Nature's Gate Herbal Hair Shampoo

4.0

65 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (Coconut Derived), Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine Coconut Derived), Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate (Coconut Derived), Glycerin (Vegetable Derived), Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Borago Officinalis (Borage) Seed Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Achillea Millefolium (Yarrow) Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract, Prunus Serotina (Wild Cherry) Bark Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Leaf Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Sorbitan Sesquicaprylate (Coconut and Corn Derived), Polysorbate 20, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose (Plant Derived), Sodium Hydroxide, Glyceryl Undecylenate (Vegetable Derived), Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance*


on 3/10/2015 3:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product. The fact that it is sulfate free, silicone free, and full of good ingredients to nourish the scalp and hair is wonderful! I thought this was going to be a winner because it sounds gentle and effective. Unfortunately, as soon as I started washing my hair, I felt my ears flare up. I was hoping it was just in my mind, but after I rinsed and dried off my hair, my ears became completely inflamed, swollen and itchy as hell. I was hoping it would pass, but the rash spread along my hairline and then down my neck. It has been a week and I'm still itchy and I am too scared to try it again. The shampoo itself was nice enough - it had good texture (not too runny), it lathered and cleaned well, and the smell was very natural (herbal). Unfortunately I had an allergic reaction to it and I can't figure out what ingredient is causing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/12/2014 8:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really like this shampoo. For having no sulfates, it actually does lather (lots of it) & makes my hair clean & shiny. (Most "natural" shampoos I've tried do NOT get my hair clean.. Well water) I wouldn't call this an herbal smell to me it's more like.. Cinnamon baby powder. Definitely not the most natural smell- could be what's causing irritation for some. But everyone around here seems to love it... My hubs said my hair smells good & he usually doesn't notice that stuff (or doesn't comment anyway lol) and my little guy's teacher said he smells so good and asked what I use on his hair.


on 7/13/2014 8:53:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I just started using this. I have used the same two shampoo's for over 10 years, hard to believe I know lol. If something works I stick with it. I still use Giovanni's 50/50 shampoo once a week for a deep cleaning..this removes cones/build up, great shampoo. My other natural daily shampoo after all these years has changed it's ingredients..sucks! I tried two others, hated them, this was my 3rd buy, and so far I am really liking this..


It lathers very well, cleans well and my hair is super shiny using this..the smell is strong which I kinda liked until I noticed it said "fragrance" on the bottle..meaning who knows what's really in this..Will update.


10-2014 - I have used this for almost 4 months now, love it!! I mix a litle bit of Giovanni 50/50 for extra cleaning..Huge bottle too.


on 5/22/2014 5:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been on the quest for the new natural shampoo and this looked promising. Unfortunately right after I've used it for the first time my head felt really itchy and tingly, not in a good way. I think something in this shampoo I am allergic to, however usually I am not that sensitive to shampoos. I did not like the scent either it seemed a bit too strong for me. The shampoo was not lathering much (which I expected ) but it seemed to clean the hair fine and the hair seemed to be OK after it. However the itchiness it gave and the scent is a big NO NO. After feeling itchy for an 1 hour after washing the hair I went and rewashed the hair using simple Dove soap bar just to get the shampoo away and the itchiness is gone (mostly). Too bad it did not work for me, I can totally see it working for other people who is not allergic to one of the components in this shampoo. Luckily I could return it.


on 5/1/2014 12:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I am so jealous of everyone who loves this shampoo and conditioner set. The shampoo cleaned thoroughly and hubby and I actually really like the scent.

The love ends there though. Somehow this aggravated my scalp really intensely. If I washed my hair daily, it does not get too itchy. However, when I leave it for two days, I get the most excruciating itchy scalp I have ever experienced. It was so bad that my scalp felt raw and painful. It was the first time I was worried about scalp issues in a severe manner. So unfortunately I had to stop using this.

I guess, if I do wash my hair every single day, then I would avoid the painful scalp problems, but I don't like the consequences if I don't. I am giving it an extra lippie because it seems to work really well for everyone else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2014 4:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Best smelling shampoo around. Bought Aveda's Shampure because people said it had a smell similar to this... No! Nothing can compare to this stuff. It's sweet, spicy, and earthy. Every time I use it I will catch a whiff of it in my hair throughout the day. I'm a picky hair girl and have just purchased my 3rd bottle.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I've tried all but a couple of Nature's Gate shampoos from this line. The HERBAL one is the most gentle of all of them. It does not dry my hair out. The scent is that of incense. I do like this shampoo a lot and I have repurchased it a few times within the past 6 months. I go back to it after I try a different scent/formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2014 10:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

this is one of my favorite 'natural' shampoos I've tried so far. Yes, the scent is a very heavy herbal one, but that's what i like about it. i've found that other natural shampoos lack the fragrance (obviously) and my hair can end up smelling a bit off by the end of the day. But with this one, my hair smells clean and herbal-ly all day.

I also have very normal hair, so the formulation of this does not make my hair frizzy, dry or unmanageable. but I can tolerate a lot when it comes to hair products.

overall - great product and have repurchased a few times already.


on 2/20/2014 10:11:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am a fan of some of the Nature's Gate shampoos, but this is not one of them. The only reason really being the fragrance which seems almost medicinal. It could be the best shampoo in the world but the fragrance is too strong for me.


on 7/15/2013 1:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Unlike many of the reviews on here, I wouldn't call this shampoo a "miracle-shampoo". That said, my hair is fairly manageable and most shampoos work reasonably well, so I usually have the same amount of success across the board.

I try to wash my hair everyday, which is usually a necessity regardless because my hair is naturally rather oily, and the scent of this particular shampoo can be a bit overpowering if used so often. But I am happy to overcome that small complaint on the basis that this does really clean my hair. Furthermore, it does so without parabens, sulfates, or butylene glycol, which is perfect for anyone trying to limit the amount of toxins in their personal care supplies. And it is really a good value, which can be sometimes hard to find with "organic" lines. This is one shampoo though that I must use with a conditioner... which isn't all that surprising personally, because my hair is long and tangles readily.

Overall, I recommend this product, but if you are particularly sensitive to strong perfumes, I would advise you to look elsewhere.




Back to Top