OPI • Avoplex Cuticle oil • Treatments

rated 3.4(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 tamn8r on 10/10/2014 9:58:00 PM more reviews by tamn8r

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this one to have a mobile oil to take in my handbag. BUT. I reallllllly don't like this smell - it's horrid!!! Also didn't like how it was more like goop than liquid. Still searching for a HG oil, but at the moment I'll stick to my Manicare Oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lindo on 5/21/2014 5:14:00 AM more reviews by Lindo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This actually made my cuticles dryer and harder -.-

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chimera59 on 4/6/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by chimera59

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite cuticle oils. I hadn't purchased it in awhile, because i have like 10 other ones, but it came in an OPI set of 10 mini polishes and nail care items (which is an amazing value, by the way). I had used up a full-sized bottle of this previously. This is oil-based and very moisturizing. I have very dry cuticles, and I like the way this has more of a "slip" than some cuticle oils. You have to rub this in and massage your cuticles, nails, and the area around your nails. It is not supposed to magically soak into your cuticles instantaneously. You are also supposed to use this several times a day, and on a good day I use cuticle oils 4-6 times, particularly after washing my hands or having them in water. If cuticle oil isn't working for you, do your research and learn about the product and also about your nails. This also has a pleasant smell, and I will continue to buy this product. I also apply this to "oil" the nail and nail bed before polish, which actually helps polish last much longer than dehydrating the nail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 4/2/2014 7:42:00 AM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this stuff because it makes my cuticles look and feel terrible. I LOVE OPI polishes but I hate this cuticle oil. I made a mistake thinking since OPI makes THE best nail polishes, they should make the best cuticle oil. I was so wrong :( When I first apply it, my cuticle area looks fabulous, but after about 6 hours, I have to apply again because it starts to look dry. I thought to myself: I must really have naturally dry cuticles that look ragged, I might just have to moisturize them every 6 hours.... Then, I accidently forgot to put on this oil for about 4 days. I noticed my cuticles looked great even though I did not put any of the avoplex stuff on for four days! For this reason I won't buy ever again, I came to my own senses that Avoplex was kind of fooling me by giving me nice cuticles after application, but was actually drying them out big time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MusingCrow on 3/16/2014 11:36:00 PM more reviews by MusingCrow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product a lot.
I find that although oils can be a bother at times they really work the best for my very dry skin. I use this twice a day and use very good hand creams every time I wash my hands.

This oil absorbs fairly quickly, it has a delightful, light scent and it has worked wonders for my dry cuticles. They look the best ever,

I am ordering the one ounce size next time around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vaniessa on 10/20/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by Vaniessa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i think this is an okay product, what made it really fancy is the smell, which unfortunately I'm addicted to. It doesn't absorb easily to my cuticles though, it just stay there. if you're asking if it's moisturizing, probably yes cause it's oil-based, but not as good as how i want it to be. plus the price is not exactly friendly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosebud264 on 8/14/2013 11:34:00 PM more reviews by rosebud264

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a big fan of cuticle oil in general. I've found that other cuticle products, such as Burts Bees and Lush Lemony Flutter, are far too greasy for me and a complete mess to apply. I usually need to wipe them off before they have time to absorb lest dog hair/dust/etc get stuck to my hands and under my nails which defeats the purpose of putting the product on in the first place.

I bought OPI's Avoplex (in the to-go tube) because i needed something small and easy to use for my handbag. I was not disappointed. The applicator is fantastic and results in minimal mess unless you squeeze too hard. Yes, it takes a bit of massaging to absorb, but this massaging is great for nail health anyway as it increases blood flow. It smells great, light and not overpowering or artificial. It does not, at a glance, contain drying mineral oils, but I'm not 100% sure on that so feel free to correct me.

However, the tube is very small for the price, which is ridonkulously expensive in Australia, so I will continue to buy mine from ebay.

Well worth purchasing if, like me, you aren't a fan of waxy or greasy cuticle treatments.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 7/31/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Ehhh, this is an okay cuticle oil, but nothing crazy. I only bought it because it was sold in a combo with Nail Envy for a really good price lol. I wouldn't buy this again though.

It comes in the standard OPI polish bottle with a pro wide brush (making it super easy to apply). It smells really nice, and does seem to moisturize the cuticles and nails, but nothing crazy. It will not transform your cuticles after a few days. The major con of this product is that it absorbs VERY slowly and leaves a greasy residue on your fingers (even if you rigorously massage it in). Essie's cuticle oil absorbed much faster with zero residue.

All in all, it's not terrible and I will use it because I have it, but other cuticle moisturizers (i.e. Essie Apricot & Burt's Bees Lemon Butter) work much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rudymum on 4/7/2013 8:21:00 PM more reviews by rudymum

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! My cuticles have been horrible for years,despite using lotions and oils specifically designed for nails and cuticles. I have always had great nails and kept them constantly polished, but in the past year they've been splitting and peeling. I now smooth and buff my nails, and apply OPI Avoplex at night, before I go to sleep, and my nails have never been better. Stronger, healthier looking and finally growing again. I wear surgical gloves all day at work with strong surgical alcohol-based lotion under the gloves, and only since using this product have I been able to get my nails to grow again. Be consistent, apply to bare nails when you aren't going to be washing your hands, and in a couple of months you will notice results. It lasts a very long time because a little goes a long way, and I would certainly buy it again and at any price because I know it works and the money spent is worth it. I've wasted lots of money on cheaper products that just don't work. BTW, I don't use OPI nail polish, I don't think that's worth the money. I can do a manicure that lasts (until I get bored with the colour or it starts to grow out) with other less-expensive polishes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Little2Sister on 5/7/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by Little2Sister

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product. It smells lovely and feels nice to apply. I use only a tiny amount every morning and evening. My hands are very problematic as I'm a rower and constantly expose them to cold, wet and friction! I use this product on the calluses I get from rowing as well and it keeps them from cracking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Treatments products