Guerlain De La Ferte LipBalm Baume

4.4

14 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/15/2014 9:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This lip balm does nothing to the lips, probably one of the worst lip balms i've tried. It has a very strong plant/herb like smell, which definitely takes some time to get use to, not something you would want to apply before locking lips with someone.

The consistency is terrible, there is always water like liquid oozing out of the tube whenever i try to apply, which gives a slight cold and yucky feeling like my lips are sweating and mixing with the balm. Just indescribable discomfort. The worst thing is the liquid that comes out inconsistently, sometimes it does not come out, and other times when i try to apply, it oozes out with a terrible bitter taste. I used it for about a week and gave up. Just terrible.

The lip balm is pricey, definitely not worth the purchase! If i could give 0 lipsticks i would.



on 11/13/2013 9:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have chronically dry lips and have purchased so many different lip balms from different companies over the years. I've been very happy with all the products I've purchased from Guerlaine, makeup and skin care, so I decided to try their lip balm. I absolutely love this product. It's thick, emollient and stays on well. A lot of the other balms I've tried feel great at first but then seem to evaporate and leave my lips dried out again. Some reviewers here say that this balm smells strong or horrible. IMO, this balm has a slightly medicinal scent, but nothing gross or over-powering. The scent dissipates soon after application anyway so who cares? If you have dry lips and aren't very happy with anything you've tried so far, give this one a shot. It's high quality, effective, long lasting and you may love it too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2012 6:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great stuff! Yes it is pricey for a lip treatment but on the other hand, how many lip treatments have I bought that seemed to make my lips worse not better, leading to an endless cycle of purchases of more cheap lip treatments. This product can put an end to that cycle if you've ever experienced it. This, MAC lip conditioner (not the tube) are fabulous, and Korres lip butters are all worth buying.


on 1/31/2010 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I originally bought this to go under my Guerlain Kiss Kiss Lip Lift. A bit thin/oily for my lips, it kinda stings a bit if my lips are the least bit irritated...but it does make my lips nice, plush & smooth otherwise...I would not repurchase because I want something that's more consistently soothing for this price point...


on 1/13/2010 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can truly say that this is the best lip balm I have ever tried...and Ive tried a lot of stuff. It heals my lips overnight!!! I have always suffered from dry lips and this is the only thing that treats them, not just gives them a temporary relief...must have for every woman.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2009 8:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm so happy I gave it a try! This is the best lip balm ever! Gives me smooth and fuller lips.I apply it generously before I go to bed and I wake up with gorgeous lips, even now in winter time.


on 4/18/2007 7:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

How strange. We have two review sections on this same balm. Here are the other reviews (and they talk about the horrible odor of this stuff which I will address as well)



Click for other reviews on this



I came very close to returning this immediately due to the most offensive odor I have ever smelled in my life. Its kind of funny reading some of these here where people speak of this stuff smelling like chocolate or violets (I wish). The other set of reviews seems to echo my immediate reaction to this outrageously priced stinky stuff. I thought maybe there were two lip balms by Guerlain but we are talking about the same one. My boyfriend nearly gagged when I had him sniff the tube. I had a hard time with the stench of this. There's no way to describe how bad this smell is however once you get past it, you may have found the most effective balm yet. I want to hate it because it reeks (you can't imagine anyone wanting to kiss you when you smell like rancid fruit) but I have never felt anything so soothing on my lips. It actually softens and soothes them almost overnight. I've only had this a couple of days but the effectiveness is winning me over and keeping me from placing this one back in its box and returning to Sephora. EDIT! This stuff doesn't continue to wow me anymore. It did feel nice for a few days and helped me get past the smell but I found something better and I am stunned by what I am about to say but its true. Now I see why the women out here rave and rave about Bonne Bell Lip Smackers. I would have never thought to try those but OMG they feel and smell better then anything I have ever used in my life! I have been using them two weeks now and they just make my lips softer and beautiful looking. They also look fabulous and smell and taste so yummy! Who knew!!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2007 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I adore this lip balm! I discovered it when I was living in Colorado and my lips were constantly dry and chapped. A rep from Guerlain suggested this and it worked miracles!! What a difference! The price is a bit steep ($22) but after trying to find something better, for less money, I have had no success and am so happy to have come back to this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2007 9:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a nice product but not nice enough for me to repurchase. It leaves nice sheen to my lips and it works better than other lip balms I have tried. But I can find a product from pharmacy (that is not really a lip balm but an "all over treatment") that works even better. I am not really reaching this but it is a nice luxury option and because it is a little sticky you dont need to reaply too often. Concistenly reminds me of Elizabeth Arden eight hour cream. Sorry people, I am not giving my 5 l/s characters away too easily! EDIT: This stuff makes my lips feel like pain. First time I did not think it was the balm because my lips were already then painfull and cracked and I had bought it to relieve this pain. This balm is thick so it makes you think it is effective as it does not wear of easily. But I have used it to my healthy lips (ya know just to wear something so lips look moist and slightly dewy) and my lips got irritated and so cracked. I throw this piece of junk away.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2006 4:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I first discovered this when the Guerlain lady was doing my makeup and I had terrible flaky lips. She gave me some of this to rub in and the flakes miraculously came off, leaving me with smooth, supple lips ready for lipstick and gloss. This is also very good one it's own, as it has a nice neutral colour that looks kind of sophisticated and a bit polished. Your lips look plump and moist. Very classic.Very Guerlain. I use this every day now and I will repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1481 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3593 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
172 Reviews


Back to Top