L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup SPF 17

3.3

2913 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Titanium Dioxide (3.01%) Inactive: Water, Isododecane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Isoeicosane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Diazolidnyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Alumina, Methicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica, Yellow 5 Lake, Red 7, FIL B34903/3. (Taken from packaging, 12/2010, USA)


on 3/31/2015 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For some reason I never tried L'Oreal products in the 10 years I've been wearing makeup. Boy do I wish I knew this foundation existed when I was still in high school. I have very fair skin and its so hard to find a foundation that is not to yellow/ orange on me. I also have sensitive skin that is acne prone and I have a lot of post acne hyperpigmentation.

What I love about this foundation is that its super buildable. I don't like the feeling of heavy coverage foundations even though I do them. I just hate being able to know there is make-up on my face and I don't like the cake look at all. I just take a very small amount of this at a time and build. I usually use 1 layer to even out my out whole face and take just a tiny bit to build on my cheeks where most of my marks are. It doesn't get cakey, just let it dry before adding another layer. You could get full coverage if you want with this and it will still feel like your skin.

I took off stars for the price, kinda pricey for drugstore but still affordable. And the packaging the jar is quite small and doesn't have a pump.
I use W1 normally but W2 works too in the summertime.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I would give this a 3.5/4. I do like it, and I would repurchase if it ran out, but I am still on the hunt for the perfect foundation and this isn't it.

L'Oreal has a perfect shade range, and I can always find a colour to match me, no matter how tanned or pale I am. So that's a YES to us yellow/olive toned girls who can never find a foundation..haha. L'oreal's products are very watery and runny, but I do find this quite difficult to blend (I've tried various sponges and brushes, damp and dry) especially round drier areas with spots. It provides a beautiful flawless finish. It is satin/semi-matte, but it makes me look glowy and fresh. I do think this is my favourite foundation when I want a beautiful, flawless and fresh face. But for lasting power, this is a no no. If this foundation lasted longer than 3 hours (looking perfect) I would say that this would my holy grail, but unfortuneatly it doesn't. Saying that however, it doesn't ever feel caked on or heavy. I would recommend you give this a go.


on 3/26/2015 10:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've tried out this foundation for about two months now. I bought it because of my new job, where I felt like my HG foundation (MAC Face and Body) was too low coverage and was a bit too dewy. My work is often hot and stressful, so I wanted something that wouldn't make me look too shiny in the heat, and something that covered the redness I sometimes get on my cheeks from heat or/and stress.

I have normal skin; around my nostrils is the only place where I sometimes get a little bit oily at the end of the day. Not much though. My skin is clear and has no spots or breakouts, but my cheaks are a bit red. I have a yellow undertone and I'm quite fair in the wintertime (NC20) but I tan in the summer. That's about all you need to know about my skin. Also I'm 20 y/o.

I bought this foundation in two shades; W1 and W3. They both have a yellow undertone, and W1 fits me when I'm as pale as can be (with a bit of bronzer) while W3 is a good match for my summer/selftanning skintone. When I got home and compared the shades to my MAC Face and Body (C1 and C2), I noticed that the True Match wasn't as yellow though. So if you have a Very yellow undertone, you'll might find it hard to find a good shade match. Also just a note; the foundation contains glitter. It's not visible on the skin but I can clearly see it in the bottle.

On the skin the foundation looks not dewy nor matte. To me it's somewhere in the middle. I'd say if you have large pores and you want to hide it this may not be the foundation for you. I have no visible pores at all but if I look really closely at this foundation in the mirror I can tell that it's sinking into every little tiny "dent" in the skin. I'd say it has a medium coverage.

After about 7 hours at work the foundation has started to wear of around my nostrils. But it holds up pretty well considering I work in such hot and stressful enviorment.

The packaging to me is great; I live in Europe and over here this foundation comes with a pump. I belive I will repurchase this foundation since it's good for the purpose I bought it for. I don't use it apart from when I'm working though, simply because I think there are better foundations out there. But I don't want to spend my money on something high end just for work, and so far this is the best one I've tried from the drugstore.


on 3/23/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I know this foundation is known for it's wide shade range, but surprisingly I could not find a good match. I've a neutral undertone, kind of peachy, and so when N2 and N3 were too pink for me, I tried W2 (W3 looked really pink compared to W2 and W4) and I was surprised to find that it's also too pink for me. And I can't even try to make it work because it has really noticeable sparkles in it, so either way it looks unnatural on me. For the staying power, I have oily skin and this will not stay for more than 4 hours.


on 3/22/2015 9:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

Where I live, it comes in a bottle with pump so with packaging I didn't have problems. But this foundation just didn't work out for me. I have pretty normal skin with oily T-zone, and this foundation makes a greasy mess on it after an hour or two. It looks amazing when you first apply it and set it with powder, but that's all. It has shimmer or something and that makes it even worse. I wear the foundation when it's not too hot and when I know I will be taking it off after an hour or two just because I want to get rid of it. I'm sorry it didn't work out because I heard a lot of good things about it, but I definitely regret purchasing it.


on 3/20/2015 11:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

It is super-blendable for sure! Light coverage which is good for me. I got C1- Alabaster which matches my skin tone without looking too dark. It doesn't oxidize on me or cling to dry patches when I have them. After a while of wear, I can become shiny which never usually happens but it isn't a big deal considering I have the powder as well as the liquid. I love this foundation! It's a bit pricey for my budget, but worth it. The only downside is the packaging. Hopefully, they've reinvent the bottle. It looks pretty but you can easily waste some of the product having to pour it onto the back of your hand.


on 3/20/2015 10:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like it at first but then when im already wearing it it oxidize and dry quickly. But still it has a medium coverage but for combo skin it still didnt last all day.


on 3/19/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really wish I could like this more, but I just can't justify saying too many nice things about it.

It has a good colour selection. the lightest shade was ok for my casper-ish skin. It leans a little yellow and I lean a little cool, but it was a manageable yellow.

The packaging sucks. No pump. Seriously, l'oreal ?

I thought the product blended out to medium coverage quite well (damp sponge) and could give quite full coverage with other methods. The finish was nearly matte, at first. Three hours later, a greasy mess. And I have seriously dry skin - so....ew?

It does have spf 17 in it (in Canada, anyway), but for very specific reasons I wear spf 30 every day. This foundation does not play well with other sunscreens. I have tried every sunscreen in my arsenal (I'm a bit of sunscreen collector) and it does do ok over neutrogena dry touch - but not the face version! With the exception of the dry touch, the foundation just wouldn't set. So I powdered. And became a cake mess, which turned to a greasy cakey mess three hours later. A greasy cake mess with dry powdered patches. Hot stuff, let me tell you. Even the dry touch got the greasies three hours in, and I don't like dry touch body on my face anyway.

I used the whole bottle up before I wrote this so I'd think I've given it a fair chance. I can conclusively say this foundation breaks me out, and I although I have sensitive skin, it is not generally acne prone. But it got to the point where I wouldn't want to put the foundation on because I knew I'd have breakouts on the sides of my chin, my temples, my jawline and often, my cheek. I did enough controlling for variables, it is definitely the foundation breaking me out.

I'm done the bottle and won't repurchase. Usually I'm ok with suggesting people try stuff if their needs are different than mine, but based on my experience and other mua reviews I won't recommend anyone try it, either.


on 3/18/2015 1:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The mixing possibilities to meet your skin tone is a really feature. I find this foundation dries too fast and is difficult to blend properly on my skin. It also feels really heavy making it difficult to build coverage (it's about a medium coverage on the first pass). Overall it's okay, I think it could be better if I found a better application technique. It picks up on my fine lines, pours, and acne REALLY badly though. It really shows them off, no matter what primer I've tried. I haven't given up hope though, I just prefer to mix it with Revlon ColorStay. I think my skin is just too dry in my skin tone for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 10:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used this foundation for several months before giving a review, i purchased it because of the amount of great reviews it was getting on Youtube. I wouldnt recommend this foundation if you have dry skin because it has a drying affect on my skin (normal skin). It looks slightly powdery on my skin too and i prefer a more dewy finish. However the great thing about this foundation is how well it blends, it feels as though it dissolves into the skin. I wouldnt purchase this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

L'Oréal Paris True Match - The Shade Matching Authority by lorealparisnyc



Back to Top