Biologique Recherche • Lotion P50 • Toners

rated 4.3(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dundada on 7/1/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

My review is for P50 1970. I have only been using it for three to four weeks so far at the time of this review. It is strong and it definitely works because of the phenol in this formula. I bought P50 1970 instead of the newer formula of P50 because I wasn't sure whether the newer formula of P50 would exfoliate effectively enough and I didn't want to waste any money!

I have sensitive, oily and acne prone skin and when I kept using P50 1970 in the first two weeks the fingertips of the hand I use to apply this with to my face kept peeling like a lizard and even though that has stopped those fingertips still feel like they were buffed really smoothly by something therefore something about P50 1970 really does work.

I would say that I made the mistake of using this twice a day, first in the mornings and then in the evenings of course, which was a huge mistake and exfoliated my face a little too much. So please don't make my mistake LOL : ) That exacerbated things so now I use P50 1970 in the evenings only and use First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads during the mornings for the moment.

After I use P50 1970 along with Biologique Recherche Creme Dermopurifiante that's when my skin really started to improve by leaps and bounds, feel smoother and acne started to clear up and pimples dried up and shrunk rather quickly! Oh I was so happy and I still am! : )

I use P50 1970 once a day in the evenings, Biologique Recherche Complexe Iribiol serum twice a day, Clarins Lotus Face Treatment Oil twice a day and Creme Dermopurifiante twice a day now and I use Biologique Recherche Masque Vivant twice a week. I'm glad that I found out about this brand for this exfoliator but especially for the Creme Dermopurifiante. : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sklocker1 on 6/23/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Sklocker1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the P50 for almost 4 weeks now and I have to say I am very happy with it. I have done a lot of research on the lotion and I was prepared for the break-outs some have experienced. During my first week I literally only used 3-4 drops (I am not exaggerating, literally only 3-4 drops) and only during the night. I wanted to ease my skin in and potentially avoid the heavy break outs. Every application sting and burned in a good way but didnt last very long. The second week I started to wet the cotton pad with a few drops of water and then added about 6 drops of the P50; at this stage i was still only using it at night. Within the first two weeks I got a few pimples here and there during the day but they would disappear by the next morning. I also noticed my complexion was getting smoother and even. Sometimes I also felt my skin getting too rough and it looked like my skin was cracking like porcelain. This was easily fixed by my daily moisturiser. The third week I started using the P50 lotion morning and night, wetting half of the cotton pad. I didn't react any different to the last two weeks. I was definitely seeing a huge difference, I was confident to go to work without foundation and only used concealer under my eyes and nose. Now when I do wear make up I can't wait to take it off and also don't find myself as pretty with it on. Honestly, I never have been this confident about my skin and I will definitely continue with the lotion. Many also mentioned the horrible smell - I didnt find it too bad at all. The smell doesnt last on the skin and disappears after a few seconds and definitely when you apply moisturiser. I also noticed the lotion stings stronger when it touches new pimples - this gives me the feeling that it is really foghting against all the grime underneath and clearly this must be the reason why the pimples disappear over night! Conclusion: i feel this product working and I can see it in the results I have achieved so far. To others about to start with this I strongly recommend easing in the way I did but be prepared for the worst none the less (every one reacts differently). My verdict right now: yes I would repurchase again and I cant imagine not ever using it in the future!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 szack on 6/16/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by szack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is amazing. Granted, the smell is awful but my skin looks amazingly better after using consistently for one month. Pores measurably smaller and skin glowing. A definite must for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ametrine on 4/25/2014 3:34:00 PM more reviews by ametrine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love it. Miracle product. I don't care if i have to save up monthly for it to keep re- purchasing it forever and ever.
(this is the formula without phenol btw, I live in canada and the original formula is outlawed here or something)

For reference, I'm 30 with pcos so i've struggled with comedonal acne since age 12.
used retin-a for a long time but it made my skin too sensitive. tried various salicylic acid/benzoyl peroxide concoctions over the years but they also dried me out and were counter productive in the end. Eventually i stopped it all, no exfoliation, and my skin just looked blah.

I've decided to take control of my skin now since my wedding is in three months so...knowing a bit about this company i took the plunge.

I'm on bcp now so the breakouts overall aren't as bad..but, soon coming off that and expect things to get much worse as they always do when i stop the pill.

Ive also tried clarisonic, glycolic acids of various strengths, as high as 15%, and various scrubs but for some reason the oily/acne factor in my skin also makes it sensitive to anything abrasive. I'll always break out more the week following a glycolic treatment or scrub so i've stopped using them.

Amazingly i never had the purge with this product. (And i know all about those, my two month nightmare purge from retin-a will haunt me forever)
I spray a cotton pad with avene thermal water and started off with 2-3 drops a night. Now i'm up to 5-6.
It's only been 3 weeks or so but my skin looks and feels completely different.
it's actually soft to the touch.. its more uniform looking. the pores are smaller. complexion looks brighter. less dull.
Yes, i still breakout but, if i leave the blemish alone, it will go away in less than half the time and like others mentioned, its like it almost comes out on its own and theres barely a mark left behind indicating that anything was there.

if i knew lactic acid was so effective i would have used this stuff years ago.

I had tried BR creme dermopurifiante a few years back but it wasn't in conjuction with this and i felt that it clogged my pores. Maybe the trick is to stick with this line only.. i may try it again with the p50.

For now i use this at night and the creme VIP O2 (i wish i had looked at the price tag before i agreed to buy it...$180, people...that's right.. no typos there)
That creme is also great, i use it in the morning and it keeps my face comfortable, less oily. i've tried a lot of different moisturizers and they either feel too heavy for my oil production factory or they moisturize my cheeks but around my nose and lips still feels tight and dry.
That creme just works the way a creme is supposed to..
I also bought the masque vivant yesterday and tried it today and boy, was it ever stinky. they weren't lying..
but i digress..
anyway, if regular scrubs haven't worked for you or you just want nicer looking skin, use this people.
i only leave reviews for things that i feel people should know about because they're that great.
A+.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vintagenests on 4/20/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by vintagenests

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the queen of exfoliating toners and priced accordingly. I believe I paid 95 USD for my bottle. That said, I have used it daily for six weeks and it is about one-fifth gone. This should easily last me six months or more, so I can justify the price. It is indeed strong - I actually feel an uncomfortable burning sensation depending on my skin's condition - and it does the job I need it to do. It has been the most significant addition to my skincare regimen ever because I can actually see a noticeable difference from using it. I use it after my second cleansing in the evening - once a day. The smell is hideous - an awful, sour smell that makes you want to seal the used cotton pad in a Baggie before tossing it - but it doesn't deter me from giving it five lippies. This is my HG toner/exfoliator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glimmermoon on 3/18/2014 12:17:00 AM more reviews by glimmermoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is AMAZING! I cannot say enough about it. I have been using this along with the other Biologique Recherche products for a year now and my skin has been completely transformed! I suffer from mild acne along with sensitivity, so it is extremely hard for me to find products that help with the acne that my skin can tolerate, but this is amazing and I will never use anything else again!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Polo123 on 2/11/2014 7:51:00 AM more reviews by Polo123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought it reading the reviews, it's my 5th day today. It has not done anything for me. Did I just receive bad product or wt? It made my skin lil red for initial one or two min. After application but did not exfoliate at all; well may be because I have been using Retin A for last 7 to 8 months. My skin is acne prone, n I stopped having acne since I started using clarisonic but I have 3 new active breakouts since I started using p50 lotion. I didn't use my retin a with p50 first 3 days as it says not to use retinoic acid products with it but last two days I used retin a after. P50 n it even didn't exfoliate or irritate. It didn't dry out my skin at all in fact I felt little oily after application. Does this happen to anyone? Does any one have any suggestion for me? I really wanted this product to work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zombie_candy on 1/23/2014 11:26:00 AM more reviews by zombie_candy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had originally decided to wait 3-4 months before posting a review but kept putting it off and now it's about 7 months--which is not a bad thing. Please note that I use the old P50 formula. This has been nothing short of a miracle for my skin, which has always been dominated by monthly cystic acne, clogged pores and small/medium acne all around. I remember taking a picture of my face with foundation in natural sunlight a month before I started. The texture of my skin was so rough looking. Endlessly bad skin is something I've been working my entire life to get past and I'm almost 30. When I got my hands on P50, I tried keeping in mind that there may be a "purging" phase--a concept that I'm on the fence about subscribing to. I started slowly because the forumla was strong. Maybe every 3 days for the first week, the 2nd week I did every other day. By the third week I had 2 new cysts on my cheek. At this time, I had also switched my foam cleanser to a milk cleanser and started using a flannel to wipe it off. I stopped using scrubbing products altogether. I also had switched my BC pill. I would say the "purge" period lasted about 2 months. By the third month it was clearing up. I encountered less and less monthly cysts around my period (I'm also sure the change in BC helped as well). My skin became so smooth, it was like I was looking at someone else's face in the mirror. Since I'm tan, I have so much acne pigmentation--those take a really long time to go away--and scaring on my chin from all the cystic abuse over the last 12 years. In fact, the pigmentation of the first 2 cysts on my cheek from when I started P50 are still there--more faint--but still there and it's 7 months later. I had also started incorporating more of BR's products. I also use the Lait VIP 02 cleanser, the Serum Placenta, Masque Vivant (at least 3 times a week) and Creme Dermopurifiante. I honestly cannot live without this stuff. I've been lazy once or twice for a day or two and I immediately see a difference. I don't mind the smell or the way it tingles, as long as it's keeping my awful skin at bay, it's all good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sejoseph110 on 12/26/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by sejoseph110

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I cannot begin to tell you how much this product has saved my face. I have been using this for about 8 years now. I used to get at least five new breakouts a day. I went to the dermatologist, but whatever the doc gave me made it so much worse. I didn't think that was even possible! My face just plain hurt it was so awful. Eventually, my mom suggested I get a facial. I was a little hesitant because of the cost. Now I think facials are the best, and I got so much more information from that experience than I ever did with the stupid dermatologist. With this product, I finally have clear skin. I do use other products that I was recommended, but I really do feel like P50 is the clear reason why my skin looks so great. It's not cheap, but I think it's worth it's weight in gold. Please, please try it, but do make sure you ease yourself into it.

I only wish I had tried it earlier.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hermanspottypants on 12/1/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by Hermanspottypants

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Theres been a lot of discussion about exfoliating acid toners in the beauty blogs lately. I only wish I'd been in the know eons ago.
Caroline Hirons thank you!

This is really one of those products that I wish I had access to when I was a teenager with my oily thick bumpy skin that made me feel self conscious and awkward. I hated my shiny porous face. Its a product range I wish more people knew about and could afford and have access to.

I now have combination skin and have been around the block and back trying so many brands of skin care....see my other BR reviews.

P50 is all that it is hyped up to be. It is majestic. For me it is a wonder product. It is frighteningly scary how rapid the results are. 2 days? really? yeah. Not even a full skin cycle of 28-30 days. Just 2 days.

Disbelief. Im such a hard one to please. I regret that I didn't find it sooner. And feelings of annoyance. I've been paying a lot of money for underperforming skin care the last 28 years. I feel very hard done by.

BR is brilliant. It is haute couture in effectiveness. And I am lucky enough to live a 2 minute walk from one of only two salons in Dublin stocking it.

I do not have the 1970 as apparently the phenols are banned in the EU. It does not smell very bad relative to other products in the BR line. It smells a bit like tangy raw onion mixed with hydrochloric acid. The smell does not last on the skin.

My skin goals are: to reduce the size of my pores, to reduce the amount of blackheads, to have less bumpy thick looking skin on face and neck, and to reduce shine in the T zone.

My shine initially increased but everything else is improving rapidly. I am using a BR cleanser, moisturizer and mask as well as P50.

At some point I will experiment with an Alpha H cleanser and moisturizer...just don't tell my beautician this!!


6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Biologique Recherche products

More Toners products