Napoleon Perdis • Camera Finish • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(64 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 flashdanzer on 8/11/2014 3:34:00 AM more reviews by flashdanzer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best touch up powder especially for my oily t-zone. You can apply and reapply and it provides a flawless finish without getting cakey. I use a kabuki brush instead of the sponge to avoid applying too much in one application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 willow1992 on 2/23/2014 5:26:00 AM more reviews by willow1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This powder made my skin look dirty and blotchy. It did not work well at all. I'm not sure if it's because the lady who was working at the counter recommended a colour that was clearly too dark for my skin or not. But it sat funny on my skin. For the price I would definitely not buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ClaraQ on 2/22/2014 7:57:00 PM more reviews by ClaraQ

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I came across this product when I realised I needed a powder to set my foundation and as it is on the pricey side of things ($69 AUD), I have done my best to find fault with it. But I can't. It makes my skin looks flawless while still maintaining a natural complexion (not cakey), and for me it lasts throughout the day with a small touch up if needed in the evening. I have very sensitive skin but I can wear this comfortably all day at medium coverage.

I use look G3 (Fair lady) and the consultant told me that it contains green pigmentation within it which balances out red tones on the skin, which is perfect for me since I have rosacea. The compact is beautiful and if that bottom compartment was all powder I would not complain about the price at all! I just seem to go through them so quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 11/23/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i will be comparing this primarily to the MAC Mineralise Skin Finish natural because i feel that that is a comparable product that everyone is familiar with. I have tried several other powders though.
Camera Finish is probably the better of the two products and is my favourite powder foundation/setting powder. After i finish my MAC MSFN i will not be purchasing it again because I feel that Camera Finish is a better product.
$69AUD for 13.5g of product. comes in a cold compact with a very big mirror attached, beautiful packaging. Sponge included but i don't use a sponge with it, i use various brushes to apply (MAC 189, Real techniques blush brush and RT powder brush).
the powder has a small smell to it, but can only be smelt in the pan; it does not smell when applied to the face. The powder is not cake in any way, and is medium in pigmentation. I would say it has the same amount of coverage as the MSFN should you apply it to a clean face.
I wear shade G4 and I am an NC37-NC40. I wear Med Dark in MSFN which is slightly too dark for my face and pulls to the pinker side. Camera Finish have a G range: for those who are golden toned (warm) and an N range, for those who are Neutral toned (cool).
I find that this powder sets my foundation without actually changing the colour too much, I find that it is a perfect match for my face too, so if i wear a found. too dark, this corrects it, and same to say when i wear a found. too light.
I find that there is little fall out when i run my brush through the pan. The powder is very finely milled and there is absolutely no shimmer in the pan (MSFN has teeny tine bits of microscopic shimmer).
I find this powder controls oil slightly better than MSFN. I find that if i wore MSFN alone onto of moisturiser, i would be so oily in 3 hours. with camera finish, it extends it to 5 (i would be so oily at this point). thats saying a lot for me.
I just absolutely love the packaging, it is pigmented enough to set a found. and change the colour if i need to, it does not look cakey at all, and also controls my oil better. I recommend this product.
the only gripe, its very very steep price (it hurt when the SA said '$69' i almost died)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaddyKate93 on 1/27/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by MaddyKate93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

My search for the perfect powder has been long and frustrating..
Trying to find a non-cakey powder with oil control, and that doesn't oxidize.
I tried almost every drugtstore product as well as Clinique.
Then my sister purchased this and sang its praises, so I was intrigued.
It's quite expensive, at $65 AUD.
First time I purchased this, I bought the lightest shade, as I usually wear the lightest in my other powders. I found it too light.
Second time round I got the NP makeup artist to color match me and she reccomended natural 2. Perfect match! Very happy with this.
My HG for sure.
Fantastic staying power, natural matte finish, oil control, and no oxidization. Does not break me out and looks great in photos.
Thanks Napoleon! You have one happy customer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbur084 on 8/31/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by kbur084

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had been eyeing this up for a while but i never had the intention of buying it because of the $76NZD price tag. One day however, i was in a different Napoleon counter to my usual and they had ONE left in my shade on sale for just over half price ($40NZD). It was on sale because it was the terrible old black compact, not the new gold one. My review for the compact might be very irrelevant because it's the old one but i will say that to open this one is almost mission impossible. It is not a "push" button where the lid pops open but some sort of other ridiculous contraption where u have the push a clip down and then it unlocks, the clip jams very often.... I think they have gotten rid of the old 'lock' on the compact though since i didn't have this problem with the newer compacts when i was previously eyeing them up. The powder itself gives a satiny sheen to you're skin that reflects light from a camera flash in photo's. Even without the flash, you still get a nice 'sheen' to you're skin that will reflect in any sort of lighting. So... the product works!!, i would buy it again, there is no detectable "shimmer" in this powder like in the revlon photo ready range. This powder does come with two downsides: oily skin girls will need to carry this large compact around with them, it doesn't last like a mattifying powder would and so oil will break through. The other downside is the price, $76nzd compared with about $37 for Revlon photo ready or a $56nzd Mac MSFN.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daisyq28 on 7/29/2012 6:36:00 AM more reviews by daisyq28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Gives a great matte finish. On a day when I only need light coverage, I use the sponge applicator and this is fine. Otherwise, it works very well applied with a brush over my Revlon Colorstay.
I use Look 2.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kristy1077 on 7/21/2012 1:12:00 AM more reviews by kristy1077

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product for a few years out of habit but was never that happy with it. The coverage is light and the limited colours all made me look a bit orange. I have finally found my HG powder (Estee Lauder double wear) and will never purchase Naploeon Perdis again as it is very over priced and its quality is overated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chiinkyb on 6/13/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by chiinkyb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is the best! i have tried revlon to clinique to estee lauder but they are all outstanded by napoleon perdis camera finish pressed powder.

i have this compact in gold, which is the newer range for this powder. It gives a very matte finish which I love! and it is a medium to full coverage powder but if you just want a sheer cover it can be done. I use this with a brush for everyday use and it just looks very natural flawless glow to my skin. Many have asked what I do to my face because they actually think I just have naturally perfect skin. My skin type btw is combination to oily skin and very acne prone and also very sensitive. i have scars and a few imperfections to cover up and this does just the thing. .For occassions I use the sponge that comes with it and it gives a more fuller coverage

To try out the "camera finish" effect I did take photos of myself with this on with the flash on. And I say this is a camera finish powder! my skin looks very flawless like I have been photoshopped. Very "doll" like. I love this product! it stays on the whole day! have put this to the test and Ive jumped around and walked around for 10 hours and this product has not left my face. after the 10 hours my face looked fresh as the first time ive put it on and not a spot of oil was on my face at all. usually with the other powders iv used my face will be oily within 3 hours of use.

Before I forget the packaging is very nice,, it looks expensive not cheap its gold and I just love it. It is a rectangle compact which i dont mind because I always carry a giant handbag, its easier to find for me.

This retails for $76 in New Zealand which is $4 less than the estee lauder one. I would definitely choose this and buy this again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sabrinarose1990 on 4/16/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by sabrinarose1990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this is in the new formula (gold packaging). I have skin that depending on the day can be dry, oily or normal. I also am acne prone. Depending on my skin type on a particular day this powder can be classed as good or awful.
Firstly, when my skin is dry or normal, this powder is great... I use this over my Diorskin sculpt foundation (in 020) or Napoleon Perdis stick foundation (in number 3). It mattifies and removes "moisturizer shine" (i.e shine that peeps through foundation from your moisturizer).
I find it does not have much coverage, but that does not bother me as my liquid/stick foundation provides that...However, if you were using this purely for a foundation powder I don't think I would recommend it even for medium coverage powder foundation.
I only needed to touch up with this powder to reduce "moisturizer shine" once, when my skin was dry/normal.

However, if your skin even tends to oily, I would not recommend this. When my skin was in its oily stage, this powder didn't mattify and no matter how many layers I put on with my kabuki brush, shine still peeped through...1 hour later and I was like a grease ball...Skin so shiny and blotchy! Therefore, I do recommend this as a finishing powder for normal/dry skin, and highly recommend against for oily skin.

For reference, I am NC20-25 and use G1, in the new formula.

I won't repurchase, as I agree with another reviewer who said below that you can get a drugstore product that does the same thing for a fraction of the cost. (Personally I found the Maybelline Dream Matte mousse powder to be similar to this in terms of coverage and staying power).
I paid about $74 NZD for this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Napoleon Perdis products

More Pressed Powders products