MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(334 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 1/8/2015 9:44:00 AM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I went into Mac to find a new every day eyeshadow as I am bored with wearing my neutral colours all the time. This is a purple, brown, grey colour which can be quite sheer and has a satin finish, I love this colour with my green eyes but I do have to apply a couple of coats to get the full effect or when I am not being lazy dampen my brush slightly before I apply to make the colour pop.

I have this in a 2 eyeshadow palette with Mac Brule and use Brule to blend around my socket and also the inner corner of my eye... Looks lovely :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 queenM100 on 1/5/2015 4:43:00 PM more reviews by queenM100

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Mac Shale is a soft mauve color. So beautiful....it's like a matte finish which glides easily. I like to call it satin taupe baby sister.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 12/17/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First off I love MAC eye shadow but this was a total miss for me. The color looks like a taupe/lavender/mauve in the pan but ends up looking grey on my skin no matter what I do. It ends up bringing out the circles under my eyes as well. I have tried to use it as a wash on my eyes and then also in the crease. I feel like it worked the best in the crease as a blending color however it is just too grey and cool for my skin tone. This also had a strange film on the top of it which I had to scrape in order to get any color at all. I have only had two other MAC eye shadows do that and I'm not sure why that happens sometimes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amejka on 11/10/2014 10:33:00 AM more reviews by amejka

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

My favorite eye shadow .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PlanetAmour on 8/14/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by PlanetAmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Not my favorite color, but nice enough. Probably wouldn't repurchase but good MAC quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Joline on 2/2/2014 7:25:00 AM more reviews by Joline

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Shale is the latest addition to my MAC eyeshadow collection and I love it! This color is quite unusual and unique (described as brown-purple-grey) but goes with everything since it looks natural when applied on. Definitely worth buying!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ldtef002 on 11/29/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by ldtef002

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is a stable in my daily makeup routine. I apply in the crease and lower eyelid mixed in with bronzed colors. Looks great on pale skin! Makes all eye shades pop. MAC packaging is always great and their eyeshadows last for months. I order high end cosmetics off of ebay for a discount. Regular price is decent, but I'd rather buy on ebay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mehays on 7/6/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by mehays

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Going out on a limb to say this is my favorite eyeshadow ever!!! And I have a ton of eyeshadows. It's purple, grey, and brown combined. This looks awesome with my green eyes.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whereismymind59 on 6/8/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by whereismymind59

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Such a beautiful purple/grey shimmery colour! This looks great on cooler skin stoned because it is so cool toned. I love pairing this with mystery eyeshadow in the crease...it is such a pretty cool toned eye look. My only problem was when i first bought this i had to realllly dig into the pan to get the colour to come off on my brush. I hate that some mac shadows are like that!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Deanaaap on 5/31/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Deanaaap

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably one of my top 10 MAC eyeshadows, after purchasing saddle and being greatly disappointed I decided to give shale a try. A unique colour, a browny ashy purple goes on the lid and crease would definitely buy again worth every $

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products