Redken • Smooth Down [DISCONTINUED] • Conditioner

rated 4.1(150 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Chelseaaaa on 7/26/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by Chelseaaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this conditioner, it's the ONLY one I've found that lets me easily comb through my hair without having much shedding. I have thick curly hair and can't understand who would give this a negative review

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chivis22juan on 8/26/2012 2:04:00 PM more reviews by chivis22juan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I just found this gem...amazing conditioner. I have searched forever for a conditioner that detangles, softens and moisturizes without weight. This is it! Frizz is gone in my long baby fine virgin hair. But guess what??? Redken DISCONTINUED the whole Smooth Down line. Why??? The Smooth Lock sucks. I dont know what is going on because the just ruined the cult fave Anti Snap. The one in the clear blue bottle just makes the ends stick together :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peanutbutterfudgecupcake on 8/5/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by peanutbutterfudgecupcake

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't tell you alone how this works, since I use shampoo and conditioner. But it's a great conditioner, it makes my hair soooooooo soft and silky. But the price isn't great.....trust me you can get something much better. Take my word for it. There are better things in the world than this. It only looked good if I blow dried my hair. If I air dried....the puffiness doubled! And the frizz didn't help either. So for me? This sucked. Will I buy it again? Sadly no. I really wanted to like this product, but I just couldn't....sigh,unless of course I blow dried. I can't guarantee every day I'll have the time you know?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rachelrainbow on 1/4/2012 5:57:00 PM more reviews by rachelrainbow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I would give this conditioner 5 lipsticks if it wasn't for the fact that it makes my scalp itch like hell. After using it for 2 months I can't take it anymore so on the search for another conditioner, as my scalp is so itchy I'm constantly scratching it and it is causing dandruff (eww), it is also making my neck and back itchy from my hair touching it. I've tried using only a tiny amount and only on the ends of my hair and it still irritates me. I must be allergic to something in the formula as I never had this problem with redken all soft.
Asides from that it is the best conditioner I've used for smoothing my hair. My hair is naturally curly, coarse and frizzy and this is the best conditioner for relaxing it and I have barely any frizz when using it. When leaving my hair curly this minimizes frizz yet doesn't weigh my curls down, and when blowdrying my hair straight this conditioner makes it so much easier/quicker to blowdry and then I only have to quickly run my straighteners through my hair and it looks as if I've been to the salon, people are always asking me if I've had my hair done when I straighten my hair after using this. Throughout the day my hair will remain quite smooth although I have to neaten it up a little if I'm going out in the evening. I will say it isn't as moisturising as all soft so my hair gets damaged easier. I wouldn't rebuy but only because of the itching, gutted!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alexanna7 on 12/31/2011 4:18:00 AM more reviews by alexanna7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

smooth down by redken is a verry good conditoner for fine,colored hair.it's got macadamia oil in it.it leaves my hair smoother,shiny,with more volume.i paired this with l'oreal leave in treatment(nutri sleek).verry good conditioner for frizzy hair as well! Love it! Will buy the butter for sure !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lemonz4us on 11/13/2011 7:31:00 PM more reviews by lemonz4us

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Nexxus's Hydra Sleek until i found someone reviewing this so i thought i'd give it a shot. It leave my hair even silkier than the hydra sleek and my hair is much much much easier to straighten. it smells horrible however.... :( but i got used to it. i bought the HUGE bottle from Ulta for about 23 bucks i think it was on sale. A little spendy but i think it's worth it. I will continue to call this my Holy grail conditioner until i find something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hnrenfro on 11/3/2011 1:06:00 PM more reviews by hnrenfro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

for some odd reason this shampoo&conditioner smooths my hair better than the butter treatment weird but it works (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dylla88 on 10/29/2011 1:29:00 AM more reviews by dylla88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This conditioner elimates my drizzy hair and keep the moisture after i blow dry my hair. After i shampoo my hair with the Redken Smooth Down shampoo and i apply the condtioner 5 cm above my hair roots (not to make my scalp too oily). Left it for about 5 min and rinse with cold water. Towel dry and apply Redken Smooth Down Heat Glide then blow dry. Wala! my hair so beautiful and smooth!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Myoung19 on 9/6/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Myoung19

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am not impressed! I usually use All Soft which is great, very moisturizing and doesn't weigh my fine oily hair down at all. Smooth Down made my hair even more frizzy and tangly (i never get tangles in wet hair).

My hair is med-long, dry and color treated and I was kinda shocked at how frizzy and dry it looked after I blow dried it. The smell isn't good or bad. I won't buy this again, will stick with All Soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blondmojo on 6/20/2011 3:50:00 PM more reviews by blondmojo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a good product. I use it about everyday actually.I do not feel that it is too heavy but does just enough to help with the flyaways and frizzies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Conditioner products