The Body Shop • Africa Spa Rich Cocoa Body Balm • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.0(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 everglowing on 2/25/2010 3:00:00 AM more reviews by everglowing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Received this as a gift and I LOVE it! It leaves your skin feeling smoothe and I LOVE LOVE the smell of it. It doesn't fade quickly either. When I run out of this I will be purchasing another!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemis16 on 1/5/2009 7:09:00 AM more reviews by artemis16

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this - it's a got a wonderful scent on my skin and makes feel silky. I'm one of the people who love the texture too. It is very expensive but I still go back to it time and again it's one of my HGs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luvtea on 12/24/2008 8:52:00 AM more reviews by luvtea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
- Moisturise well, leaves skin soft and smooth
- Smells great
- Not sticky, gets absorbs quite fast

Cons:
- Packaging is bad. The balm always get into my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AManDaX on 8/19/2008 4:56:00 AM more reviews by AManDaX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My favourite body cream ever! I love the smell, it is so light yet refreshing, so wish it comes in a fragrance too. I personally LOVE the texture of the balm, it is a lighter easily absorbed balm compared to some of those heavy duty ones. Eventhough the texture is light, it does a great at moisturising! My skin is just soooooooo smooth after I use this. Def repurchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mypsalms on 6/3/2007 8:47:00 AM more reviews by mypsalms

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Hmm.I can see that there are mix review for this product. Most agree that it has a heavenly smell but neither agree nor disagree with the texture it has. For me personally it is a light balm. I found the mango body butter more moisturizing and thicker in texture but to be honest I like the Africa Body balm.It is much easier to apply and absorbed while at the same time it leaves enough moisture on my skin. I can see how it is not the type of moisturizer you bring skiing. But it does more than most lotion out there for hydrating the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monlim on 1/4/2006 8:13:00 AM more reviews by monlim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I would never pay the full price for this, which I think is exhorbitant. I got it 35% off and even though that's still more than I usually pay for body lotion, I think it's reasonable considering the quality. The texture is thick yet light (unlike some of the Body Butters which feel like grease). The scent is what sold me on this. It's a light milk cocoa scent which is not cloying or artificial. The reason this gets a 4 is because I hate the packaging. It's glass so it's breakable and I can never get the clasp off without giving myself a nasty snap on the hand. The packaging looks expensive to make anyway. Why not save on that and make the cream cheaper??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 iluminata on 6/6/2005 8:52:00 AM more reviews by iluminata

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It smells too strong and it aches after half an hour. I only like the packaging. I will not buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* i_darling on 12/2/2004 12:55:00 PM more reviews by i_darling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My least favorite product of the Africa Spa line. Love the scent, but can't get past the texture...just so watery...for the price I want something I can feel. I agree that it softens, but doesn't seem to last to well on my very dry skin. I prefer the hand and foot body butter (super emollient) which I use all over. The packaging doesn't sway me one way or another.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LaurenJ on 10/15/2004 10:48:00 PM more reviews by LaurenJ

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this lotion! The scent, the texture, the moisturizing properties, packaging...it's all good! The scent is light so it doesn't overpower you and the lotion sinks right into your skin. The packaging is gorgeous, not really necessary, but looks great on your vanity or in the bathroom. Expensive, but a splurge worthy item :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jlaper on 2/27/2004 10:10:00 AM more reviews by jlaper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Very nicely scented body balm that does the trick. Too light to use in very cold climates though, as I find the lotion absorbs much too quickly. I love the Africa Spa scent, and I would definately repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products