Aveeno • Clear Complexion Cleansing Bar • Cleansers

rated 3.4(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 michelleosaurus on 2/10/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by michelleosaurus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After trying several different products for treating acne, I decided to try something new; going the sensitive skin route. Turns out, I had been using soaps, scrubs, and moisturizers that were just too harsh for me. I switched it up and bought this soap bar on a whim, hoping it would work, and it does! After several weeks of using it in the morning, and Cetaphil and night, with some sensitive skin toner (Clean & Clear), and sensitive skin moisturizer (without benzoyl peroxide), my skin has cleared up 100%, with only the occasional tiny breakout. I will not stray from this regimen, because after so many years of dealing with acne (I'm in my late twenties and my acne was worse than when I was a teen!)I finally found something that works without over drying my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 8/24/2013 8:20:00 AM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't usually break out anymore, but I just started using Luminess makeup (ugh) and it broke me out bad. At 36, I had a small group of pimples break out on my chin area. I went to Wal-mart looking for something inexpensive to use to clear them up. I almost bought the foaming cleanser (which has 2% salycilic acid) but it was close to $7 so I saw this sitting next to it for less than $3 (0.5% SA). I'm not a fan of bars like this, but for this price I was willing to try it. Within the FIRST use, the next morning I woke up to less irritated skin and it was less flaky. Now I've been using it for about 4 days and my pimples have gone down considerably. I also use it with the body shop's tea tree oil. I think that combo is what is helping. Would repurchase if I broke out again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nanamisan on 7/15/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i used to use and like this in high school but now it breaks me out terribly and dries my skin. funny how that works. also has a superbstrong fragrance for no reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kwarren on 6/24/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by kwarren

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have had acne for years, and have tried everything from proactive to Clinique to clean and clear, and everything in between. I decided to try this bar, and was it one of the worst decisions ive ever made. This bar started breaking me out within the first day. I thought, oh no, ill try it for a week. But it didn't get any better, I got more and more blemishes every day, my skin became dry, the redness was more visible than ever, and it seemed like my whole face had erupted in a rash. I even got acne where I had never even had it before; I got 8 or 9 cysts along my jawline. My skin was in its worst condition from using this bar, and I would never buy this again. I would not advise anyone to try it, as it has been by far the worst cleanser ive ever subjected myself to. Since ive thrown it away, I have started using the Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream cleanser, and I can see the breakout starting to calm down finally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 scarlettberry on 3/29/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by scarlettberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was originally planning to buy the cream cleanser type but I found this and since it was cheap I thought I'd give it a shot. I love this soap! It's gentle but it helped with my acne scars and pimples. The only downside is that it melts! I can't leave it in the bath after usage so I have to put it in the freezer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittanylaine on 3/23/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by brittanylaine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product has absolutely changed my skin for the better! I've struggled Sith horrible and costant acne over the past 2 years. I had read some reviews and thought I would give this a try since i had tried everything from dove soap to murad and everything in between. Within 3 days of using this am and pm my skin became much more clear and soft! Even ny husband noticed! My skin is glowy and more clear then it has been in so long! I do get the occasional break out still... But with constant use of this its usually gone within a day or two!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lulu94 on 1/16/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by lulu94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this cleansing bar. You know, when I really started getting into beauty/makeup and the likes a couple of years ago, I took a look at my skincare routine and felt like maybe, it was too simple/minimal, and I could find better products than the cheap-o, drugstore stuff I'd been using for years as a teen. But there's a saying, don't mess with what aint broke? That advise has rung true for me. After trying MANY new cleansers, clinique, dermalogica, and attempting to switch too all-natural products (I aim to live as carcinogen-free as possible), my skin which has always been pretty low-maintanence before was breaking out regularly. So about a month ago I chucked out my entire Alba AcneDote line, and went back to the stuff I used as a teen/pre-teen - Aveeno Clear Complexion Cleanser (the foam or the bar; foam works the same for me but the bar is cheaper! and for either, I use my Olay Pro X brush), St. Ives apricot blemish scrub a couple times per week, and finish with Clean & Clear dual action moisturizer.

I went from five angry pimples to zero in about 2 weeks. I would highly recommend the aveeno clear complexion bar; even if you usually use a 2% SA cleanser (I used to) this cleared up my problem areas even more effectively. And it's DIRT CHEAP, so really, you can't go wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BrittCastsFireballs on 11/29/2012 10:42:00 PM more reviews by BrittCastsFireballs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think this bar works great. I've tried numerous cleansers and very few give you that deep clean, but this one does ... and for less than $3!
I think that people expect these things to be a miracle treatment. They're not. This is a simple cleaning bar with a VERY low dose of SA included to aid in the prevention of breakouts. It DOES clean deep down and thoroughly removes all traces of makeup (even most of my high end "water proof" products) as evidenced by the pure-white cotton ball toner application -- it doesn't lie.
I really hate bars, honestly, because they're messy. However, for this price and the awesome thorough clean it provides, I'll take it. I would definitely recommend and likely will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 candyrain33 on 3/10/2012 10:19:00 PM more reviews by candyrain33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this bar. The smell is wonderful and it works well for my combination skin. the only part of my face that is acne prone is my forehead and between my eyebrows and this is great for keeping it pretty clear and ive only used it ONCE!! like any facial bar there will be some dryness but your supposed to use a moisturizer anyway unless you have oily skin. i use a tiny tiny tiny dab of olive oil as a moisturizer and i use it while my skin is still moist and it keeps my skin moisturized without being greasy. Im african american so we dont age really anyway but olive oil is great for your hair, skin and for cooking! i used ONLY pure extra virgin olive oil on the ends of my hair after i put in my leave in conditioner in. And as a face moisturizer it doesnt give my skin a shine it makes it glow. but this facial bar is a product i will continue to use!!! Aveeno makes some of the BEST products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chboo12 on 2/24/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by chboo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This bar is amazing!!! it has just enough SA in it for cleansing acne prone skin too. I do believe this helps my complexion drastically even though it does dry me out a bit (around my nose and in between my brows). But afterwards, my face feels incredibly clean and soft. So far, this has kept my breakouts under control (and it's almost that time of the month too). I also like how affordable this product is. Overall, great quality and great for my skin. I've definitely become dependent on this and recommend to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Cleansers products