Serge Lutens • Douce Amere • Fragrances

rated 3.7(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:34:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Count me in the can't-stand camp. This one was bad on me. I wanted to like this so much more, but the lilied vanilla and woody cinnamon combination was cloying and sticky on me. It almost smelled like licorice and vanilla wood, not too bad, but it was pretty hard to take first on. It softens down as it dries, but it's really too much like vanilla pudding with licorice and cinnamon in it, and it gets a little doughy too. In the end, it's too gourmand, like uncooked pastries, so not in a good way. Had to scrub it off, though it wasn't the worst thing I've ever tried. (There's special words for those scents!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ajblondie on 4/11/2011 11:03:00 AM more reviews by ajblondie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Another really unusual fragrance from Serge Lutens, I did not expect to like this one but I really really loved it, I could not stop smelling my wrist and was gutted when my tester ran out especially as I cant seem to get this perfume in the UK unless I order it from the Serge Lutens site.
I get the sweet and bitter, I especially get the absinthe which is what I thought I would not like about it but I actually love it. I will be buying this fragrance and biting the bullet to get it from the Serge Lutens website.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 3/13/2011 7:08:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: pollen, cinnamon, Tiara blossom, jasmine, lily and vanilla.

This fragrance opens with an unusual accord of sweet, spicy and floral notes. At first I think I see chocolate, but it is all an illusion created by florals along with the vanilla and cinnamon note. In my opinion the name of this fragrance is well-chosen, for this is a collection of counterpoints, a fragile combination of contrasting notes: sweet is juxtaposed to sour, spicy to floral and soft to pungent. As the scent dries down the cinnamon note burns off, leaving the wearer with florals on a vanilla base. Once again the particular interaction of notes comes into play: the sharp quality of the flowers is balanced by the softness of the vanilla. Smelled close the skin the sour notes appear dissonant, but further away from the skin they mix beautifully and thus prove their importance to the whole creation. The dry down is a heavy floral vanilla blend, devoid of any counterpoints. This is a delicate fragrance, sheer but powerful, pleasant to wear and interesting to smell. Lasts for six hours on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wurm on 9/6/2010 10:24:00 PM more reviews by wurm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased my third bottle of Douce Amere from LuckyScent. I own and love other scents but this is the one to which I'm most true. This is the one that prompts men (and women) to say, "Oh, my God, that smells wonderful." On me, it's incredibly long-lasting. I have perfumes which remind me of one another, but I know of nothing else that smells quite like this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 queenofthenile on 7/24/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

What do you get when you combine honey, vanilla and icing with a dash of cinnamon? It's definitely not an unpleasant smell, but I can't imagine spraying this on myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 4/27/2010 7:17:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I love this fragrance. So much so that when I heard it was discontinued I bought three bottles. Its such a unique fragrance, I don't think I'll be able to replace it. :(

I'm not good at describing fragrances and this is quite a complex fragrance so I'm going to be useless.

The listed notes are: Absinthe, cinnamon, anise, lily, jasmine, tiare, tagette, marigold, musk, cedar.

On my skin this becomes a lovely skin ssent, with nice sillage and lasting power. The absinthe IMO is what lifts this perfume from the usual. The balance of gourmand scents, florals and then the more musky notes is perfect in Douce Amere.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 3/8/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

oh, as soon as I have applied this to my skin I was like "eeek..this is Vinegar"!!!!!
Indeed it has this acid start... Stunning how all Serge Lutens are able to strike me with strange notes at the beginning and then make me change my mind soon after.
No worries. The vinegar note is just the first seconds and is soon calms down. then Douce Amère is the softest frag of all it is a stunning soft floral, very cozy and warm.
You can smell cinnamon, tiaré, jasmine and a lot of vanilla, hence the sweetness.
Then there is this note of l'absinth - I like it for its powderiness and freshenes at the same time.. Very well balanced... a lovely skin scent.
I do not get the "Bitter" part (douce amere means sweet & bitter), to me it's just sweet & soft.
Average staying power, not a lot of sillage (stays close to skin).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Citruss on 2/5/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by Citruss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Since many members have reviewed this scent so eloquently & in depth. I was bit hesitant to delve into writing about it. But, when I came across fleeting_fancy's review, I thought that I must write to say that, that is exactly how I feel about this scent too. " This smells like forbidden love ~ sexy and innocent at the same time." " This is Heaven meets Hell in a bottle" I Agree 110%!
I walked into Nieman's to smell test SL line and this is what I ended up choosing.
The sales woman tried to persuade me to some sandalwood scent from Creed or even that new scent just released by Balenciaga.. but, once I smelled SL line overall--no going back. SL scents, to me, had more depth, layers, complexity and I will add the Renaissance visual aesthetic term : " Chiaroscuro". I get bored with scents very quickly due to many being not complex enough. This one does have that multifaceted quality that emits different tone and depth. Anise part disappears and dry down is very creamy, delicate and feminine--like spring rain or smell of the most beautiful flesh being soaked in it !. I had to have it and bought the bottle on the spot. Really happy to have discovered this scent. ***EDIT*** 2/10/2010: I have returned the bottle this past weekend to Neiman's due to allergic reaction I had to it. My right eye got swollen and watery. I didn't have this reaction to other fragrance that I've used in the past so, quite disappointed as I really, really love this smell!!!! If you're fine with it then wear it because, it really is a great scent.
I ended up going for Aveda's Personal Blends #15 ( water element) instead; with clove and anise, it felt comforting to me and best of all, no reactions/ allergies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurenmillie on 5/5/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by laurenmillie

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

okay 2nd review for review week!! So this is my choice...I LIKE DA--I cannot call it a great love....it is too gentle and soft for that. It turns into a beautiful skin scent on me - a very gentle oriental. I would NEVER tell Christopher Sheldrake (bow to the master) how to make a perfume--that would be like me telling a constrution worker how to build a house--so beyond me!! BUT if I did I would tweak it this way--turn UP the Absinthe turn UP the anise, cedar, and lily-turn UP the noise!!!

I guess it is just a little to soft for me...I like em loud and bold--like me!! This is perfect for a very hot summer day when you feel like anything close to heavy will wrap you in its scent claws and choke you. So notes are as follows Absinth, anise, cinnamom, lily, jasmine, tiare, toyette, marigold, musk, cedar

I would said I would repurchase but I will never run out because i dont really use it a ton--so it is all relative!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silaira on 4/7/2009 7:54:00 AM more reviews by Silaira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is a great cosy scent.
It starts with a tard note that soon mellows down to a sweeter yet sharp oriental fragrance.
I get licorice, anise, wood and absinthe. And a milky finishing touch I simply adore.
Good staying power - about 4 hours on my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products