Tarte • Cheek Stain in Blushing Bride • Blush

rated 4.2(254 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 shamrockquinn on 9/20/2013 6:24:00 AM more reviews by shamrockquinn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Beware- contents can melt in case over time and spatter onto clothes/s and surfaces when opened. They don't call it 'stain' for nothing! This happened to four of mine - not just one. Contacted the company, but they would not support product or send replacement since products were 2-3 yrs old. Pretty shortsighted, IMO. I'm not buying these again, though I liked them a lot at first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 9/10/2013 7:50:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I first received this as a free sample. I never would have picked up this purple tube other wise. But when you apply Blushing Bride (neutral to cool toned), it isn't purple. It is a soft berry tone. This berry tone can skew to a soft pink hue if applied lightly or be applied more intensely for a full on berry tone. I can wear it with any of my cooler toned lipsticks (pinks, berries, purples, plums, fuschias, etc.) I am sure I could make this work with some warmer tones because as I mentioned, when I apply it lightly it comes off as almost a pink. BTW, the reason I think Blushing Bride is a perfect name for this, because this gives you that wedding night glow ;) I also love how these cheek stains can give you that inner glow. I would highly recommend these stains to those in the over 50 club. I think you will be impressed at the soft glow these provide.

FYI - I usually use Blushing Bride in the Fall/Winter months and then Tipsy (neutral to slightly warmer toned) in the Spring/Summer months. I am a NW20 with almost black hair & brown eyes.

APPLICATION TIP: As with most make up I apply (that isn't a powder) I have found a the Tarte Cheek Stains apply best with a moist sponge. I have a small spray bottle I keep with my make up (filled with filter water) that I spray gently onto my sponge to moisten it. If it is too wet, I will dab it on a tissue. Then I swipe across the Tarte Cheek Stain & dab on my cheeks going up along the cheek bone. This method gives me perfect, soft, even, flawless application every time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PixiewithSticks on 12/5/2012 8:02:00 PM more reviews by PixiewithSticks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I bought this because the color looked like it would be nice on me and I wanted to try this cheek stain stuff. For me, this was only so-so. When you first put the color on it looks a little heavy but you can blend it out and it will be okay. However, the color does not last all day. For me, the best way to wear this seems to be over a BB cream or tinted moisturizer. I can either built up to a little too dark and then use a power to "set" the color (and also take some of the color away) or just plan to re-apply later in the day. I do'nt know it's my oily skin or what but these only last about an hour or two on me and I cannot reapply after I have a foundation on. This might be good for the gym or somewhere you want just a little "something" but don't want to wear makeup to but was not for me - in general. Maybe perfect for new moms as well who won't have time for a beauty routine?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RaeRae2 on 6/26/2012 6:41:00 AM more reviews by RaeRae2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm really not understanding the hype on these cheek stains. I bought two of them - Blushing Bride, Full Blossom. First off, the packaging is bad. You have to push it up from the bottom, but there's no way to push it back down without getting it on your fingers and making an indentation in the stain. Also, the color from these lasts all of about 20 minutes on me, and then is faded to nothing. I tried layering and building and all I ended up with was a hot sticky mess. Even if I apply only a thin layer, it never dries completely. It always feel a little tacky and greasy on my cheeks. It does dry down some but not completely. And the fading color that literally dissapears completely after 20 minutes is just not acceptable. These are kind of scented but it's hard to tell. When first applied, the color is extremely vibrant and rich. Almost looks way too heavy. Then it fades and fades until there's nothing left. Just walking around my house in the airconditioning, both colors were completely gone from my cheeks after just a few minutes.


The other problem with these cheek stains is that they do NOT handle any kind of heat at ALL. I left one in my makeup bag, in my car for about 4 hours on a 70 degree day, and it was melted very badly. I opened the cap and sticky red liquid poured everywhere. I used a tissue to blot off all the liquid goo from the top. Then on another ocassion I left it in my car again, but this time for about 1 hour before I remembered it. I ran out and got it - same thing - melted everywhere. Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY THESE IN THE SUMMER TIME AND HAVE THEM SHIPPED TO YOU!!! They will be completely ruined by the time they arrive. Only mail order them in the winter! Ack, total waste.


I use Laura Mercier Creme' Smooth, or Bare Minerals powder foundation and either way, if you apply these over the foundation, they just smear and ball up your foundation, and the gel stick gets coated in a thick layer of foundation that you have to try to clean off.


The other thing - if you have sensitive/acne prone skin, these cheek stains are a bad bad deal. I have very mild acne and can handle a lot of different products on my face without any problem, but these broke my skin out horribly. Undoubtedly because of the thick layer of sticky jelly grease that suffocates your skin.


I love the Tarte clay blushes and wish I'd never bought these cheek stains.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 4/23/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

You know when you have a good night with that special someone and you go look in the mirror afterwards and you are glowing and your cheeks are flushed and it is the sexiest thing ever?? Well, this is the closest thing I've found to that!! Enough said!, I wanted to hate this. I thought $30 is crazy expensive, and I'm not into the "natural" look. I want it to look like I'm wearing makeup! Needless to say, I was wary of this "natural looking" cheek stain. But, I am absolutely IN LOVE with this!!! This color is very close to how I naturally blush with a little bit more berry. You can't tell exactly WHAT have on, you can just tell that I have a beautiful, glowing flush. This product changed how I think about blush. I no longer want that obvious powdery blush look, I want it to look similar to when I finish..well you know haha. I'm trying Flush next, but I absolutely LOVE blushing bride. Even if you are not into cheek stains, TRY THIS you will fall in love.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BadWaitress on 3/16/2012 9:17:00 PM more reviews by BadWaitress

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Tarte's cheek stains. My skin is so dry that powder blushes never work for me: I always need to use a gel or cream or stain. Tarte's stains are better than the incredibly famous Benetint, which is impossible to blend and way too red, and also better than Bobbi Brown's Pot Rouge, which doesn't last and tends to discolor after it's been on for a few hours. Tarte stains are sheer, blendable, and layerable if you want to build color, and when I take my make-up off at the end of the night, my blush is always still there.

My usual color is Natural Beauty, but it's the end of a long gray winter here and my skin is so pale that at the moment Natural Beauty doesn't really work with my coloring-it's a bit too ruddy, too dark. So I went to Sephora and tried a bunch of other colors, and Blushing Bride is my new favorite. Don't let the color of the tube or the color of the stain in its stick form scare you off! It's not purple at all. And it's not dark. Blushing Bride is actually a lot lighter than Natural Beauty.

And as long as I have your attention, let me say that the best way to apply these stains is with a foundation brush. You only need to swipe the brush across the stick of stain once to pick up enough color to do one cheek if you want a natural look. It's easy to add more.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reneesonglover on 1/5/2012 9:51:00 PM more reviews by reneesonglover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my gosh. I cannot explain in words how IN LOVE i am with this blush. It has amazing color, it's super blendable, super pigmented, and has the prettiest hint of color! Also, maybe this is just me, but it smells awesome too. Haha, i'm a weird girl. :P Anyway, overall, this blush is so good, you have to buy it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkSyringes on 7/3/2011 7:00:00 AM more reviews by PinkSyringes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this plumish color blush, it's not too dark but it does have a deeper color then what I am used too. I just love these cheek stains from Tarte, another win with sucky packaging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nadiasaurus on 6/16/2011 4:35:00 PM more reviews by nadiasaurus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

application took a while to get down pat but eventually i opted for directly putting the container on my cheek and twisting it a bit up and down my cheekbone for a color that actually shows up well,although it is a bit sticky.very blendable,lasts a long time and blushing bride is a good color i think for all skin tones(it compliments my medium-tan skin and my sisters slightly fairer skin tone).
overall this is a good product and i would recommend it to anyone. the company is eco-freindly cruelty free and all their products use natural ingrediants :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nudelipsandnails on 6/10/2011 5:23:00 PM more reviews by nudelipsandnails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This cheek stain is a pretty peach color on my face. It almost looks like I rubbed a orange flavored popcicle on my cheeks. I expected it to be more of a pink shade because it is called "blushing bride" but it is more "tropical" on me. I like that it is very sheer and goes on my face very smooth. This tube will last a long time (a little goes a long way). It can also be applied to the lips for a sheer lip stain effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Blush products