Beyond The Zone • Color Jamz • Hair

rated 3.0(59 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 makeupjunkie11786 on 12/2/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Do yourself a favor and get Ion semi permanent color Brights if you actually want the color to last. If you want it to be very temporary or just as a refresher to your color than it's fine i suppose but if you actually went through the process of bleaching your hair to keep a vibrant unnatural color in your hair to last longer you will be disappointed if you get this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lilliputhaunt on 11/27/2013 7:18:00 PM more reviews by lilliputhaunt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE DYE! I wanted teal hair, so I went to Sally's to pick up some dye. I was originally planning on getting Ion Color Brilliance, but I saw that Color Jamz were on sale for 3 for $10, so I got these instead. The smell is pretty nice, I'll admit, but this stuff is really godawful. First, I bleached my hair to a pale orange with a 20 volume developer. After that, I put the dye in my dry hair and left it in for 2 hours. Every last bit of color went down the drain. Literally. There was not a trace of color left in my hair. I wasn't prepared to give up just yet, so I put it in again, put on a shower cap and left it in for about 9 hours. When I got up in the morning to wash it out, the results were even WORSE than before. It left a pale, vomit green in my hair, like I'd dyed it seafoam green and let it fade for 2 months. I'd hesitate to even call this garbage dye with results like this. If you want to dye your hair a bright color, stick to Manic Panic. It's worth the extra money, really.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PurpleMongoose12 on 10/27/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by PurpleMongoose12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good hair dye :) but it doesn't work on everybody's hair so yea... And I wouldn't advised following the direction(well expect for bleaching your hair) but yea I would recommend putting this on dry hair, and leaving it on for a few hours, for me it makes my hair pretty bright when I use this so I recommend

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 madi307378 on 10/3/2013 10:11:00 PM more reviews by madi307378

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I walked into sallys looking for hair dye, and I asked the employees what hair dye do u have for bright eyes. They said beyond the zone folor jams. They were dead wron this brand barely shows up amd is a complete rip off I dont recommend it what so ever. Ion colors is a great brand and not only does it work but it smells great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sapphirejewel on 9/22/2013 2:14:00 AM more reviews by sapphirejewel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I dyed my hair with permanent red hair dye (Loreals hilift in Red) which made my hair very bright red but the color is faded, so I used the Crimson Storm on it to refresh the color and it worked very good! My hair looks like when I dyed it the first day with the permanent stuff, and no it was not pink. This may be because my hair al ready had a red undertone but it isn't pink its definitely red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Reviews4life on 6/21/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Reviews4life

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

Hello everybody. This is my first review so please bear with me ;-) Well one day i went to sallys since i dye my mohawk all the time. So i walked in and look around and BAM i saw this AWESOME hair dye(so i thought) called Beyond the zone color jamz in not so shy violet.So i bought it at a ok price 6.99 for 4.2oz which ok for dye.
The bottle looked great and the color look amazing so i thought i made a good buy.So i get home and i apply the hair dye and i left it in for one hour wfi i already had my hair bleached to a white. I applyed heat on to it every 10 min. Then i washed my hair and blow dreied it and another BAM NONE OF THE COLOR SHOWED!!!! it stayed white and ive dyed my hair many times before amd my hair is in great shape. So i tried again the next day and the same thing happened. I only wasted half the bottle but boy does this stain your fingers! If you want a dye that lasts amd is cheap and smells good try the ion color brilliance brights collection. Thanks for reading and have a good day. Please add me to ur favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mvill36 on 6/1/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by mvill36

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have blonde hair and the first time i dyed my hair was a few years ago and i used manic panic electric lizard and a purple color (same brand). The colors didnt really show up and I didnt think much about it becuase i figured my hair just wasnt used to the dye. Today I dyed my hair with color jamz tripped up turquise and it didnt show up well but i didnt bleach my hair first like the directions said too. So then I bleached my hair and dyed it again and my hair still didnt take the color. So is something wrong with my hair or is the dye just not good. On a good note the dye did smell extremely good! ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jpuckett on 3/9/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by jpuckett

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I followed what it said and it all game out when i washed my hair for the first time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 airemay on 9/21/2012 12:40:00 PM more reviews by airemay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought Not So Shy Violet a week ago, along with the Beyond the Zone bleach kit. I bleached the ends of my hair for about 25 minutes. Then, after towel drying my hair, I applied the BtZ color. I left the dye in for about 3 hours. When I rinsed it out with cool water, my ends were a blue grey color.

Moral of this story? Do NOT use this dye on towel dried hair. It is by far more effective when used on regular dry hair.

I redid the dye job last night without bleaching again. This time, I applied it on my hair (dry!) before bed, sleeping in it for about 9 hours. The difference is astounding. My hair is now half bright blue! It's more indigo than violet for sure.

I wish they'd revise the instructions on the back of this dye. Regardless, I am satisfied.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aiislyn on 8/20/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by aiislyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had jet black hair for a while and I decided to go bright red again(I had red hair in high school via box L'Oreal Feria in Ruby Rush). I had a girl at work bleach my whole head(I work at a hair salon) and she dyed my hair a weird red-violet color. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't what I wanted.

I went to Sally's and bought Manic Panic in Vampire Red and coated my head in it after washing it out a few times and I was happier with the dark rich red, though I wasn't too happy with how quickly it rinsed out(then again, it's a semi-permanent and I have friends who change their hair color like they change underwear so Iknew what to expect there). I bought another tub and mixed it with Biolage's Conditioning Balm(about a 1:3 ratio), and also some of the color in with my normal conditioner. I condition my hair every day and deep-condition it every week. The color in the deep conditioner keeps my color vibrant for longer while the regular conditioner keeps most of the color in my hair, but if I go more than a week without deep conditioning, my hair turns a sickly orange color.

I bought BTZ in Candy Apple Red just to mix things up and I mixed a bit in with my color-conditioner and it's worked really well at keeping the orange color at bay. Instead of a gross orange color, it fades to a fairly tolerable pinkish color. Every so often, I'll slather just the BTZ color on my dry head and sleep in it and when I rinse it out in the morning, it's a vibrant red with the barest hint of pink in the sun which I love. That way, I can stretch out my deep conditioner a bit longer and don't have to do it nearly as often.

The squeeze bottle is alright, though I prefer the tubs of MP. I had to fight to get the last bit out, whereas with MP you can just scoop it out with your fingers(I wear gloves when dealing with any color so I don't worry too much about getting it on me). The price is pretty good and it doesn't smell horrible. It still smells a tad chemically but it isn't unbearable, almost a sweet scent that I can't put my finger on. The price is alright for how much you get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Beyond The Zone products

More Hair products