Chanel • Gardenia • Fragrances

rated 4.0(174 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 12/18/2013 8:28:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to be very down on this fragrance because it doesn't smell like gardenia, and it still doesn't, but I kind of appreciate it more for what it is - a bombastic white floral. It smells like the floral section of the original Poison minus all the fruit and spice. Sometimes I'm in the mood for loud and cheerful and this fits the bill on those occasions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 11/19/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

'Gardenia' mixed with 'Beige' is my ultimate favs of the collection. I love Chanel perfumes to begin with but this very 'ME'. It somehow mixes so well with my body chemistry that it actually smells like I and the perfume are one (if that makes sense). I am not very good with notes plus everyone else has done a wonderful job describing them, but i will say that it is a very unique fragrance that is absolutely worth the $240 for the 200 ml bottle. I am not into 'eau de toilette' versions of fragrances but this collection is an exception. What i love even more is that it lasts about 7 hours on me which is fantastic for an eau de toilette. This is a very sophisticated, classy, luxe, warm, comforting, clean (not soapy or laundry clean), and rich fragrance. I am in total love. I wear this all year round. Definitely repurchase!
Btw i do like to wear 'Beige' on it's own but i try not to wear 'Gardenia' on its own as much because i find that it is too strong by itself.
My other favs include 1932 (which is supposed to smell like 'jewels' and I agree), La Pausa, Bel Respiro, Cuir de Russe (or something like that), and Cormandal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debrsl on 12/4/2012 8:14:00 AM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very pretty white floral, predominantly gardenia but not totally. Dewey, feminine; not sultry and no overtones of indoles, mushrooms, cheese, etc. The Perfumed Court lists notes of jasmine, gardenia, orange blossom, and tuberose, heart notes of clove, sage, pimiento, and base notes of musk, patchouli, sandalwood, and vetiver. I really don't get anything except white floral.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IllTakeIt on 11/17/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by IllTakeIt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 teraseraphim on 5/2/2012 9:28:00 PM more reviews by teraseraphim

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's Grasse Jasmine. The EDT is like some pathetic crap they pipe into department stores so they smell vaguely perfumey. But if you can get your hands on a vintage bottle of parfum extrait that hasn't turned, you'll smell the real thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyc01 on 11/18/2011 3:04:00 PM more reviews by hollyc01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ahhhhh Gardenia. With the exception of Jersey, I have now smelled all the Exclusifs and cannot live without two, Cuir de Russie and now Gardenia. Many have said that this does not smell like gardenia, I cannot comment never having smelled a real one. What it does smell like is an elegant, retro, refined Tuberose with delicate fruity undertones. I adore this. I actually find the lasting power quite good when sprayed on clothes at about 5 hours, but I often respritz sooner for the luscious green fruity nirvana that is Gardenia. I need a new car right now, but I may instead take out a loan for the 900 ml extrait . . . it's just that good. This review was for the EdT. Must try extrait next. Thank you Chanel for showing so much respect for your legacy and your devoted customers. Are you listening Caron?!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrincessZaineb on 10/2/2011 6:44:00 AM more reviews by PrincessZaineb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Gardenia is one of those perfumes that makes you want to draw a longer a deeper breath... beautiful! It reminds me of YSL's spring edition of Paris, but with seemingly higher quality ingredients. Its more expensive than general brands (retails at AED610 in Dubai, about $166 for 50ml), but remains cheaper than brands such as Tom Ford.

Also, it's usually just sold in Chanel's boutique, which makes it all the more special.

Enjoy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marieantoinette on 5/9/2011 5:14:00 AM more reviews by marieantoinette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Whoever said they weren't making this anymore is wrong. You can order it online today. I'm so glad. On me, this is a very light, classy scent. I'm through with searching for HG fragrances since I had them all along - Fracas and CSP Vanille-Abricot. Those three and I'm set.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Emma13 on 4/28/2011 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Very pretty, fresh and transparent floral, not over the top or heavy at all. It reminds me a little of Il Profumo Gardenia Royal, but the Chanel is fresher, greener and less sweet (I know it has no actual gardenia in it). Gardenia Royal is a stunning perfume but I feel I would need to be well dressed to wear it. The Chanel is more casual. However, in an hour or so it disappeared entirely from my skin (I splashed it on). Beautiful, but so disappointing ultimately pointless. ***UPDATE*** I put this up to 3 lippies because it does smell gorgeous. The poor staying power is so annoying.... Grrrrr.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 1/14/2011 11:15:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I received this fragrance as a gift from a good friend, and I love it. It works very well with my chemistry. It sits close to the skin and is inoffensive, which is very important to me because of my job. Most inoffensive fragrances are generic, but not Gardenia. It has just the right amount of complexity. The tuberose is strong when first applied, but after about 10 minutes it fades, and the drydown is soft and lovely. This lasts almost all day on me. When I run out, I will definitely buy a bottle for myself. Definitely recommended.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products