Smashbox • Lip Exfoliator • Lip Treatments

rated 3.6(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imperiale on 6/19/2013 9:16:00 AM more reviews by imperiale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I get super dry chapped and cracked lips, so I decided to give this a try...

To it's credit, it has a lovely minty smell and the exfoliating beads are not too harsh, but I find this only TRULY works if paired with an intensely moisturising lip balm/creme of some sort: I find I get the best result when I use it after showering/washing my face, leave it on for about 5 mins, gently wipe it off with a tissue, and then immediately apply a super hydrating balm - Lanolips is my favourite :)

Despite all this however, I give it three lippys because it really doesn't seem to do too much on its own - you really MUST use another balm afterwards, and for the price I don't really think it lives up to expectations.

I don't often exfoliate my lips, so when this runs out I definitely wouldn't repurchase (I'm not sure Smashbox are even selling it anymore), however I would definitely like to find an effective exfoliant/moisturiser for future use (Any suggestions?)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dri5hti on 4/17/2013 5:06:00 AM more reviews by dri5hti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a greasy product. The beads are too large and it doesn't exfoliate as well as one would expect. The peppermint is nice and it does make your lips soft but it's an average product. Wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* divadenah on 12/4/2011 12:08:00 PM more reviews by divadenah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good product, but not Amazzing...I can exfoliate my lips, and sometimes I need to do a second go after the first one is done.I rub it on my lips for like 40 seconds...If I still have some deadness on my lips, thats when I do the second round. My lips look better with my lipsticks and glosses then it did in recent months and years. I know longer have lip peeling while wearing lipstick...I do have to exfoliate my lips I see every 3 days or so. I would buy this product again, because I am NOT willing to keep searching for a product and spending more money to find something amazing and find out that it will cost a lot of money. So therefore i am satisfied with this product. But like I say my lips does look better if I exfoliate with this, just take some time to exfoliate to get all the dead skin off..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VersaillesVixen on 8/18/2010 6:13:00 PM more reviews by VersaillesVixen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Tastes great, exfoliates a bit, but not enough. I tried this after the Laura Geller lip scrub was discontinued, and it's no match (also tried the philosphy lip scrub, also a waste of $). I would say this is an ok product--since it does SLIGHTLY exfoliate your lips--if it weren't for the price. Just too expensive for what you get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kryssimarie on 6/2/2009 1:54:00 PM more reviews by kryssimarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product before prom because I was rocking the red lip. It tasted delicious, and it is all-natural so you can just lick it off your lips when you are finished. Only a pea-sized amount is needed, and really you only need to use it once a week. I thought it was pricey, but I will have to see how long it lasts me before truly claiming that statement. Best of all, my boyfriend immediately notice a different in the texture of my lips, telling me how amazingly soft my lips were every time we kissed. It's worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bunnymasseuse on 5/26/2009 4:17:00 PM more reviews by bunnymasseuse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I suffer from horribly dry lips most of the time, despite what time of year it is. I found the peppermint portion of this nice, but the exfoliating beads did little for actually trying to exfoliate my dead lip skin and allow my soft skin below to come through. Beads either didn't rub hard enough, or maybe it's not for me because I thought I rubbed my lips fairly hard with this product on to make sure I got maximum use of the beads. The scent/taste is nice, but w/o real exfoliation it isn't going to be a repeat purchase for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 walk6860 on 9/26/2008 10:03:00 AM more reviews by walk6860

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product along with the smashbox lip treatment (which I was not satisfied with). I used it and LOVED it, but the true test was when my mother used it (She is 54 and has had problems with cracked flaking lips for as long as she can remember). She used this and is STILL flake-free a week and a half later...its her miracle product!

The key is to 1) rub a LOT and 2) leave it on for a bit and then wipe it off with a face cloth 3) follow up with some sort of heavy lip creme (I suggest Nuxe honey lip balm)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hiba on 9/1/2008 7:24:00 PM more reviews by hiba

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the look out for a good lip exfoliator. A friend let me borrow some of her Smashbox exfoliator, and I was sorely disappointed. The exfoliating beads were larger than expected and didn't feel like they did the job. They were slippery, and I didn't feel like my lips were polished (like when I use a toothbrush/sugar/almond oil). The product itself was rather greasy. I put it on, and even with a lot of rubbing, it didn't really absorb into my lips. I kept it on for the suggested time, and when I wiped it off, it felt okay. Nothing spectacular. A few hours later, my lips were right back to what they were before I used it. I'll stick to my homemade exfoliating for now...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 l1p9l055 on 2/11/2008 9:09:00 PM more reviews by l1p9l055

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this with a set of other Smashbox products. I felt it didn't really make that much difference on my lips. It didn't exfoliate my dry, flaky lips. It did help moisturize though, I'll give it that much, but other than that.. i think its a waste of money. To make an effective and cheap lip exfoliator, just use vaseline and sugar mixed together. cheaper and more effective.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellslina on 1/16/2008 4:32:00 PM more reviews by hellslina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've only been using this for a couple of days but it finally FINALLY got rid of my flaky lips. The scrub isn't too abrasive and wiping off with a warm wet cloth still leaves a nice moisturizing sheen on the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Lip Treatments products