Bare Escentuals Vanilla Sugar

4.6

61 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/24/2015 1:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

About 8 years ago I went BE crazy. Just about everything I purchased at Sephora was part of the BE line. Foundations, eye shadows, blushes, brushes, you name it. But alas! all great love affairs must come to an end and I have long moved on and forgotten all about my BE products. All except for vanilla sugar. I've never been able to completely break up with vanilla sugar. I keep it around and cheat on it instead. lol. Seriously, it's a soft velvety glowy shadow that goes on lovely. It does look peachy in the container but on my skin tone it seems to show up as more of pinky vanilla. Doesn't look peach at all and I have checked it in natural daylight. I am at an age where sparkly metallic eye shadows are out of the question as they call attention to wrinkles and crepey skin. However completely matt shadows can also look harsh on mature skin. What I like about vanilla sugar it has a sheen that is not matte but is not sparkly either. It's a perfect shadow for bringing light to the eyes without being too dull or too brazen.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 8/11/2014 3:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Discovered BE store at a mall and decided to splurge on a few colors. VS is my favorit of the haul. Vanilla Sugar shows up as a satin beige peach on my tan complexion. The description says it is a matte shade- but it is not, there is a satin sheen to it when applied. It goes on beautifully and has great staying power.
I do use base/primer, before applying loose powders.

I got Queen Phyllis as well, and was recommended to use it as a highlighter-a dismal failure... waaay too light... I use QP on the inner corner of the my eyes to look awake and my beautiful Vanilla Sugar is the perfect brow bone lighter for me.

I do like BE eyeshadows and am highly satisfied with their range in colors.
I do not like the price, which is too expensive for what you get.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2013 6:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's true, this color tends to be more peachy than vanilla to be honest. For my skin tone looks very good and nothing orangy whatsoever. I really like the texture of this eyeshadow. It's very creamy and didn't cause any dryness on my eyelid (some of the BE eyeshadows over dry my eyelid). This eyeshadow is a good base color for other eyeshadows or just as a highlight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2011 8:55:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

You know, I really thought I had hit paydirt with this shadow. I've been looking for a nice neutral, highlight-y sort of color to place on my entire lid to wake my eyes up and to use on those days when I don't want to do the whole, highlight, color, contour thing on my eyes. Simple enough. Besides, my daughter has my MAC shadow that I use for that purpose (the MAC is more pinky and I love it).
Why didn't I just repurchase the MAC? I dunno--sometimes, we just want to check out other brands and enjoy the search.
So--I go to Sephora. I check out the Josie Maran, the Givenchy, blah.blah. I'm finding some nice colors in pallettes, but I just want a single shadow.
I find myself in the Bare Escentuals section. I'm kind of "meh" about B.E. Although I love the concept and realize it works very well for others, it doesn't do wonders for me. However, I was attracted to the shadows because A. They are loose. B. The packinging is very good for the loose shadows C. The price is excellent. D. The colors looked decent.
I find this "Vanilla Sugar". Hmmm..could be what I need. I rub some on my hand. Hmmm...nice. Very nice.
I should have realized that THE LIGHTING IN SEPHORA IS NOT REAL-TIME LIGHTING!!! Ugh. I"ve made this error before so apparently I will never learn.
When I went home and applied Vanilla Sugar--it was way too orangy.
I'm pale--and for some reason there ARE actually a few peachy shadows that work for me if there is some pink in it. This just gave my eyes that orangey-I-look-like-I-just-cried-and-am-tired kind of look.

I'm very dissappointed. Why? I actually LIKE the texture and will give B.E. shadows another try--I'll go back and look for a different shade. However this shadow should be named "Peach Cobbler" or something like that--it is NOT Vanilla anything. I'll be passing this on to my daughter.

Oh when will Sephora change their lighting?????

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2010 10:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the lovely brightening peach color I've been looking for! I was able to get this in a swap, and am am very excited about this color.

I have yet to actually purchase a BE shadow, I've been able to swap for them. However, you do get a lot for your money. I love to test out different loose shadows, and this one did not disappoint. I've been turned off by a lot fo BE shadows due to the shimmer or straight up glitter in them.

This one has a little bit of shimmer/frost but has enough chalkiness to it to grab onto the lid and not have major fallout.

I'm not sure if I completely understand why they call it Vanilla Sugar - if they called it Peach Sugar, might be a better name! I'm NC20 for reference, and this is a great shade for my coloring.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Vanilla Sugar is by far one of my favorite shadows from BE. It's like a satin pale peacy color (lighter than Peach Puff) I love this shadow. I pair this with Peach Puff and sometimes on it's own with a nice strong liner.. it gives your lids a very bright clean look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2010 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

One layer of this on my eyes looked just fine. However, with anything more my lids turned sort of pinky-orange. Won't buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2010 8:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my absolute favorites! It goes great and complements just about every color.. and it blends incredibly well!! Can't get enough of this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2010 2:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My HG eyeshadow goes great alone or paired with just about any other color!!!


on 5/26/2010 11:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I agree with all of the positive reviews below. I'm pale and pull warm and this shade makes my eyes come alive. I use it at least once a week, and, with my huge eyeshadow collection, that's saying something. Especially essential on weekends for an easy glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top