Beyond The Zone • Color Jamz • Hair

rated 3.0(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jsilv on 1/25/2015 8:48:00 PM more reviews by jsilv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I immediately began to regret my purchase of this hair color upon reading reviews from various sources online. I seriously debated taking them back (bought three bubble head pink, turquoise, and wild red) and getting similar colors in another brand. Thankfully, I decided to try them out despite numerous negative reviews.

The results of the wild red color jamz were AMAZING. I used this color to dye my husband's hair. We did not follow Beyond the Zone's directions. It is awesome and the color is VIBRANT. Here's what we did:

1. The night before we dyed his hair, we bleached it using blue bleach and sensitive scalp 30 volume developer. He has dark blonde virgin hair so we didn't have to lift it but 2-3 levels to achieve a pale blonde color. It took 30 mins (roots last) to apply and we let him sit under a shower cap until the hair was the desired color (checking every 10 mons or so). We then rinsed the bleach out with a neutralizing shampoo twice and conditioned it twice with a purple conditioner. We put a dime size amount of leave in conditioner in his hair.

2. The next day we colored with the wild red color jamz. Upon opening the squeeze bottle I was seriously worried the wild red was more magenta than fire engine red like the color swatches at the store had suggested, so I mixed a half a bottle of wild red color jamz with a quarter size dallop of adore's jet black semi perm dye in an attempt to make it darker.

3. I started to apply the wild red in small sections of 100% air dried hair with a tint brush. I made sure to get as close to the scalp as possible and throughly saturated the hair. I then combed the color through with a fine toothed comb and wiped any excess back on the piece of hair I combed through.

4. Once I was done applying the color in the previously stated manner, I then clipped the hair up and threw a shower cap over my husband's wild red soaked head.

5. My husband left the dye and shower cap on for 4-5 hours then rinsed with warm water until the water ran clear. He conditioned but did not shampoo.

6. The color is FABULOUS. The color swatches at the store were not quite accurate, but the color is absolutely awesome (regardless) and we were incredibly happy with the vibrant results. It was supposedly a fire engine red color but it turned out a vibrant crimson red. Definitely red, not pink. I'm not sure how much the black dye contributed to that though.

Tips:

Don't pay attention to Beyond the Zone's directions about applying the dye (follow the patch test though). The hair should be totally air dried prior to application of this dye.

Leave on as long as possible if you want vibrant, longer lasting results. I like to leave semi perm dye on the hair for 4-6 hours, sometimes more.

For best results, use on pale, bleached hair.

Just prior to use, avoid conditioners. Shampoo, air dry, apply dye. If you must use conditioner (we did), don't use a lot.

Work in small sections while applying color and heavily saturate the hair!!! I highly recommend a tint brush and fine tooth comb to get every last hair.

Use some heat from a hair dryer after applying the dye while waiting to rinse it.

Wash dye out with cool water and do NOT shampoo immediately after process.

We will most definitely be buying this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* upinspace on 8/21/2014 5:21:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in the crimson color, it is the cheapest colorful hair dye at Sally's

The packaging is great, it has a nozzle and is easy to squish down. (unlike nrage, nrage is very hard to get all the product out of)

The product comes out with ok vibrancy but doesn't last too long.

It is great if you don't want much commitment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jfers on 8/3/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by Jfers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Tripped up torqoiuse turned green after about a month and then stayed stained in my hair for the next three months after washing it daily and using several vitmin c treatments. Even though I wanted it gone I kept it becuase it didnt look that bad. I would not buy agian.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whitey101 on 7/26/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by whitey101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using color jamz for the past few years to get "exotic" colors. They have alway worked just fine. But no matter how light your hair is naturally I would recommend bleaching it, cause then your hair will hold the color better. And I normally leave mine in anywhere between 4-6 to over night. Depending on how light or dark the color is... The color says in for months, it bearly fades... I have to end up bleaching it out and yet there is still a slight shade of the color... I highly recommend this dye to everyone who wants exotic colors that last for more then just a few days...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MichelleC1026 on 5/24/2014 1:04:00 AM more reviews by MichelleC1026

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

My daughter is already pretty blonde, so we bought this because it says "semi permanent". We asked if it needed a developer and were told no. She had it in her hair for almost 2 hours, we did put it on dry hair. When she got out of the shower there was absolutely ZERO purple in her hair what-so-ever. I am deeply dis-satisfied and would never buy this again. I expected more from Sally's. The last purple we got was so vibrant and brilliant, she was complimented daily for months. This is a huge disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie11786 on 12/2/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Do yourself a favor and get Ion semi permanent color Brights if you actually want the color to last. If you want it to be very temporary or just as a refresher to your color than it's fine i suppose but if you actually went through the process of bleaching your hair to keep a vibrant unnatural color in your hair to last longer you will be disappointed if you get this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilliputhaunt on 11/27/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by lilliputhaunt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE DYE! I wanted teal hair, so I went to Sally's to pick up some dye. I was originally planning on getting Ion Color Brilliance, but I saw that Color Jamz were on sale for 3 for $10, so I got these instead. The smell is pretty nice, I'll admit, but this stuff is really godawful. First, I bleached my hair to a pale orange with a 20 volume developer. After that, I put the dye in my dry hair and left it in for 2 hours. Every last bit of color went down the drain. Literally. There was not a trace of color left in my hair. I wasn't prepared to give up just yet, so I put it in again, put on a shower cap and left it in for about 9 hours. When I got up in the morning to wash it out, the results were even WORSE than before. It left a pale, vomit green in my hair, like I'd dyed it seafoam green and let it fade for 2 months. I'd hesitate to even call this garbage dye with results like this. If you want to dye your hair a bright color, stick to Manic Panic. It's worth the extra money, really.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PurpleMongoose12 on 10/27/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by PurpleMongoose12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good hair dye :) but it doesn't work on everybody's hair so yea... And I wouldn't advised following the direction(well expect for bleaching your hair) but yea I would recommend putting this on dry hair, and leaving it on for a few hours, for me it makes my hair pretty bright when I use this so I recommend

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 madi307378 on 10/3/2013 10:11:00 PM more reviews by madi307378

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I walked into sallys looking for hair dye, and I asked the employees what hair dye do u have for bright eyes. They said beyond the zone folor jams. They were dead wron this brand barely shows up amd is a complete rip off I dont recommend it what so ever. Ion colors is a great brand and not only does it work but it smells great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sapphirejewel on 9/22/2013 2:14:00 AM more reviews by sapphirejewel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dyed my hair with permanent red hair dye (Loreals hilift in Red) which made my hair very bright red but the color is faded, so I used the Crimson Storm on it to refresh the color and it worked very good! My hair looks like when I dyed it the first day with the permanent stuff, and no it was not pink. This may be because my hair al ready had a red undertone but it isn't pink its definitely red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Beyond The Zone products

More Hair products