L'Oreal Hydrafresh cleanser for normal to dry skin

3.5

58 reviews

56% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/30/2014 7:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love the refreshing scent of this product. It lathers nicely on my face and after washing it off, my face felt nice and clean. However, I went through 2 tubes of this product before I decided that it's time to switch to another brand altogether.

I did not notice it at first but after some time of using this cleanser, I realized that my skin gets dry and flaky after I got out of the shower, especially my cheeks and my forehead. I have dry skin from the start but this Hydrafresh range is supposed to make my skin feel hydrated of which, it failed, in my opinion.

I work an 8-hours shift job so by the end of my shift, my T-zone is extremely oily. The body's natural way to compensate the dryness: produce more oil. I know I should use creams/moisturizers for my dry skin but I used the Hydrafresh mask-in-lotion(which is another review, altogether) that helps with my flaky skin but not my shiny T-zone.

Overall, I think the Hydrafresh cleanser doesn't really live up to it's name: sure, it makes my skin feel fresh but not so much on the hydration though.



on 12/8/2010 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I adore the subtle, fresh lemony scent and thick creamy texture. However, this cleanser is very drying, despite being supposedly formulated for normal to dry skin. Even when I had oilier skin, it made my face feel very tight after cleansing. Over time, it led to flakiness and more oiliness because it was too stripping. Would not repurchase or recommend.


on 4/27/2009 11:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Another staple item in my beauty regime. I've been using this for a few years now. I usually will fall for some fancy commercials and stray to other products but find myself liking this one the best. I have oily T zone and dry cheeks. It leaves my skin feeling cleaned, tight and refresh (a little dry on the cheeks and forehead but I moisturize after cleansing anyhow).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've switched over to this from l'oreal's ideal balance for combo skin, b/c it's super cold here now, and it was drying me out a bit too much. This is for norm/dry skin, but if you ask me, it's probably useable by anyone that's not super dry. I'm very oily in the t-zone, but dry in the cheeks. This is wonderful. The smell is just heavenly-I remember using this back when they had a hydrafresh gel cleanser about 10 years ago (which they sadly discontinued). I'm much less oily now and my skin behaves, so this is great. So cheap, smells wonderful, simple no nonsense packaging. I love L'oreal cleansers!


on 10/21/2007 11:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product because over the past year my skin has suffered major changes. It went from normal with oily t-zone to normal with dry cheeks. The products I was using before weren't working for my new skin, they were stripping it of moisture to a point where it got painful. My skin was so dry that you could see tiny cracks when I smiled. After going to the derm a couple of times my skin got better, so now I have been trying out products for dry skin, because every other thing is just too painful. This product works very well, it cleans wonderfully, but it does leave my skin feeling tight and dry. I have to use a heavy moisturizer after. I will finish my tube but won't be repurchasing.


on 10/16/2007 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have always used expensive skincare but have now switched to cheaper brands on the basis that no sun, no smoke and no crash-diets are the most effective skincare. And lots of sleep. Anyway, this cleanser is as good or better than any expensive one I've tried - including a La Prairie cleanser which was the same kind of thing as this, a foaming cleanser in a tube. It cost 33 British pounds 8 years ago, so that would be almost $70! It did nothing. This humble $5.99 product is as good or better. Skin is beautifully clean and never left feeling tight. Lovely fragrance and you only need a tiny bit - the tube is going to last forever!


on 12/30/2006 12:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

While I use and love most L'Oreal products, this one is horrible for my skin. Hydrafresh for Normal to Dry Skin and yet every time I used it my face felt immediately tight and dry.

At first I thought it was just my skin, but after reading the other posts, I am confident that it is the product. I have normal skin with minimal dryness on my cheeks. I use L'Oreal Face Cream daily successfully so I thought this cleanser would work; it doesn't, at least not for me.


on 8/31/2006 4:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this my sophomore year of college. It smelled good, but it burned the hell out of my eyes!


on 7/16/2006 3:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this cleanser. I have dry skin that just about everything irritates. I have had no problems with irritation or redness at all which is so rare for me. The scent is refreshing (someone noted it smells like sugared lemons and that seems the perfect description). It leaves my face clean and soft and not dried out. It also rinses off much more easily than most cream cleansers and I have not had any problems with it burning my eyes. **Update 9/18/06: Dropping it down to 4 stars as it began to be drying after a few weeks of use. I Think it will be great for summer but a little too drying for me for winter. Passed it on to my husband who likes it.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this in winter when the skin on my cheeks gets really dry and flaky. It's pretty gentle, but strong enough to get makeup off (NOT waterproof eye makeup, mind you), and it doesn't dry out my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top