Pureology • Pure Volume • Shampoo

rated 3.5(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 2girlsNcounting on 6/28/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by 2girlsNcounting

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I made it 5 days with out washing my super oily hair after using this Pureology Volumizing shampoo!
It smells awful. Even my 3yr old told
Me my hair hair stinks.
I usually can barely get 3 days between shampoos because my hair is so oily. Day 2 & 3, my hair is usually in a bun.
But not after I tried this shampoo! I didn't use dry shampoo spray until day 4 & 5. I was amazed
Too bad I can never afford to buy an actually bottle of this. I had a few sample packets.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 itsmefarah on 5/8/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by itsmefarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After reading the reviews, I definitely want to try the OLD formulation of this shampoo, but I'm not sure how to tell if the Ulta I want to buy it from is carrying the old or new formula. Anyone know how to distinguish the bottles? Ingredient list? Any help would be great. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 4/18/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I just got a bottle of this shampoo and I've never used the old formula so I can't compare the two. Maybe its just me, but this barely lathered at all. It felt creamy. The scent reminded me of Yonka skincare products, its kind of strong. I don't think I would purchase again. I prefer Joico KPak.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lenlen9 on 1/24/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by lenlen9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm, not sure if they changed the formula because my new (ish) bottle of this shampoo now leaves my hair flat and tangled and I haven't done anything different nor introduced a different product. I've been using this for a year prior to the bad experience and it has always given my hair volume, bounce, body and shine. Now, I can't seem to get the same results I once did. I'll give it more time and finish up this bottle and then I'll re-assess the situation. For now I'll give it 3 lippies. It was a 5 lippie product before. This shampoo is also on the pricy side so if nothing changes I will have to switch it up and try the other shampoos in the Pureology line.

EDIT: Got a new bottle of this shampoo (no I didn't finish the older bottle) because I was told it was back to the old formula. What a HUGE improvement! My hair is back to being bouncy, voluminous with lots an lots of movement. Yay! Back to being 5 lippies! One good reason for Pureology to follow the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" advice.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 1/3/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Very good shampoo, absolutely love it. It has no sulfates and leaves my hair smooth and "big". I was told to look for zerosulfates instead of sulfate free, as "sulfate free" may still contain different sulfates.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cainca on 10/17/2013 11:38:00 PM more reviews by cainca

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

They changed the formula - it is now drying and makes my hair a knotted, tangled and dry mess. I hate the new formula and will never buy it again. I had LOVED it for years and years. The old formula with the "moisturizing conditioner" was the perfect combo for my fine and slightly oily hair. I see I'm not the only person here upset by the new formula and feeling it is too drying and tangling - maybe they'll change it back. Until then avoid this product. Pureology please change it back!!!.

UPDATE 11/24/2013: I AM TOLD THEY ARE GOING BACK TO THE OLD, ORIGINAL FORMULA ANY DAY NOW.

**Update 12/21/13 -- they're back to the old, original wonderful formula. In fact I think they improved it. Once again this is a great product!!**

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tab1967 on 9/13/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by tab1967

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This new formula is horrible. It tangled my hair so terribly like no other shampoo I have used & I couldn't even get a comb through my hair and I used conditioner. I was so disappointed I emailed Pureology to let them know. I used the old formula for years and loved it. It was my favorite shampoo, I'm really hoping they bring it back , it was non-drying and gave my hair a lot of body.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Camille1944 on 9/1/2013 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Camille1944

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

While I am on a fixed income, this shampoo is this the best I have tried. My hair is old hair and colored and this shampoo gives my hair volume and also I don't have the dry brittle look of older hair that is colored. The Pureology products are pricy but worth it as they give my hair a more youthful appearance and brought back a slight wave to my hair..

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MichelleG7183 on 8/29/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by MichelleG7183

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

NEW FORMULA REVIEW:
I was an avid Pureology user. I have fine, color treated hair with dry ends. This new formulation is so disgusting. As like the other reviews for the new formula, it too made my hair dry, straw-like and tangled. It does make you need to use more conditioner and even that doesn't help. I used to use the Volume shampoo and the hydrate light for my fine, flat, bone straight, highly sensitive to products with any moisture hair, but this new formula is highly drying. Very disappointed and now I have to find a new volume shampoo. BOOO

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 8/7/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This must have been reformulated...and being a huge fan of the line, I am disappointed that my last experience with this product was less than satisfactory. It actually turned my hair into a tangled mess each time I used it, and I'd have to use extra conditioner to get it back to normal. Yuck.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pureology products

More Shampoo products