Bath and Body Works • True Blue Spa Lay It On Thick Shea Butter Body Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 12/31/2013 5:39:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh no no no this is no good. This has to be the GREASIEST body moisturizer I have ever used, ever. Vaseline greasy. Grease greasy. This is awful. It's just slippery and not absorbing into my skin AT ALL. Very strong cocoa butter scent, maybe some users will like that and maybe some won't but it's very present and will not be ignored.
My skin is super-moisturized, no denying that. But this product is just grease in a tube. Won't buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 12/5/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I thought I would love this after trying the shower cream when it was available. I found instead that I was really disappointed with this. First off the scent is extremely strong. I usually love fragrance, but I hate this scent. I do not know how to describe it, but I find it to be a weird scent combination of sweet and musk. Despite being disappointed with the scent I still used it. I found no matter what I hated this. I could not get past the scent and the cream itself was so-so. The cream is very very thick and I found was much too thick to smooth in during the day. I could only use this during the night when it had time to sink in. Even then if I washed my hands, even after several hours, it would feel like I was washing off the moisture. This is a pass for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girrlbot on 6/24/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by girrlbot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on my second bottle of this! I'm in love! I work at a restaurant and my hands taking a beating. They flake and crack to the point of bleeding, but with this stuff they don't! I used to have to use Aquaphor constantly, even at work, but that was too greasy for use during the day. This stuff on the other hand, is fantastic! It's super rich, but not greasy and it mended my poor hands within a couple days! The smell is TO DIE FOR! I'll never be without it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 12/13/2012 10:21:00 PM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really like this lotion, even if it is a bit greasy. My skin gets dry in the winter and then regular lotion just doesn't cut it. This is super moisturizing especially for dry legs! It is a bit greasy, yes, but it only takes about 10 minutes to soak in if you apply it on damp skin (this makes it easier to spread, too). It's VERY thick and hard to squeeze out of the tube. It would be more suited for jar packaging but I hate jars, so if it had a pump I think that would be best. This smells like coconut and vanilla, kinda cupcake-y but light and not overpowering or headache inducing at all. I bought the large bottle for $20, but they also sell a smaller size for $15 and a travel size for $6. They're usually on sale b2g1free so it's not too bad of a deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Crimsonbury on 4/18/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by Crimsonbury

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not a fan of this lotion, I'm actually surprised that there are so many positive reviews. It is extremely thick, I don't think you could ever wear this during the day as it's so greasy and thick. Maybe if you applied it and then put on a pair of gloves before bed this would work, but I don't like doing that very much so I guess this is not for me at all. It's just soooo greasy and impossible to rub in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adares on 4/15/2012 5:43:00 PM more reviews by adares

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I got this as a 2 for one sale at Bath and Body Works about 6 months ago. I use this as a facial moisturizer instead of a body cream but it really works! My face has improved so much in texture and tone since I started using this! It is extremely thick so you do not need to use a lot of it on the face, and for the body it is the same! It doesn't have an overpowering scent so it is great on sensitive skin.

Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AirForceAmy87 on 9/28/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by AirForceAmy87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my first review on anything!! Usually I just read the reviews. I absolutely love this body cream!!! Some people say they prefer to wear it as just a night cream because it is so thick. Well I am going to share my secret, I realize how thick this cream is and love to be able to not run out of this right away. I use palmers cocoa butter as well. If you take a pea size amount of this lay it on thick cream and add a pump of palmers cocoa butter and mix them together (on the palm of your hand) and rub it on your body it will spread a lot easier than the lay it on thick cream all by itself. Plus you're getting the added benefits of cocoa butter which helps tone skin, soften etc. I would not lie your skin will feel amazing and it will last over night keeping your skin extremely soft. I really hope this helps you all, especially with the winter months approaching. :-) here is to beautiful, healthy and radiant skin!! <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeHNyboR on 8/13/2011 3:56:00 PM more reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Holy CRAP, this stuff is THIIIIICK!!! You could imagine my surprise when I squeezed some out, only to find that it's pretty much body butter in a tube. The scent is to die for. It's a very subtle coconut-y smell that makes my mouth water. I shower at night instead of the morning, so I continue to use this after a shower so it has time to sink it. But if you shower in the day, this stuff takes a while to sink in, so I would save it for some intensive nighttime moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 patticat68 on 8/13/2011 3:40:00 PM more reviews by patticat68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

As far as body creams from BBW go, I like the creamy moisturizing formula, but some scents are too strong to wear all over the body. I like this body cream because of its light scent. I can have the benefit of all-over moisturization but without the fragrance-inducing headaches caused by some of their stronger scents. With their stronger scents, I tend to prefer the perfume or body splashes more because they can be used in smaller amounts. It really doesn't make much sense to use a small amount of body cream or lotion on a small area and use an unscented lotion or cream everywhere else. It's somewhat expensive at full-price for the quality so it's best to stock up during their sales.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 8/1/2011 9:51:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I received this as an extra in a swap, and really happy I did! Unlike the reviews below, I found it to be a great overnight cream for my dry feet and hands. Yes, there is a strong scent to it, but I don't find it unpleasant and it fades after about 10 minutes (or I just get used to it!). I think it soaks in faster and has more moisture than L'Occitane. I rubbed it in and voila! No carpet lint sticking to my feet as I walk around my house. No slipping and sliding in flip flops. And my feet look fabulous, like I just had a pedicure. Will definitely be purchasing another.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bath and Body Works products

More Lotions/ Creams products