Dr. Hauschka Cleansing Clay Mask

4.0

80 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Loess (Clay), Tropaeolum Majus (Indian Cress/Nasturtium) Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch 5/29/09


on 3/3/2015 4:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My acne prone, large pores combination skin with lots of blackheads and congestion did not like this mask. I steamed my face and then applied and waited 15 mins. It totally dried out my skin and did nothing to improve overall look of skin/blackheads and clogged pores look the same. No smoothing effect either nothing. Too drying for me and will not use again.



on 11/30/2014 8:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My all time favorite mask! You can mix it up with whichever cream/essential oil/toner following your mood and skin concerns. This is the only clay mask my skin tolerates, it reduces the appearence of pores and blackheads and leaves the skin fresh, clean and smooth. I leave it on for about 1 hour before removing in the shower.


on 8/29/2014 2:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product based on the good reviews here., but the only thing this mask does is to clog my pores and making my bathroom look like a mess. Don't buy this. It does nothing. Really.


on 12/10/2013 9:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Have been using this for several years and I can really tell a difference when I don't use it regularly. My sensitive, sun-damaged skin gets congested and splotchy and just feels gross. Then I remember the mask and it calms down again. My biggest problem is that I either forget or put it off because it is a bit of a hassle to mix up. I keep a little cereal bowl and teaspoon with it under the sink and it's not rocket science to prepare but if it came ready-to-go, I would probably be a little more regular with its use. No idea what is in it that works so well but prior to Dr. H., I was using Clarins and thought their mask was the deal but this far surpasses. Definitely a HG product.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this mask. I saw visible results after one use: smaller pores, minimized blackheads, balancing and soothing.

I like Dr. H Rejuvenating mask and Soothing Mask also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2013 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is available in refill option so it's like $20 cheaper :p (can store in yr other containers)

I mix this with their toner and leave it for 30mins...u can see the pores getting smaller!

Haha, up side is that I think any clay mask does that + I prefer my Aesop primrose clay mask more teehee. But still this can last real long and you can adjust the consistency of it to your liking. Worth a try when they r on sale xD


on 5/26/2013 12:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a more effective and a less harsh clay mask than drugstore brands e.g. superdrug

Although messy to make, the powder formulation makes for a smoother mask
The tub is long lasting if used once every 2 weeks- nearly a year

i won't repurchase as it BREAKS the bank

But, if skin is extremely oily and impure and all else fails- i'd recommend buying this as a one off and using it before special occasions or for emergency intervention

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2013 2:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had a problem at first with applying too much - if it's not applied in a thin layer I think it has trouble really getting into your pores - but once I mastered the application it worked very well. Makes skin feel extremely clean and soft. I will admit, though, that I do a bit of manual extraction after using it, but I'd do that after any mask or facial treatment. The last time I used this (thirty minutes sgo, ha) I mixed it with toner instead of water and I really loved the results.


on 1/27/2013 8:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

It's just regular clay and costs so much! And honestly, I have tried many clay masks and this one did nothing - even more, I think it did worst. As a teen, I used to have oily/combination skin type, and I used to buy clay masks from pharmacy (blue and white clay), and they were amazing! And so cheap - about 2 USD. Clay masks are great for extracting the purities and dead skin cells, reduce oil, and help with redness. Now my skin type is more normal to dry and I bought little (10g. - 6 USD) Dr. Hauschka Clay Mask (was reading so many great reviews about it). However, it was too drying, it was also a nightmare to rinse it off, my skin was very dry stained afterwards. I do not recomend to use this mask if you have normal to dry skin. This mask should be only used for people with oily/acne-prone or combination skin. Do not leave it on for too long, do not wait until it dries and breaks.
If you want to save some money, do not buy this expensive product when you can get any other clay (or even mudd) mask - it will be the same result, even better. Blue and white clay works amazing!
Another way to use clay masks:
1) Mix it with 1 tsp of honey or 1/2 tsp of coconut/olive oil (it wont be too drying and your skin will feel moisturized), add some turmeric
2) Can add little bit of plain greek yogurt and grated rose petals. Your skin will be clear, toned and moisturized at the same time.


on 12/19/2011 2:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The best mask I have ever used for my oily, acne-prone skin. And I am a pretty lazy person when it comes to weekly routine like masks -- can never remember or even when I do can't be bothered. But Dr H's clay mask's makes my skin feel so good after applying that I will go through the trouble a few times a week just to make my skin happy! Skin feels clean, purified and calmed/soothed. I can imagine my skin thanking me for the extra effort.
On my 2nd refill. The heavy jar actually keeps the powder sterile. Can sometimes be tricky to add the right amount of water to achieve the right consistency.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4196 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2234 Reviews
Back to Top