Biologique Recherche Lotion P50

4.4

110 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Purified water (Aqua), Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Usnic Acid, Witch Hazel extract (Hamamelis Virginiana), Myrrh extract (Commiphora Myrrha), Myrtle extract (Mytrus Communis), Onion extract (Allium Cepa), Sage extract (Salvia Hispanica), Ascorbic Acid, Niacinamide, Polysorbate 80 (&) Sulphur, Phenol (banned in some countries so absent in the product there).


on 9/4/2015 7:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

LOTION P50:

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Lactic Acid, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Citric Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Magnesium Chloride, Malic Acid, Vinegar (Acetum), Phytic Acid, Salicylic Acid, Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Rumex Acetosa Leaf Extract, Myrtus Communis Extract, Commiphora Myrrha Resin Extract, Allium Cepa (Onion) Bulb Extract, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/Leaf Oil, Sulfur, Sorbitol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate.



LOTION P50W:

INGREDIENTS: Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Propylene Glycol, Lactic Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Magnesium Chloride, Malic Acid, Vinegar (Acetum), Phytic Acid, Citric Acid, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract, Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Capsicum Frutescens Fruit Extract, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Sulfur, Allantoin, Sodium Salicylate, Serine, Urea, Sorbitol, TEA-Lactate, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Benzoate.



LOTION P50V:

Water (Aqua), Gluconolactone, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Lactic Acid,
Ethoxydiglycol, Vinegar (Acetum), Magnesium Chloride, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Phytic Acid, Spongilla Lacustris Spicule Extract, Yeast Extract (Faex Extract), Cochlearia Armoracia (Horseradish) Root Extract, Capsicum Frutescens Fruit Extract, Juglans Regia (Walnut) Seed Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract, Sulfur, Sodium Salicylate, Salicylic Acid, Sorbitol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Metabisulfite, Sodium Benzoate.



on 9/1/2015 5:54:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

OK I wanted to give this one month of use before I posted a review. All I can say is - OMG. :)
Where have you been my whole life? Using the version WITHOUT phenol.

My skin is finally, in my mid 50's, starting to look even and clear. It's an odd product. Stings. Forms a layer on the skin. Can turn skin red at first, but the outcome - is worth it.

Never seen my skin look like this. Ever. Makes me want to try their other products. I purchased the largest size, I would say with twice daily use it will last 6-7 months. $100 well spent!

THANK YOU ALL for the reviews, you helped me give this a try!


on 8/26/2015 10:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the P50 1970 version (with phenol). The things you've heard about this are probably true - it smells like carmex/throat spray, it tingles slightly upon application, and it's fantastic at exfoliating skin. It's unlike an other exfoliator I've used, where I had to trade off between effectiveness and gentleness. (For example, Paula's Choice 2% BHA gel was extremely gentle but wasn't strong enough to tackle my more stubborn clogs; Glytone Rejuvenate Exfoliating Lotion Step 3 with 17% free acid value is incredibly strong and obliterates all of my clogs within 2 uses, but also obliterates my skin barrier). P50, used once a day at night, seems to get rid of and prevent almost all clogs for me, but somehow doesn't disrupt my skin barrier.

It also has an interesting ingredient list (like many other Biologique Recherche products) that is a bit harder for me to understand than most products from the department store/pharmacy. I'm not sure what makes it so effective yet gentle. The phenol should be irritating, the acetic acid (like plain ol' white vinegar) isn't a widely used cosmetic exfoliant, the amounts of glycolic acid and salicylic acid seem scant compared to other products (judging from their position on the ingredient list), and most confusing of all, the niacinamide is in an acidic formulation but somehow doesn't cause flushing for me. Long story short, looking at the ingredient list, I don't get it, but somehow it works!

If you have combination/oily skin that is clog-prone and pretty resistant, giving this a try might be worth the cost.


on 8/8/2015 10:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Background - I have combo skin, prone to clogs and mild breakouts. And recently some ugly hormonal chin breakouts, due to trying to conceive.

I first started with the P50 1970. It did a decent job, but I wasn't overwhelming impressed by the results. The numbness from the phenol was an entertaining side effect, though.
Now that I'm trying to get pregnant, I've moved on to the regular P50 twice a day. This time I'm very impressed! My skin's been pretty darn clear, minus those hormonal suckers. It definitely stings a bit upon application, whereas the phenol version didn't at all. But, the results are worth it for me. It's pricey, but worth a shot if you're in pursuit of clear, happy skin.
The smell is something to note. I don't find it repulsive, but I dig the smell of vinegar. Either way, it's really not extremely vinegary to me and it doesn't seem to linger on the skin.


on 6/17/2015 9:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This. Toner. Is. Everything! It's has completely changed my skin. I can't live without it now. I order it from a spa in Montreal, so I have to time my orders do I'm not without it for even a day ;) It exfoliates beautifully, clears any congestion, and doesn't dry me out.


on 6/15/2015 10:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have oily/dehydrated, Acne/clog prone, and sensitive skin! But I don't seem sensitive to acids.

I clog easily from my own sebum since it is very sticky. I have mild adult acne, but I hate having any acne period. I am also a "picker" and have gone through a lot of work to try and stop. I drink no less than Eight 8oz glasses of water a day, usually though I drink more like 10-12. Exercise 4-5 times a week. Washing off any makeup product before a workout, and washing off all sweat after when I shower. I have a laundry list of food intolerances so I have a very strict healthy diet for my genetic autoimmune disease. I am pale, but not the palest. I scale somewhere between NC 7-15 depending on the time of year.

I am sensitive to Silicone and silicone derivatives. I tend to clog very easily from heavy waxes and oils. I cannot touch anything with Wheat protein in it. My skin doesn't seem to like anything heavy in Alcohol.

I have found some products that work for me.
I am not too sensitive to acids apparently, though I thought I would play it safe with this product.

My routine:
Morning:
On dry skin, massage cream Derma-e glycolic wash, rinse
Pat dry
Tone with biologique recherche lotion p50v
2% Paula choice liquid
Pat on Hada Labo Tokyo Replenishing Hydrator mixed with a pea sized amount of BP 2.5%

Night:
To remove makeup, flax seed oil massaged into dry skin let sit 3-5 minutes, wipe of with warm damp cloth.
Double cleanse, Massage cream Derma-e glycolic wash Pat dry
Pat dry
Tone with biologique recherche lotion p50v
2% Paula choice liquid
Pat on Hada Labo Tokyo Replenishing Hydrator mixed with a pea sized amount of BP 2.5%
I usually do 2 masks during "that time of the month" week.
Glycolic acid peal at 40% or Lactic acid at 7%


4 weeks ago, I order BR P50v (which is milder that the P50) WITHOUT phenol.
The above shows how I fit it into my routine. I put it on first, right after washing and patting my skin dry. I apply it to a piece of shi cotton and wipe all over my face. The dispenser is the same dropper bottle type as PC 2% liquid, so it is easy to use and control.

This product smells exactly like vinegar. I don't find it unpleasant, but it does make me want chips.

First few uses I felt the tingle, but after that, my skin didn't tingle any more.
I wouldn't say this product does nothing. But I think I might have better results with the Stronger/full strength P50 version. The P50v is milder. P50v already contains some BHA, but I personally didn't find it strong enough to replace using PC BHA 2% liquid.

Prior to using BR P50v was still struggling with minor clogs around the temples and hair line, still struggling with flakes around my mouth and nose, as well as surface redness. I would definitely say this product has helped with my skins surface redness as well as allowing that natural glow to my skin return.

I was hoping this product would allow me to stop using BP. However I have not found that to be the case. I still need both a stronger BHA and BP in my routine to keep my skin cyst and clog controlled.

I will not purchase P50v again, but I will purchase the strong version, P50, to see if it will be of more use.

I find the Price of this product rather unpleasant. 1.7 oz for $27.00. But I have used about 1/5 of the bottle in 4 weeks. So it should last me another 4 months or so.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a believer. I've been using generic tretinoin for over 2 years now - I do love tretinoin for its PIH-fading and skin-evening properties, but dryness was something I constantly fought, even in the warmer months. I also could never quite keep my hormonal acne at bay with it. P50, on the other hand, is a game-changer. I use the full strength version, twice a day, and I find it treats my skin while balancing its moisture levels. My skin is the clearest it has ever been - seriously. For the first time in 10 years, I feel comfortable wearing absolutely no makeup on my face. I will never not be without this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2015 2:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used P50V for 6 months last year and remember liking it but it didn't become a HG product until this year. I woke up one day this spring and my forehead was COVERED with closed comedones even though I hadn't changed anything in my skincare routine or diet. I whipped out this baby after trying multiple acne products and toners such as the FAB radiance pads to no avail and this cleared everything up within 2 weeks.

Now my forehead is completely clear and I will definitely repurchase. I'll probably try the regular P50 next time I run out of the P50V.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2015 10:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So Iím getting married and for a few months I started using a few bit more stuff on my face than usual. I donít know what it was that i used that i began to have more acne than ever, and instead of getting a much better complexion, my skin was becoming dryer and dryer, plus my skin tone didnít look at all even.

Last month I had my bachelorette party. My friends took me to the beach which meant a lot o sun and of course no sleep among other matters, so you can imagine the state of my skin after this.

So basically my skin was left in state of emergency; I remembered 2 years ago I had wonderful skin and I was using the P50 by Bilogique recherche, i donít think i even stopped to notice then how wonderful this product was, basically cause I didnít have so many issues to begin with and i used it only once per day. however now with all the nervousness of the moment, so many different products which sometimes itís worse the remedy than the actual issue in itself, my skin is reflecting the tension, so started to use the P50 again but twice a day as it is recommended, i donít think it has been more than 4 weeks since i started and I am amazed as how i have returned not only to normal looking but somewhat great skin in this short time. i still have a long way to go, but definitely will continue using the P50 because it is definitely showing excellent results.

The only issue i see with this product is that it does sting a bit first 2 or 3 minutes i put it on, and i really dont enjoy the smell that much, however all in all its saving my skin.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2015 9:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Where to even begin...? How can one even convey the amazing-ness that is this product?

Let me put it this way: P50 is a product definitely deserving of its cult status.

I've been using this for about 4 months on my dry/dehydrated/hormonal acne-prone skin and the difference has been remarkable. As many of you know, having dry yet acneic skin is a really troublesome combination to treat - many acne fighting products (such as BP) are simply too drying/sensitising for my skin and often make the problem worse. Not P50 though!

Since using it my skin has been so much more balanced - very few cystic pimples and a huge reduction in the annoying little under the skin lumps/blackheads. The few cystic pimples I do get seem to disappear much quicker and don't seem to scar as easily/there's definitely been an improvement in older scars. As an added bonus, my skin is no longer flaky and tight (in part because of the exfoliating action of the product but also because I think my other products are probably absorbing better now) and the texture is just generally better.

I've used many other BHA/AHAs/acid toners in the past and nothing else really compares for me. However, full disclosure: it's not all smooth sailing from the beginning, it is a product that has to be persevered with. As many other reviewers have mentioned, there is a purging stage which is pretty standard with active ingredients like acids. Whatever you do, don't stop using it when this inevitably happens. Things will improve around the 3-4 week mark (the life cycle of a skin cell is on average 28 days so you need to give it time to work) so don't get disheartened like I did - you'll just have to start all over again. The second time around I found building up usage slowly helped reduce the purging a lot. Use it every other day or dilute it by dampening the cotton pad with water/thermal water and always start from the neck/chest and move up towards the face. Don't wipe, dab gently (almost like a tapping motion). Buy good quality cotton pads/rounds so you don't over-exfoliate (I like Shiseido Facial Cotton). Eventually you can build up to using it full strength, twice a day which is where I'm at now and am really starting to see the benefits.

Overall, this is without a doubt a HG product for me. There is no way I would ever be without it, which is saying something because it's hideously difficult to get in Australia and I work in skincare so I have a bevvy of other 'similar' products (again, nothing REALLY compares) at my fingertips.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Biologique Recherche Products

image

Lotion P50

110 reviews
Back to Top