Jo Malone Black Vetyver Café Cologne

3.7

49 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/29/2013 10:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Another failed attempt to find a Jo Malone fragrance that I like. I exchanged the Vanilla Anise for the Black Vetyver Cafe. While the Vanilla Anise was too strong, the Black Vetyver Cafe isn't strong enough. It smells faint in the bottle and doesn't last long when I wear it. As for the fragrance itself, the coffee overwhelms the vetyver until it dries down, then it becomes warm, slightly spicy, and slightly sweet. It's kind of nice, but too faint to be able to enjoy it when it dries down into something I like. I guess I'll have to look to another brand in my ongoing search for a signature fragrance.



on 2/23/2012 5:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Finally available in the small size! (I procrastinated buying this when it was only available in the large bottle.) I think this is one of Jo's most interesting and special fragrances - hard to duplicate in another line. It's a bit sharp, a bit woody, a bit smokey, a bit citrusy, and what keeps me coming back is the coffee note. There's a hint of sandalwood and pepper under the green vetiver note and this is truly a unisex scent, and good for layering with Orange Blossom or Pomegranate Noir, or Sweet Milk from the limited edition Tea Collection, if you happen to have that. Black Vetyver Cafe is a really clean, crisp fragrance. Jo's staying power is not as good as the Bond No.9 line, but the lightness of Jo's cologne make them safe for the workplace - you are not likely to offend anyone's nose with these. Black Vetyver Cafe grew on me. I had a sample of it, then ran out, then got another sample, then finally bought a small bottle. It's kind of addictive, like coffee. :) I only wish Jo's colognes were longer-lasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2011 2:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like the reviewer below, I too tend to like light, clean scents. I went to the jo malone counter to check out english pear and freesia. The woman at the counter showed me this fragrance when I asked which other scents are popular. This is not something I would think I would like, but I loved it and bought it on the spot. On the skin, it starts out a bit bitter and softens to a skin scent. It's clean in its own way. Not soapy, but soft, kind of spicy. Like the reviewer below, it is like a natural extension of the skin. It is soft and subtle, not a lot of sillage, which I love. I can still smell it on my skin at the end of the work day, even though I spray it very lightly. I havent tried layering it yet, but I will try it with grapefruit and the english pear and freesia. This is definitely worth a try. It might surprise you, as it did me. FYI, this only comes in the large size. It can be unisex.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/20/2011 6:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm typically attracted to floral, clean scents...I was bowled over to find that I LOVE this scent. I browsed at the Jo Malone counter at Bloomy's during my lunch hour and lingered over many of the colognes. I picked this one up quite by accident and sprayed it on a tester. Then I sprayed it on my arm. Then I bought it. To me it smells like the most complex of all Jo Malone's scents, which I know are renowned for being simple and singular.

It is such a warm, inviting fragrance, with woody basenotes. In fact, I get mostly basenotes from this cologne. On my wrist, it smells like an extension of my own skin and it wears very well. It is sweet without being cloying, not fruity or very floral at all, not overly oriental. It does not last very long, but the scent is consistent from first spray to drydown, so I have no qualms about spritzing throughout the day. It doesn't seem like this cologne can be oversprayed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2011 2:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love gorgeous incense and dark coffee. I received a sample of this in a swap, and absolitely loved it. I never thought about chasing a sample of this, I don't know why I just assumed it would be mostly a vetiver scent. This is all about the coffee and incense though. Vetiver plays a a secondary role in it, and is just there to "strengthen" the whole composition, not to overtake on the whole thing. It is the most perfect, dark, deliscious coffee note I've ever smelled in a perfume, the incense makes it even darker and nicer. It is a cologne, so it's not the longest lasting scent, but it still lasts about 4-5 hours on me. I'm fine with that. Actually it's not too strong, and I live in a very hot weather so it suits me just perfectly with it's sillage. Even on a hot, humid day, the incense has that "cooling" effect and it never makes me sick or anything. It's just perfect. Definitely one of my HG scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2011 7:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Black Vetyver Cafe really does smell black. I imagine walking into an almost pitch black coffee shop illuminated only by candles. The shop itself is made entirely of black, cold steel. Gargoyles and evil little figurines are all around this little coffee shop and bizarre, strange looking little elf people are sitting around drinking coffee. Actually, i dont detect a coffee note at all in Black Vetyver Cafe. All I detect a deep, rich, smokey incense note. It gives surprising sillage and lasts for a long time. I'll be sure to wear this when i want people to think i'm evil.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2009 11:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a soft and lovely perfume that seems to consist solely of base notes. The coffee is subtle and not even remotely sweet, while the vetiver smells clean and slightly smoky. Sadly, it does not last for very long, and several sprays are necessary to get any sillage at all. Because of the simplicity of the notes, I think it's necessary to layer it to really enjoy it. The SA gave me samples of JM Orange Blossom and Nectarine Blossom & Honey with my purchase, and both layer well with Black Vetyver Cafe, the Orange Blossom slightly better.


on 2/21/2009 12:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Please, please say this isn't being discontinued! I'm already upset because there aren't any matching body products available to go with it. My husband says I smell like a cross between vanilla and burning wood when I wear this. I can drown myself in it, and it doesn't overpower. I don't really smell vetiver (and I use and love the Guerlain Vetiver) or coffee. It's along the lines of my other favorite smoky scents (Black Cashmere, Incense Avignon, Nu) but not so strong that I have to worry about people fainting in the elevator. And it lasts much longer than other JM I have tried.

ETA: After reading an interview with Gela Nash-Taylor of Juicy Couture (the woman won John Taylor's heart, so she must know something) where she says she combines Kiehl's Musk Oil with everything, I decided to try that with this. Truly fantastic combination. Highly recommend (and way cheaper than layering with another Jo Malone).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2008 10:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite Jo Malone scent and I was just told that it is being discontinued! Of course I bought another bottle right away; don't know what I'll do when it's all gone...


on 3/26/2008 11:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My second most flavoraite JM cologne (Vintage gardenia is the best). I love coffee note and its coffee top note is very impressive, even if it will fade away in about 5 minutes but the middle note is still great, respraying is my choice. I always layer it with vintage gardenia, lime basil and mandarin, orange blossom and french lime blossom, it's also work if layer with tuberose cologne. No hesitation to buy candle for this scent....it's also rich, calming and sensual. try it and you will love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews
Si
Si
48 Reviews


Top Rated Jo Malone Products

Back to Top