a huge fan of all NYX products... A few months ago I was shopping for some spring/summer make up and instantly fell in love with a round lipstick from Nyx called "Stella"... Its a gorgeous bright coral pink color with a tiny bit of shimmer.... The color is almost exact to MACs "impassioned"... This lipstick only costs around $3 too which makes these lipsticks soo addictive to buy! The color payoff is unreal and in a four hour period i reapplied once... Not sticky and looks great with gloss over it... Overall my new favorite color for spring/summer 2013!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GlamourMagnet on 5/10/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by GlamourMagnet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This review is based on the two NYX lipsticks I have recently bought Strawberry Milk (cool, bright pale pink) and Eros (cool red).

Although these lipsticks were very cakey and seemed to highlight every crease in my lips, I have recently decided to purchase 5+ from cherryculture as NYX had a 20% discount in hope that the right shade will win me over.

The texture if very slippery and creamy - I do love this texture but fear this texture doesn't love me.

The colours are beautiful in themselves but do show every line in my lips. Maybe with a little lip buffing I will get better results.

Will post a second review once my new order arrives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blackhound on 3/31/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by blackhound

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Black    

Bought the Blush shade which is a very pretty pink. Nice color but almost zero staying power without eating or drinking. It just seems to disappear within an hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luverchick on 1/15/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

these are my favorite lipsticks!!!! i get them in the fashion district in LA and they are about 2.50$....they are cheap but yet soo pigmented and wearable...i love how creamy them go on the lips specially over chapstick or lipgloss.....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmacintyre100 on 12/11/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by cmacintyre100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love these. Super pigmented and a huge selection of colors. Sure they aren't as creamy as MAC, but I still think they are a great product. I use a lip treatment underneathe and it helps with moisture. I find they last just as long as any other lipsticks if you don't use lip liner or layer or anything like that. Personally I would rather pay $3-5 for a lipstick and get 4 or 5 vs 1 $20 lipstick. Purchased off cherryculture.com because NYX is hard to find in Canada. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TakenByHim on 12/11/2012 10:07:00 PM more reviews by TakenByHim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a ton of these in the past due to the rave reviews. They are pigmented and there are a ton of colors to choose from but the quality is just not there. They do not last on my lips even if I don't eat/drink. They fade and/or transfer very easily and quickly. Because of that, I don't plan on buying them anymore. They are also drying. Most lip products dry out my lips terribly and these are no different. They would be great for a special occassion or a photoshoot but for every day wear, I don't recommend them unless you want to reapply lipstick every other hour.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products