Cover Girl TruBlend Liquid Makeup

3.1

746 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Eau), Cyclopentasiloxane, Tridecyl Neopentanoate, Titanium Dioxide, Propylene Glycol, PEG 10 Dimethicone, PCA Dimethicone, Cyclohexasiloxane, Methylmethacrylate Crosspolymer, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Squalane, Phenoxyethanol, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Butylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Ammonium Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer, Cyclomethicone, Propylparaben, Cyclotetrasiloxane, Polysorbate 60, Styrene Acrylates Copolymer, Trisodium EDTA, Zinc Oxide, Iron Oxides, May Contain: Yellow 5 Lake, Red 36


on 6/9/2015 5:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I almost feel bad writing a negative review when, overall, Covergirl is generally a good brand. I decided on this foundation as I had ran out of my favourite L'Oreal True Match and needed something cheap from the shops to get me through the school week. I have quite fair skin, so shade L1 looked ideal in terms of colour match and to cover my acne. However, upon applying this to my brush I knew it wasn't what I expected among inspection of the consistency. It almost akin to a tinted moisturiser and was very thin. Upon applying it to my face, I was quite disappointed that I'd picked this foundation up for around $25 and it was practically unusable.

* PRO'S *
- Great colours to choose from; appealed to me due to the pinkish undertone and selection for people with pale skin
- The packaging is convenient in a pump bottle

* CON'S *
- Provides almost no coverage. It almost melted into my skin and you could hardly see it.
- Does not cover any redness/acne/scars
- Terrible consistency, not suitable for a foundation

This product has sat at the bottom of my make-up bag for the last month because to me it is basically unusable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/13/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

i've used a lot of foundations over the years, both drugstore and higher end brands. this has to be the worst foundation i have ever used by far.

first, i'll say 2 good things about it. i like the fact that it has a pump. i don't know WHY so many drugstore liquid foundations come in that horrible pour-type bottle. so, plus for the pump. also the colour of this foundation is very close to my actual skin tone (i bought the shade L1 and i'm quite fair very with a neutral/slightly yellowish undertone.

now for the bad. i knew this foundation was doomed right from application. i use a damp makeup sponge to apply my foundation, and i have NEVER had a problem like this before. it applied so PATCHY!!! and god forbid you try to go back and fix it, or build it up for more coverage, it just made the problem WORSE. it's just impossible to fix!!!

at first i thought maybe it was my moisturizer that didn't mix well with the foundation, so i tried it again on a clean face. same problem. then i tried it with some primer. same problem. MAYBE it would work better if applied with a brush?? but i hate applying foundation that way, so for me this foundation is a DEFINITE no.

i can't say anything about it's staying power because i never kept this horrible patchy, streaky mess on my face long enough to find out.

i bought it at shoppers for $15 and even though that's less than 1/3 of the price i pay for my current foundation, it's WAY too much for this crap!!! i guess my search for a cheaper (but DECENT) foundation is still on.


on 4/30/2015 6:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have been trying out different drugstore foundations. I recently realized that I've been using foundation that is about 2 shades too dark. So once I went 2 shades lighter, I had much less problem with oxidation. I bought this is L6 Buff Beige. My skin is very annoying. I have a lot of bumps and redness, and it's also very oily and sensitive. I also have a very neutral skin tone, which I've found out is extremely hard to match.

This foundation is okay. I've used a lot worse, but I've used a lot better as well.

Texture and blendability-I would say this is average at best. The texture is really weird. It looks thick, but when you apply it, it's very thin and watery. A single layer covers almost nothing. But I can make it work if I apply 2 very thin layers. You have to blend this really well, or it looks cakey and horrid.

Color-This is a good match for me.

Staying power-Again, average. I don't have the time or the desire to do touch-ups during the day. By the end of an 8 hour day, it has started to disappear, and have bare patches.

Packaging-The packaging for this product is horrible. Yes, it has a pump, which is a nice thought, especially for a drugstore foundation. However, it only works about half the time. You have to push it down at least 5 times to get any product to come out. Even shaking the body doesn't help. If the pump worked decent, I might consider repurchasing this in a pinch. But not until then.

All in all, there is really nothing all that special about this foundation. It's not terrible, by any means, but it is one that I will immediately rush out and repurchase? Probably not.


on 4/23/2015 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

pros:
- great colour match (L1 for my very fair cool skin)
- easy to apply and blend out
- mixes well with liquid illuminator
- inexpensive

cons:
- doesn't provide much coverage

packaging: it's a glass bottle with a pump. i've dropped the glass bottle on my bathroom tiles and it's survived. the pump doesn't dispense much product compared to other foundation pump bottles i've used, but that's not a problem, just an observation.

buy it again: maybe. it's decent for the price, and good on days when i just want to even out my skin without actually covering it up with foundation. but i like to try new things and it's not a holy grail product, so i likely won't repurchase.


on 4/12/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I think another reviewer said it best when comparing this foundation to tinted moisturizer. It really doesn't cover imperfections at all and it barely evens out skin tone. I still see a lot of redness poke through even after doing more than one layer. It's a shame, really, because the L2 color is a perfect match for me. I ended up mixing this with Kat Von Ds tattoo foundation which is full coverage. It helped some, but still not my favorite.


on 4/7/2015 5:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I impulsively purchased this foundation in the colour M4 after running out of my utterly beloved Boots Botanics Age Defence foundation, and to sum up this product... It's awful; absolutely f**king GHASTLY. My skin is sensitive, oily with large pores, moderate to severe acne, a metric ton of hyperpigmentation marks, and a borderline jaundice looking yellow tone, so I generally have quite a difficult time finding a proper foundation, but nothing can compare the hellish experience that I had with Covergirl's "Tru Blend" foundation.

Before I applied this, I cleansed my face with Johnson's Head To Toe baby wash, then moisturised with Clinique's Dramatically Different moisturising gel then proceeded to apply/blend this disgusting foundation to half of my face with adequately clean fingers, followed by dabbing with a damp sponge (no foundation on sponge) to ensure an even, cakeless finish. I applied to only half of my face because I wanted to see how it would look using brush application on the other side; however, the finger/sponge method has always been my fool proof technique for applying liquid foundation, so I was a bit shocked and appalled by the finished result.

Firstly, the coverage was complete rubbish and any attempt at building the opacity resulted in a caked mess, regardless of how well I blended. At first I thought that perhaps my usual technique was somehow not suited to this foundation, so I went over the bare half of my face with a brush and again tried to build the coverage with even worse results. No matter what I did, I could not get this foundation to look anything other than disturbingly grotesque on my face. Every pore was so ridiculously emphasised that I could drop a coin and make a wish inside one.

Secondly, the colour was f**king filth. It looked like a nice creamy yellow inside of the bottle, and even when I had a glob pumped out onto the back of my hand. I thought that I had finally found a shade comparable to the previously mentioned Boots foundation in "almond", but when blended out onto my face I instead found that it had a colour more reminiscent of a dirty orange traffic cone; absolute madness.

Thirdly, my skin reacted horridly to this crap. Within less than 3 hours my skin was flaking/peeling as if I'd been sunburnt! Then to top it all off, my face developed many tiny bumps as well as massively inflamed spots on my cheeks, chin, and jawline. I promptly removed the makeup, then nearly had a fit when I saw how truly angry my skin became after using this product. I'm ready to believe that perhaps this bottle was tainted because I've never had such an insane reaction to a "hypoallergenic" formula.

I would certainly not recommend this foundation and cannot wrap my mind around the fact that many people swear by this stuff. But if you feel that you must purchase this, proceed with caution because it messed my face up so badly that I essentially became a hermit until the condition of my skin improved; yes, it was that bad.


on 4/7/2015 1:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in m4, I bought it to offset my other relatively pink foundations to better match my yellow-toned skin.

Pros
-great for yellow-toned skin
-no scent
-blendable formula
-buildable coverage

Cons
-can make dry patches a tad obvious
-lasting power is average


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is horrible. The shade I have is L5 creamy natural and it oxidized on my skin turning a few shades darker (not good). The coverage is only light. It is very streaky and took long to blend onto the skin. Layering this foundation didn't do anything either. The only good thing about this product is the packaging with the pump dispenser.

This foundation caused me to break out and cause bumps under the skin after using it (my skin is not sensitive).

I do not recommend this foundation.


on 3/17/2015 10:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This felt very light on my skin, and covered literally nothing. It covered worse than a tinted moisturizer really. The price of this was okay, and I enjoyed that it has a pump. I'll probably clean it out, and store my revlon colorstay in it instead.


on 2/25/2015 6:20:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love it. Undetectable coverage. Works like a colored primer when you set it with powder. I set it with coty airspun powder and I've also used covergirl simply powder over it and the effect is flawless.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top