Miller Harris • Noix de Tubéreuse • Fragrances

rated 3.6(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 4/5/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I had a bottle of this a few years ago and I wound up giving it away because I found it too sweet and cloying. Recently I tried it again and it smells different to me, so either my nose has changed (or my taste) or it's been reformulated. I slightly suspect the latter. I smell a lot of ISO E Super in it, which gives it a sort of silky fuzz... hmm, what do I mean by that... like the Phil Spector wall of sound going on in the background. A fat, rich hum, but no longer sticky sweet. Anyway, aside from all that, it is indeed a lovely tuberose, a touch fresh and green, but mostly lush and creamy, and now my favourite of all the tuberoses out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Brid1 on 8/10/2011 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Brid1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I usually find Tuberose scents quite overpowering. I tried this today, not usually a fan of Miller Harris scents, and I was pleasantly surprised. It is a very mild tuberose, quite creamy and lasts a long time. It is very wearable and doesn't shout, however I wouldn't spend my money on it as I think it would bore me after a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 12/9/2010 2:58:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is like two different perfumes layered on my skin. One layer is slightly bitter violet and milky, sweet coconuts, the other is balmy tuberose and earthy orris. I like the latter, but the violet and coconut do not suit me at all. The drydown is comfortable, soft and creamy, but the rest is too much for me. Medium sillage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SensualSusanna on 8/29/2010 12:02:00 PM more reviews by SensualSusanna

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I so want to find a Miller Harris scent to love! However, this is not it. I've sampled this numerous times (so badly wanting to find a MH scent -- the bottles are gorgeous!) I actually bought a bottle -- lived with it for a few days and ended up swapping it away. . It's silky and pleasant but the fig note kills it for me. It's too sweet! Now, don't get me wrong I love sweet gourmands, but NdT is not a gourmand and is way too sweet for my liking. There is something about fig that makes my teeth hurt. Call me crazy, but the fig screams in this fragrance. The tuberose is well hidden amoung the melange of sweetness and other notes that it's hardly recognizible. Which is why I think so many non-tuberose lovers are fans of this Miller Harris. On a scale of tuberose -- -Fracas (probably my favorite) would be on the far end of high tuberose fragrances, with Noix de Tubereurse on the other end. Gentle fragrance for the shy of tuberose. Enjoy the bottle if this works for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chrystelica on 5/24/2010 10:58:00 AM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Was very surprised to like this one as much as I did!! I can definitely smell the violet and iris butter, that lends a softness, a creaminess to the tuberose. It is calm and if it were a color, it would be lavender, not white. I can see how some people would not like this, it has a kind of soft, musty (in a good way) personal smell that would only work on some. Luckily, it does work on me, it's very nice.
Instead of getting any soapiness at all (I hate soapy) it turns soft and powdery, like a creamy floral powder that would cover some violet petals. Violet does not usually work on me, it turns bitter or sour, but this is softened by enough other things (maybe the amber?) It smells more like lilac, soft and cozy. I might have to get a decant of this at some point. TC is still my favorite, but I can see this being a future HG...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 3/15/2010 12:07:00 PM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A nice tuberose, probably of the most wearable ones on the market. This tuberose is very present, but not so "in your face" as Fracas can be.
Noix de Tuberose has violets and iris that tame it down and makes it more pleasant and wearable. Jasmine and orange blossom give some freshness and femininity at the same time.
A lovely feminine floral with a soft, creamy, vanillic drydown.
On me it turns "soapy" (=read a little generic) therefore I gave it 3 lippies only.
But it is absolutely worth a try.

____________
notes as per Osmoz:

Top notes: Violet, Mimosa

Middle nots: Tuberose, Jasmin, Orange blossom

Base notes: Tonka Bean, ’Iris butter, Amber

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sbksbj on 12/30/2009 11:32:00 AM more reviews by sbksbj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has grown on me over the past few months and I now love it even more. It was very different from what I've been accustomed, which is mostly celebrity and designer scents. I've never fallen in love with a fragrance prior to NdT and it didn't occur to me how alcohol/synthetic some of those scents were until I tried NdT. It was a breath of fresh air from all the cloyingly sweet, sharp and heady fragrances that seem to be so popular these days. NdT's top notes are a bit loud/soapy but it dries down to a natural soft warm white floral with a touch of powder that envelops me and transports me to a more elegant era. I find it to be a modern take on a traditional fragrance, it's just playful enough from being a heavy heady cloying 'old lady' floral. I'm glad I gave Miller Harris a try and I'm looking forward to try her other fragrances, though it seems it won't be until the next time I'm in London.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ctall119 on 12/29/2009 2:13:00 PM more reviews by ctall119

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Let me preface this review by stating that I am a HUGE fan of Fracas as well as ESPC's Tuberose Gardenia (the two perfumes most often compared to this one.)

This one, on me, is cloying, heavy, headache inducing...and not at all similar to the descriptions given below. I get no coconut or fun or sweetness from this. I get a heady (old framented) flower overload mixed slightly with dusting powder and in the drydown I smell books found at consignment shops. The old leather bound books with the moist pages and handwriting in the margins.

This scent is not my cup of tea at all. This perfume is being returned to Sephora ASAP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* freegracer on 10/13/2009 12:44:00 PM more reviews by freegracer

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Miller Harris's Noix de Tubéreuse smells like a perfect combination of Fracas and L'Origan. The opening is tuberose and bubble gum, and then a few seconds later something like coconut emerges. I'm not a fan of super-sweetsie fragrances, but I don't find this stage offputting. It's fun, interesting, short lived and totally inoffensive. What emerges in the middle notes is something that smells very much like L'Origan. There's an oriental vibe here, a nice balance of what smells like heliotrope, a little powder, some violet-like notes, and a bit of amber. The ultimate drydown is basically more of the same. I have no idea what specific consumer MH had in mind for NdT, but I would recommend this for those who love the greats like Fracas and L'Origan, especially. NdT seems to be an homage to these classics. Sillage is subtle, much more so than Fracas.



If I could put a face with Noix de Tubéreuse , it would be Carole Lombard. Like Lombard, NdT has a classic, timeless beauty and an easy glamour. Each is a perfect fit for the other.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 9/4/2009 12:39:00 AM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a nutty and sweet tuberose which gets creamier as it settles, and also I can detect some coconut, especially at the start. I must say though, that a couple hours after applying it's reminding me of Giorgio Beverly Hills, in the sense of that cloying one-note. It's not overpowering, in fact it settles almost to a skin scent, but when I sniff there's nothing rattling my senses, its just like tuberose on top of my skin and not much of interest is going on. Since so many have compared this to Fracas, I must say as much as I am not normally a fan of white florals, I preferred Fracas to this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Miller Harris products

More Fragrances products