Laura Mercier • Secret Brightening Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.2(266 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ColourMeSomeMakeUp on 6/15/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by ColourMeSomeMakeUp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely a must-have IMO. I have been using this powder for setting my under eye concealer for about 3 months now and will not need to try out anything else. This powder is magic, it sets concealer so well I don't have to correct anything during the day in fact it keeps concealer in place until I remove make-up late in the evening. This prevents concealer from emphasizing fine lines and wrinkles (you didn't even know you had, lol). It does the job brilliantly, exactly like it claims it would!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gwiyomi on 2/10/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Gwiyomi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been through about 3 pots of this product, almost done with my 4th, and I have a backup sitting in my makeup drawer right now. I used to love the Benefit Powderflage, but since it was D/Ced, I have found this to be the next best option. I am not really sure what it is about this partiular powder that works so much better than all of the other siliconey powders I have tried, perhaps it is the pure white tone of #1 (they do sell a #2, for darker skintones). I wear a lot of concealer under my eyes, and this prevents creasing 100% without making my fine lines look dry or extra exaggerated. You really only need a little bit of this to set concealer for all day wear, I really do love it except for one thing...

The shimmer! I am not sure how people do not notice it, but I definitely do in direct, natural, sunlight. Even my SO pointed out that my undereye area was "sparkly." I dab my brush into the pot, and tap tap tap tap tap, so it is not as though I am packing it on. I suppose I will just have to live with this draw-back for now, though if I could find a product without the shimmer and just as good as this I would drop this one in a heart beat. Still, I continue to use it, until I can find something better (I have tried many products and nothing seems to work as well as this).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mb192 on 1/25/2014 12:59:00 PM more reviews by mb192

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I was looking for something to help set concealer under my eyes, to prevent creasing and the SO recommended this. I was worried the brightening particles would be noticeable and look sparkly in the sun, but decided to get it anyways. I'm glad I did, because its amazing - it truly helps my concealer last longer. I do find it brightening, but it's subtle, no sparkly particles!! I apply this using a small fluffy brush. The packaging is fairly cheap feeling.. for the price I would expect a little better, but I would still repurchase/recommend this product to anyone having issues with their under eye concealer!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 m33m4 on 1/21/2014 1:02:00 PM more reviews by m33m4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is the makeup equivalent of an instagram filter. I put the tiniest amount on a fluffy powder brush, sweep across my under eyes, cheekbones and forehead and it seriously makes you glow. Sometimes I even put it all over my face, though it's probably best to leave that for night time as it is a teensy bit shimmery in the sunlight (doesn't bother me personally). I've never used a setting powder that perfects my foundation so well. Even when I haven't slept, and my face really shows it, it works as a pick me up (admittedly not as well but well enough). I have actually tried using baby powder (it looked ashy and yuck on me), chanels translucent powder , and e.l.fs HD powder (which is a great, cheap dupe for this), but LMs is my HG. The packaging is a little annoying; spill-y and finicky, and the price is ok. It could be cheaper, but I wish everything was cheaper. I believe it's worth the price, one pot lasts me forever and I am a pretty heavy makeup user. It also does not break my whingey acne-prone skin out.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 1/17/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This is an excellent powder, it doesn't exacerbate dry flakes on my skin, and brightens a little bit. I just wish it were less expensive and more brightening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akneil on 1/15/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the finest powder I have ever felt. It's amazing. Now I know why my under eye area was looking a little too powdery - because I wasn't using this.
It is a fine fine fine translucent powder, which has a slight shimmer. Sets your concealer and brightens your eye area.
There's not much else to say about this powder, it's just great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rubymm on 1/4/2014 1:59:00 AM more reviews by Rubymm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this powder! It makes my under eyes look so air brushed and flawless but not cakey AT ALL! I absolutely love this! So so good!!! But the only thing is the price but I feel like it would last quite a long time and its defiantly worth it! Loving it right now!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 12/11/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this powder for setting my undereye concealer. It is subtly brightening, despite the not-so-subtle shimmer you see in the pot. I don't find that the shimmer is visible on my face. Even in bright sunlight. It might be more noticeable if you used it over a larger area, but under my eyes it's fine. This does a great job of keeping my concealer from creasing while also not making my undereyes look overly powdery. It emphasizes my fine lines the least out of any powder I've tried. I've never found a powder that doesn't emphasize them at all, but it's still better than the alternative of creasy concealer. I like to press this (gently!) into my concealer with either a sponge or a flat brush, then brush off any excess with a clean fluffy eyeshadow brush. The result leaves me looking wide awake, even when I'm far from it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 8383 on 12/6/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by 8383

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to say this is a great product if you are under 40. I've used this for years. Always thought I liked it. Helped cover my dark circles and set my under eye makeup. But after a few hours I always think when I look in the mirror that my eyes look more dry, wrinkly and crinkly. So I thought I would try not using this anymore and just use a setting spray. Oh My God!! What a difference! I look like I don't even have under eye wrinkles anymore. It emphasizes wrinkles at any age. I know make artist say to put powder under your eyes to set the makeup, but it's a huge mistake. I look 10 years younger since I stopped using this product. Maybe if you are in your 20's this would be good, but otherwise be careful, if you want to look to look younger. Setting sprays are the best!!!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 12/6/2013 1:22:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

As a huge fan of the Laura Mercier mineral range I thought I'd love this as much as everyone else, but it doesn't do all that much for me. I use it to set my undereye concealer as the MUA recommended, but the finish isn't amazing at all. I love highlighters, but not glitter and I really notice the particles in this. Its a shame, I really wanted to love this after reading so many great reviews.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Loose Powders products