Laura Mercier • Secret Brightening Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.3(271 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xxbutterbeanxx on 10/21/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by xxbutterbeanxx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. I use it primarily to set my concealer under my eyes. It helps to stop my concealer creasing but also helps to disguise my dark circles even further! Definitely recommend using this over concealer as I think it helps to reflect light and help colour correction.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tlee on 10/9/2014 3:27:00 AM more reviews by Tlee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Beautiful, Finely milled and so light! I also got Nars Loose Powder and Elf HD, beecause I read they were comparable and cheaper. No. Not comparable. This with the concealer is SUCH a help with my older eyes. I don't want raccoon eyes and I don't want cakey eyes. I get plenty of sleep and just need some help with shadows. This is IT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aalley on 10/6/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by aalley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Whoever said this powder is like a Instagram Filter wasn't lying.

First off I was debating on getting this or the Ben Nye Banana Powder, I have never tried the Ben Nye Powder but I don't like the way it looks on Women of color in pics, I am a NC 45-50 in Mac, Cadiz in Nars Sheer Glow , sometimes it can be a little too yellow in photos which I hate So I decided to get this and thank god I did I first heard about it through Kim K's makeup artist Mario, it brightens the under eye area and in photos it makes the under eye are look sealed and highlighted. As a selfie queen I was actually thrown off about how great it looked it does look like I have a filter on my photos.

Now the product,

The size of it may throw some people off especially for the price but A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY so this will last for a while. The powder itself has little specks of shimmer in it but again it is not very transparent it still gives a glowing matte look under the eye.

Application

I use a huge fluffy brush to apply it, I put a little of the powder in the cap then I dip the tip of my fluffy brush in the product and apply it under my eyes. Remember very little of this and it works great. Too much will ruin the whole look.

Longevity

Last all day no touch ups.

They are two shades of this I got shade # 2 which Is preferred for tan to dark tones. Darker toned do not be afraid of this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PMAR on 8/21/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by PMAR

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is pricey but so worth every dollar. There's enough to last you a year so you do get your money's worth.

I have a huge problem of concealer creasing into my fine lines. With some research I came across setting powders. I really don't like owning a lot of makeup but this was something I really wanted to try. I love Laura Mercier products -- and had no doubt that it wouldn't work.

Wow! It brightens my under eye area and it sets my concealer beautifully. It leaves a smooth matte finish and looks so natural. I have no problem with my concealer now! I hope this product is never discontinued--it's a beauty product you need.

It's very fine and only requires a finger to put on. I don't use a brush, only the tip of my finger. I pat, never rub. A little goes a long way so be careful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrnpatel on 8/20/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by mrnpatel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was first introduce to LM by my makeup artist on the day of my wedding. I have dark circles and this product works wonders. Ever since then I have always used this product on myself and all my clients (especially with brown tones and the ones that have dark circles around their eyes).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dromero03 on 8/12/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by Dromero03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

About a year ago, I was at Sephora trying out a new concealer. The SA told me that the best way to avoid your under eye concealer from creasing was to set it with powder. She had me try Laura Mercier Secret Brightening Powder and told me it was the best for setting concealer. However at almost $30 I declined and decided to use my normal setting powder. Nonetheless what I didn't know then which I wish I knew was that not all powder are made alike. So when you apply powder to your under eye area, it can make it look powdery and settle into the fine lines if the powder is not milled finely.

That led me on a hunt to buy finely milled powders not only for my under eye but for my face as well. I ended up buying Chantecaille White Bengal Tiger face powder and Chanel Universelle Libre Powder due to the powders finely milled properties. However I kept hearing reviews of LM Secret Brightening Powder, so off to Sephora I go..and go....and go....and go. Well to my surprise after a month of going every weekend, sadly their powder was out of stock and they had no clue when it coming back in. So I decided to hit up Sephora online and little did I know they were out of stock as well!!

Almost two months later I FINALLY bought the powder online because the Sephora store was still out of stock. After having to pay for shipping it arrived at my house in less then a week! In my excitement, I opened it up to find that it had a white sticker on top to avoid the powder from falling out during shipping. While I was removing the sticker, the top part of the stiffer came unloose and powder went flying everywhere. I didn't lose a lot of powder, nonetheless I was not happy. That part should be more tighten down due to the fact that one has to pull the sticker off the holes in order to allow the powder to come out.

This powder is very finely milled. It also very creamy if I dare say. I love applying it with my Blank Canvas Cosmetic F15 face brush. It picks up the powder nicely and distributes it evenly underneath my eye area with its pointed red bristle head.

This powder goes on smoothly and does not settle into the fine lines of your face or eye area. Some people said that it leaves you with a bit of a glitterly look underneath your eyes. I beg to differ. I don't recall seeing any glitter underneath my eyes. However what I did see was my dark under eye circles almost vanish. Normally I apply my Chanel Correcteur Perfection Long Lasting Concealer first and then my Guerlain foundation to hide my dark circles. After that I applied the LM brightening powder and was so shock to see how my under eye area no longer look dark and dreary. Instead it looked alive, with color and bright.

This powder does not leave behind a white cast. However since my skin color is very fair, I don't know how it would look on darker skin tones. Nonetheless LM makes this brighten powder a darker white side (if that makes sense) for those of darker skin tone. Its called LM Secret Brightening Powder II.

The only con I have with this is the size and prize. This powder cost $29 CDN and comes in a very very small container. Don't get me wrong, its not like you need a lot for your under eye area. However for $29 dollars, I expected a lot more in size. The only reason I bought this is because it came highly recommended and I figured I might as well give it a try.

I would highly recommend this powder be used to set your under eye concealer if you are looking for a more alive and bright look which will help to hide the dark circles that your concealer might not be able to fully do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ColourMeSomeMakeUp on 6/15/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by ColourMeSomeMakeUp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely a must-have IMO. I have been using this powder for setting my under eye concealer for about 3 months now and will not need to try out anything else. This powder is magic, it sets concealer so well I don't have to correct anything during the day in fact it keeps concealer in place until I remove make-up late in the evening. This prevents concealer from emphasizing fine lines and wrinkles (you didn't even know you had, lol). It does the job brilliantly, exactly like it claims it would!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gwiyomi on 2/10/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Gwiyomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been through about 3 pots of this product, almost done with my 4th, and I have a backup sitting in my makeup drawer right now. I used to love the Benefit Powderflage, but since it was D/Ced, I have found this to be the next best option. I am not really sure what it is about this partiular powder that works so much better than all of the other siliconey powders I have tried, perhaps it is the pure white tone of #1 (they do sell a #2, for darker skintones). I wear a lot of concealer under my eyes, and this prevents creasing 100% without making my fine lines look dry or extra exaggerated. You really only need a little bit of this to set concealer for all day wear, I really do love it except for one thing...

The shimmer! I am not sure how people do not notice it, but I definitely do in direct, natural, sunlight. Even my SO pointed out that my undereye area was "sparkly." I dab my brush into the pot, and tap tap tap tap tap, so it is not as though I am packing it on. I suppose I will just have to live with this draw-back for now, though if I could find a product without the shimmer and just as good as this I would drop this one in a heart beat. Still, I continue to use it, until I can find something better (I have tried many products and nothing seems to work as well as this).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mb192 on 1/25/2014 12:59:00 PM more reviews by mb192

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I was looking for something to help set concealer under my eyes, to prevent creasing and the SO recommended this. I was worried the brightening particles would be noticeable and look sparkly in the sun, but decided to get it anyways. I'm glad I did, because its amazing - it truly helps my concealer last longer. I do find it brightening, but it's subtle, no sparkly particles!! I apply this using a small fluffy brush. The packaging is fairly cheap feeling.. for the price I would expect a little better, but I would still repurchase/recommend this product to anyone having issues with their under eye concealer!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 m33m4 on 1/21/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by m33m4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is the makeup equivalent of an instagram filter. I put the tiniest amount on a fluffy powder brush, sweep across my under eyes, cheekbones and forehead and it seriously makes you glow. Sometimes I even put it all over my face, though it's probably best to leave that for night time as it is a teensy bit shimmery in the sunlight (doesn't bother me personally). I've never used a setting powder that perfects my foundation so well. Even when I haven't slept, and my face really shows it, it works as a pick me up (admittedly not as well but well enough). I have actually tried using baby powder (it looked ashy and yuck on me), chanels translucent powder , and e.l.fs HD powder (which is a great, cheap dupe for this), but LMs is my HG. The packaging is a little annoying; spill-y and finicky, and the price is ok. It could be cheaper, but I wish everything was cheaper. I believe it's worth the price, one pot lasts me forever and I am a pretty heavy makeup user. It also does not break my whingey acne-prone skin out.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Loose Powders products