Bath and Body Works True Blue Spa Lay It On Thick Shea Butter Body Cream

3.8

94 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/1/2015 1:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have struggled with eczema for the majority of my life. I have found that typical lotions that cater to occasional dryness do not have much of an effect when I am having a flare-up with my skin. It just soaks it up and is as dry and itchy as it was before. That's where this lotion comes in. It is thick enough to coat my skin in a layer of hydration that lasts for the entire day. I can see how individuals without significant skin irritation may find this lotion's formula to be off-putting. Yes, it is greasy and thick, it doesn't ever completely absorb (unless you're using a very slight amount), and the smell is rich. However, for individuals with skin that has trouble independently retaining moisture and that suffers from chronic irritation, this is wonderful. The thickness allows my skin the time it needs to heal. Quick-absorbing lotions don't offer that kind of protection for my skin. I usually use it for my legs as I can throw some pants on after application and not have to worry about dealing with the greasiness. This product is particularly helpful during the winter months when I dry out more. It is on the more costly side and because of the formula, it is difficult to get out of the tube, but overall, this gives my skin the moisture it needs in order to be healthy.



on 12/11/2014 8:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Terrible. Awful. I hated this. It's probably the greasiest body moisturizer I have ever used. And it has a very strong, weird (and lingering), funky cocoa butter-like scent that I can't stand.
Doesn't absorb into my skin at all. Leaves a slippery, uncomfortable feeling on my skin that doesn't go away until I shower it off. Just grease in a tube. And expensive too. Won't buy it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2014 11:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin plain sucks. I have psoriasis patches, and just for fun to make things even worse I'll have an occasional fling with eczema. I'm not particularly dry, except for those nasty looking psoriasis patches. I could slather on some freaking lard and still be a flaky mess. (and reek of bacon)

This stuff is heaven scent for anyone with psoriasis. It's thicker than Elmer's glue. Smells of delicious shea butter goodness. Will last through washing hands and doing dishes. You need the tiniest amount or else its grease city. So while it's not the cheapest shea butter out there, it is the best bang for the buck I've found in my endless quest for normal looking skin.

This did not heal my psoriasis (sad) but it did help to soothe the itchy red nasty spots.


on 12/5/2013 10:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I thought I would love this after trying the shower cream when it was available. I found instead that I was really disappointed with this. First off the scent is extremely strong. I usually love fragrance, but I hate this scent. I do not know how to describe it, but I find it to be a weird scent combination of sweet and musk. Despite being disappointed with the scent I still used it. I found no matter what I hated this. I could not get past the scent and the cream itself was so-so. The cream is very very thick and I found was much too thick to smooth in during the day. I could only use this during the night when it had time to sink in. Even then if I washed my hands, even after several hours, it would feel like I was washing off the moisture. This is a pass for me.


on 6/24/2013 1:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm on my second bottle of this! I'm in love! I work at a restaurant and my hands taking a beating. They flake and crack to the point of bleeding, but with this stuff they don't! I used to have to use Aquaphor constantly, even at work, but that was too greasy for use during the day. This stuff on the other hand, is fantastic! It's super rich, but not greasy and it mended my poor hands within a couple days! The smell is TO DIE FOR! I'll never be without it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2012 10:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really like this lotion, even if it is a bit greasy. My skin gets dry in the winter and then regular lotion just doesn't cut it. This is super moisturizing especially for dry legs! It is a bit greasy, yes, but it only takes about 10 minutes to soak in if you apply it on damp skin (this makes it easier to spread, too). It's VERY thick and hard to squeeze out of the tube. It would be more suited for jar packaging but I hate jars, so if it had a pump I think that would be best. This smells like coconut and vanilla, kinda cupcake-y but light and not overpowering or headache inducing at all. I bought the large bottle for $20, but they also sell a smaller size for $15 and a travel size for $6. They're usually on sale b2g1free so it's not too bad of a deal.


on 4/18/2012 8:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'm not a fan of this lotion, I'm actually surprised that there are so many positive reviews. It is extremely thick, I don't think you could ever wear this during the day as it's so greasy and thick. Maybe if you applied it and then put on a pair of gloves before bed this would work, but I don't like doing that very much so I guess this is not for me at all. It's just soooo greasy and impossible to rub in.


on 4/15/2012 5:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got this as a 2 for one sale at Bath and Body Works about 6 months ago. I use this as a facial moisturizer instead of a body cream but it really works! My face has improved so much in texture and tone since I started using this! It is extremely thick so you do not need to use a lot of it on the face, and for the body it is the same! It doesn't have an overpowering scent so it is great on sensitive skin.

Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2011 10:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my first review on anything!! Usually I just read the reviews. I absolutely love this body cream!!! Some people say they prefer to wear it as just a night cream because it is so thick. Well I am going to share my secret, I realize how thick this cream is and love to be able to not run out of this right away. I use palmers cocoa butter as well. If you take a pea size amount of this lay it on thick cream and add a pump of palmers cocoa butter and mix them together (on the palm of your hand) and rub it on your body it will spread a lot easier than the lay it on thick cream all by itself. Plus you're getting the added benefits of cocoa butter which helps tone skin, soften etc. I would not lie your skin will feel amazing and it will last over night keeping your skin extremely soft. I really hope this helps you all, especially with the winter months approaching. :-) here is to beautiful, healthy and radiant skin!! <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2011 3:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Holy CRAP, this stuff is THIIIIICK!!! You could imagine my surprise when I squeezed some out, only to find that it's pretty much body butter in a tube. The scent is to die for. It's a very subtle coconut-y smell that makes my mouth water. I shower at night instead of the morning, so I continue to use this after a shower so it has time to sink it. But if you shower in the day, this stuff takes a while to sink in, so I would save it for some intensive nighttime moisturizing.




Top Rated Bath and Body Works Products

image

Forever Sunshine

106 reviews
Back to Top