MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

335 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


on 3/2/2015 7:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I decided to keep this (which says something for me!), but it's not my favorite. Swatched on my hand, it's a LOVELY warm grey purple. However, it does not show up as well on my lids. While I'm very pale, my lids are dark. This color doesn't look very purple on me - it gets a little muddy on me and looks more grey or taupe. However, if I layer it over a darker color like Copperplate, I can get the purple to pop a bit more. It's similar to Satin Taupe, but not as much sheen, definitely more purple, and a bit lighter. I'm hoping if I keep playing with this color, I can get it to show up on my lids better as it is a lovely color.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I went into Mac to find a new every day eyeshadow as I am bored with wearing my neutral colours all the time. This is a purple, brown, grey colour which can be quite sheer and has a satin finish, I love this colour with my green eyes but I do have to apply a couple of coats to get the full effect or when I am not being lazy dampen my brush slightly before I apply to make the colour pop ownI find using my finger works better to pack the colour on!

I have this in a 2 eyeshadow palette with Fig.1 and use shale as my base and Fig.1 to blend around my socket and also the outer corner of my eye... Looks lovely :)


on 1/5/2015 4:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A soft grey, purplish color. It's very elegant and can give you gorgeous smokey eyes for daytime. Very unique shade. It has a satin finish, super subtle shimmer and glides easily. I like to call it Satin Taupe's baby sister. Between Satin Taupe and Shale, Shale is definitely the better of the two!


on 12/17/2014 4:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First off I love MAC eye shadow but this was a total miss for me. The color looks like a taupe/lavender/mauve in the pan but ends up looking grey on my skin no matter what I do. It ends up bringing out the circles under my eyes as well. I have tried to use it as a wash on my eyes and then also in the crease. I feel like it worked the best in the crease as a blending color however it is just too grey and cool for my skin tone. This also had a strange film on the top of it which I had to scrape in order to get any color at all. I have only had two other MAC eye shadows do that and I'm not sure why that happens sometimes.


on 11/10/2014 10:33:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My favorite eye shadow .


on 8/14/2014 9:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Not my favorite color, but nice enough. Probably wouldn't repurchase but good MAC quality.


on 2/2/2014 7:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Shale is the latest addition to my MAC eyeshadow collection and I love it! This color is quite unusual and unique (described as brown-purple-grey) but goes with everything since it looks natural when applied on. Definitely worth buying!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a stable in my daily makeup routine. I apply in the crease and lower eyelid mixed in with bronzed colors. Looks great on pale skin! Makes all eye shades pop. MAC packaging is always great and their eyeshadows last for months. I order high end cosmetics off of ebay for a discount. Regular price is decent, but I'd rather buy on ebay.


on 7/6/2013 3:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Going out on a limb to say this is my favorite eyeshadow ever!!! And I have a ton of eyeshadows. It's purple, grey, and brown combined. This looks awesome with my green eyes.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Such a beautiful purple/grey shimmery colour! This looks great on cooler skin stoned because it is so cool toned. I love pairing this with mystery eyeshadow in the crease...it is such a pretty cool toned eye look. My only problem was when i first bought this i had to realllly dig into the pan to get the colour to come off on my brush. I hate that some mac shadows are like that!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Eye Shadows


X
174 Reviews
Pigment in Tan
274 Reviews
Rosewood
13 Reviews
Back to Top