Matrix • Biolage - Smoothing Shine Milk • Hair Treatments

rated 4.0(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 aenflex on 11/11/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I no longer use this, but for no good reason. It's a great product.
It was my HG leave in for several years. My hair likes cones. This left my hair smooth, lightly scented and with a light hand did not add any extra weight. Packaging was fine, typical spray bottle. Though I found myself spraying it into my hand and emulsifying, then running my hands through my hair. I would mix a spritz or two of this with a little dab of coconut oil. Amazing.
The bottle lasted me at least a year, so for me the price was fair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Loved10 on 10/3/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Loved10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a nice product. I like to spray it on my scrunched curls after they air dry to soften any crunch left by gel. This does add shine but it isn't a leave in conditioner. It isn't a serum and it doesn't have any hold to it. It left me grasping for what to do with it. Over all as a shine spray it does help a little. Smells very good just like other biolage products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debdee on 2/10/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by debdee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I routinely use Matrix Biolage conditioner and shampoo, so I purchased this without hesitation and was very disappointed. Yes, it effectively smoothed my hair, but it definitely did not add sheen or shine to my hair. I expected it to do both because the product name is Smoothing Shine Milk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplerain71 on 12/27/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by purplerain71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I love their shampoo, so I decided to buy this smoothing shine milk because my hair still not behave after air dry, my goal is to grow my hair long without naturally without blow dryer. I have very poor hair growth, thinning and falling. Now my hair is growing back after biolage shampoo, and avalon rosemary volumizing conditioner then add this spray after towel dried hair. Next morning, I use hot rollers, wow!!! My hair looks so much healthier, smoother, and overall very soft and shiny hair. Try it, it's best result to spray on wet hair not dry hair. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LucyFord14 on 9/15/2012 11:49:00 AM more reviews by LucyFord14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What an interesting product! It smells incredible, I second the motion to make a lotion, soap, etc with this scent. I personally don't need to spray too much, 4-6 depending on how mangy my hair feels.

Now this is not a moisturizing spray!! I still have to use a serum (preferably my Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum) and maybe a little leave in conditioner. But using this prevents my hair from snagging at the ends when I run my fingers through my hair, gives it a light flowy feel. I get maybe compliments every time I use this.

For girls who are trying to go for a more natural alternative, I recommend the Phyto 7 or 9 (depending on dryness). I dont like it as much, but is still a great buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kittea on 3/19/2012 10:40:00 AM more reviews by Kittea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product, I spritz a ton of it on the ends of my hair and brush it through the rest while it's damp, then let it air dry. My hair isn't especially dry or frizzy, but it definitely doesn't look very healthy on its own. It's wavy and fine, not thin or thick, it's somewhere in between. I have a feeling this helped prevent my ends from splitting as quickly as they normally do, as this is the only treatment product I use. It doesn't make it especially shiny, but it does smooth it out and make it feel quite soft without feeling even a tad bit greasy. I don't know why anyone would use this on dry hair, as the bottle states you should spritz it sparingly on moist, towel dried hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TryHonesty on 5/28/2011 9:02:00 PM more reviews by TryHonesty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. keeps frizzies away and really does make you shine!
It's expensive thou :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Natashber on 3/30/2011 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Natashber

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product while surfing through the aisle at my local CVS looking for something that I could possible use as a leave in for my hair to avoid it from frizzing (washed/unwashed). I have long, soft, naturally curly hair (Indian) and try to wash it two times a week the most. The product looked pretty interesting so I went ahead and purchased it.

If you have curly hair you know that when itís dry and you brush itís like a Donna Summers 70s flashback moment, getting ready for work, I combed my hair and sprayed it onÖ.nothing really happened. Wherever the spray hit was a sleek and straight and wherever it didnít was just super frizzy but thank goodness I had a little bit of my Sebastian #9 leave in conditioning spray left so that took care of my hair that morning. I used it a few more times on dry hair (with and without combing) and really was not impressed at allÖthe bottle barely sprayed and it left sections of my hair really limp and straight; lets not fail to mention the amount of times both my husband and I almost broke our necks because a bit got on our floors.

I decided maybe if I used it on damp hair it would really be the product I was hoping for. That weekend after I washed my hair I sprayed some in and let it air dry. Nothing. It did absolutely nothing, my hair was soo frizzy like I didnít put anything in it at all. I really want to return this product and get my money back but not sure what CVSí return policy is on hair care items. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jen1103 on 2/19/2011 4:11:00 PM more reviews by jen1103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

EDIT -- stopped using because it made me break out on my neck and around my hairline (sometimes happens to me with oily hair products). Not to mention the floor fiasco I mentioned below. Now I use Living Proof No Frizz - WAY better and no greasies!

I love this stuff - it makes my wavy-ish, fine hair super soft and frizz free and not greasy. I like the smell too. My biggest complaint is the spray - if it gets on your floor, look out! You might as well be on ice skates it makes it so slippery. I try to put a towel down before I spray but it still manages to get all over and leave majorly slick spots. With two little ones, its hard to justify this potential risk of injury! So I end up putting it away for a while (after scrubbing the floor) and coming back to it months later. If they would make a non-spray version, I'd never use anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lxb87 on 9/4/2010 12:04:00 PM more reviews by lxb87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff does nothing for my hair. It also smells bad. I'd expected a scent in the Biolage family but it is nothing close to it. The Biolage conditioner does so much more for my hair. This product didn't make a difference at all in shine or smoothness. I've had it for almost a year and haven't even made it halfway through the bottle, usually because I forget to put it on, it's made so little impact for my hair. Not a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Matrix products

More Hair Treatments products