Rimmel • Metallic Stars Roller Shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 3.9(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kuroyuki on 6/4/2009 11:13:00 PM more reviews by kuroyuki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i have this in gold star, which is, obviously, a golden shimmer. the color is really good and lasts all day. i use this mostly as a highlighter under my brows, and it does an excellent job at that. i love the flecks of shimmer. they're the perfect teeny tiny sparkles and last forever. i fall asleep in this sometimes and i still see shimmer under my brows the next morning!

i know a lot of people aren't big on the roller ball applicator, but i like it. i just sweep it once under each brow and it's perfect with just the tiniest bit of blending. it's by far the most effortless part of my makeup routine.

sadly, this item is discontinued, but since this has lasted me over a year and i've barely used up any of it, i hope i never run out! i love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* just_a_small_town_girl on 9/22/2008 11:01:00 PM more reviews by just_a_small_town_girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was only $1.. and I bought it forever ago.. but I still have it.. it's good every once in a while over other shadows.. I have Twinkle.. it's a really shimmery lilac purple.. Used as more of a highlighter.. I don't really have much of a problem keeping it on my eyes..!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChenchillaxChop on 5/24/2008 9:12:00 PM more reviews by ChenchillaxChop

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I got this at the dollar store in "Star Dust" and it is a gorgeous cool taupe shade, and it is REALLY shimmery without being gritty, the glitter is in really small, smooth pieces, and I love, love, love the color.
The only problem I have with this is the packaging, which is why I took off one lippie.
I'm just not a fan of roller ball makeup products, seems so tacky. But I just couldn't resist the colors, because it looks just like Loreal's Illumination Loose Powder Shadow in Beam. (Haha, ironic how both are DC'd and have awful packaging.) This is wayyy more glittery though, so I love it even more.
I bought both for the beautiful taupe shade. It's so hard to find a pretty, sparkly, COOL taupe shade. And this is perfect. Sure, the roller ball sucks, but I just blend with an e/s brush after using the roller ball.
This doesn't crease as long as I use primer. I use DHC Velvet Skin Coat.

*EDIT* I changed this to a five,
The applicator/roller ball blows, so I just took a knife and pried the top off, and poured out the loose shadow into a jar with a sifter, and it is just like any other loose e/s or pigment that I own.
There is a lot of product, so it was totally worth it! (I got it for $1 at Dollar Tree)
I pressed half of it into a pan, and still had half left to use as a loose shadow.
Love, love, love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Insomnium on 3/19/2008 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Insomnium

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wonder if this eyeshadow will end. Bought it a long, long, long time ago for travel since all powder eyeshadows easily loose if you don't properly keep them. Looks pretty, but fades in two hours. Good to use near eyebrows. Still, I love the package))
If you're looking for an eyeshadow that will last for two years-that't the right one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lesly101 on 10/26/2007 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Lesly101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I also purchased this at the Dollar Tree, thinking it looked much like the Revlon Metallic Eyeshadow everyone is raving about. Revlon is $9, if i'm not mistaken, and this was $1, just too good of a deal to pass up.
Glitz'nGlam is a great coppery color, very shimmery, but not "glittery". I find it brings out the green in my hazel eyes, in fact, it does it better than plum eyeshadows. I will definately go back and pick up different colors! The application could not be easier - i used the roller ball to apply it to both upper AND lower lashes, and got a perfect line. Does not make a mess and stays put all day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme on 2/27/2007 12:18:00 AM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I only marked this as "won't repurchase" because, apparently, this item is d/c'd (I got it at the dollar store). As far as roller-ball shadows go, this one is much better than Maybelline Roller Color but not as good as the Sue Devitt roller-ball shadow I lost a while ago. It really does apply smoothly, unlike the Maybelline shed-all-over-your-cheeks look; but it is less opaque and dramatic than I like. I can't speak to its lasting power on bare eyelids, but it lasts all day when worn over a liquid shadow (not cream).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 prettyelectric on 1/22/2007 1:24:00 PM more reviews by prettyelectric

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hastily picked this up in the "sale box" for 2.49 at a Pharmacy on my way to a holiday trip, after realising that I'd left my make-up bag at home.


Needless to say I didn't expect too much, I just needed some lilac colour for my eyes. At first, applying this was, well... a bit of a nightmare - it is a very strange way of applying a delicate eyeshadow, and in order to get a decent amount of colour on my eyeslids, I had to press down pretty hard, which felt a bit odd. I always associate such "roller-ball applicators" for lipglosses, if anything.. and even that's a bit weird and a bit impracticle for *any* form of makeup!


Once I got to grips with how to apply this [tipping my head back whilst applying makes it easier] the results are quite lovely. I was more then satisfied with the ethereal colour it gives ~ looks smashing with equally ethereal pinkish / rosy lips - and I will probably purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyber_showgirl on 1/18/2007 8:09:00 AM more reviews by cyber_showgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in "Star Kissed" - pastel peachy pink - and "Glam Slam" - a much brighter fuschia pink with blue pearl.

Star Kissed is pretty and makes for a nice highlight shade under the brow, but just ain't the greatest if used over the lid: it might be just MY tube, but you HAVE to press quite hard to get any of the powder shadow to come out... which is fine on the browbone, but painful on the eyelid. I think this is because the powder is slightly on the chunky side.. largish granules with lots of silvery glitter.... reviewed on its own, I would give this "3", and describe the colour as similar to Mac's Sweet Lust - a good budget alternative, but with it's downsides.

"Glam Slam" is an entirely different story - a brilliant little shadow that I can't say a bad thing about, really.... I got Star Kissed first and although I liked it well enough, decided not to bother with any of the other roller shadows, but it was a friend's beautifully shimmering opalescent hot pink eyelid "look" at a club one night that convinced me that the Glam Slam shade made this worth a second try!!

Glam Slam, although much stronger hued, is actually a lot sheerer than Star Kissed, and the shadow "particles" seem smaller and smoother - which makes the rollerball applicator much easy to use for this shadow.

The colour is similar to Rimmel Metallic Stars "Flower Power" but a bit more pearly and sparkly: the high end shadow it most resembles is a slightly more sheer and glittery version of Urban Decay's Asphyxia, Benefit's Lola, or MAC's Stars and Rockets - I actually wear Glam Slam WITH Stars and Rockets, using it as a glaze and a highlight colour (for a real "punky pink" full on eyemakeup look). Glam Slam's also great with purples and blues, or as an eyelid colour over primer (though STILL not quite as nice as Asphyxia or Stars and Rockets, it simply doesn't have as much pigment, though it is a lot more sparkly).
Reviewed on its own I would give Glam Slam a 4.5, and highly recommend this as a neat little budget buy for anyone who comes across a tube - I think it's been discontinued, I got mine half price and really couldn't be happier with it.

Makes a great cheek highlighter too if you don't mind a bit of pearly blue shimmer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Djamilla on 1/14/2007 5:46:00 AM more reviews by Djamilla

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The packaging is horrible: The roller shadow applicator is poor; sparks of loose shadows falls off as I glide it on. The product itself is okay, not too great. I like the color i got it in a pink shade but it doesn't last long. I wouldn't buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thechaosfairy on 12/3/2006 5:49:00 AM more reviews by thechaosfairy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in what I think is "Gold Star" (looked at you guys' descriptions, and it's a sort of coppery color) and it's GREAT. This is not for a smudge of color on the edges of your lids, though, it's for coloring the whole lid and the ridge (whatever you call it, the part that makes your eyes have that upswept look) -- it goes very far, has a bold glam glitter look, and is lighter weight and less likely to fade than moist eyeshadows. I am very impressed with this stuff and will look for it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products