Fake Bake • Self-Tanning Lotion • Self Tanners

rated 3.7(213 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 tori497 on 7/16/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought both this lotion and the Flawless liquid from Amazon after hearing such great things about Fake Bake. They were reasonably-priced (a little more than drugstore brands, less than department store ones) and both worked well in terms of the color payoff.

What I did not like as much about the lotion is the consistency. The color guard helped to show where I had applied it, which is great, but this stuff is thick! Maybe I didn't use enough because I did NOT look like I had been mud wrestling or anything like it. My plan was to apply an initial, thin coat and layer on top. Well once I got the first "coat" on, I didn't want to add any more.

For reference, I used this on one leg. As I mentioned above, I bought this at the same time as the Flawless liquid, so I applied this to one leg and the liquid to the other. I shaved my legs the day before and put on a very light coat of lotion about 2 hours prior to applying. I used the gloves provided and applied in a circular motion, starting at the top of my ankle and working my way up. This lotion took twice as long to dry as the liquid and left me a little slimy.

The packaging is fine and you get quite a lot for the money. It doesn't really smell like much of anything but there was a faint DHA scent the next day, even after showering (incidentally, not so with the FB Flawless). The color payoff turned out to be the same as the liquid but because it took twice as long to apply and to dry, I will not repurchase the lotion. I will most definitely repurchase the liquid as long as they make it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angie89XO on 1/11/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Angie89XO

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this product! I ordered this off Ulta. It shipped faily quickly and when i first used this i had my friend try it with me so we could see the difference it made between the two of us. I was the first one to try it and i was in love! I have fair/med skin so i was very impressed that within seconds i was tan. It does not make you look orange. You do have to rub it in quickly or you will have some streaks. My friend though, is very very fair so she didn't get as dark as i did but when she was finished and i saw her it was unbelievable how much of a difference it made! I used to tan in a tanning bed and it would take me weeks to get a tan, and i got one in less than 5 minutes. I did take a shower the next day and it did fade a little but not by much i still had the tan. I would reccomend to reaply this twice a week. The only thing that i don't like is the price. I will repurchase this product and so will my friend. I hope you guys enjoyed this review. XOXO

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 P3p4 on 12/23/2013 8:48:00 AM more reviews by P3p4

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've just finished my first bottle of this. I wasn't that pleased with it. I expected better things and this had such good reviews.

I bought it for £16 off amazon, and it lasted me about a month using it only about 5 times. Twice for my whole body and three times for just my legs. I thought this was a little pathetic considering the price.

Then i would leave it on over night, for the colour to develop, however in the morning when I'd rinse off the top coat, it would leave me legs in basically the same colour they had been before i used it.

It didn't smell bad, and was easy to apply. Which were positive points.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Heatherlynntaylor on 12/5/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by Heatherlynntaylor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Looks good first time . Even after exfoliating it made me sporty in my arm creases,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheMickster on 10/22/2013 1:33:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this stuff! Needs to be applied very carefully and thoroughly for the best results. Remember to wear gloves. This gives a much more natural glow than any other self tanner. Very bronze an very NOT orange. Kudos to that! Anyway the price is too damn high and that's my only issue. $30 bucks is a lot for such a small bottle. At least it comes with gloves and is a good product. Give it a try, even if you're very very pale because I'm pale and I didn't go orange AT ALL. In fact I was brown. Lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovelymallie on 7/20/2013 1:45:00 PM more reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

(THIS IS A REVIEW FOR THE FAIR VERSION)

I have only used this stuff once, and after seeing the result, I REALLY regret that I bought it.
It is pretty pricy, btw..

- It has a thick consistency and the colour looks almost grey. It's so hard to blend in (I use the gloves that comes with it) and once it dries, it gets sooo.. streeky? I can't explain it, but it looks so weird. Btw. it doesn't give you that healthy glow. To me, it looks like dirt or something instead, because of the greyish colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eilidhdawn05 on 12/8/2012 2:50:00 PM more reviews by eilidhdawn05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Fake Bake Original.

One of the best tanning products i have ever used. Long lasting tan with no streaks however i have found the tan to lift off when i use a plaster. :(

Otherwise fantastic tan, will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplecrayons92 on 11/16/2012 12:00:00 PM more reviews by purplecrayons92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS SELF TANNER! When applied properly and in a decent amount, I got absolutely glowing results! It came out even and looked to natural! I love this product!! I don't think I will use any other self tanner from this day on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breeze1234 on 11/1/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by breeze1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the Fake Bake FAIR. I'm not going to write a big long review, but rather have you read nikkchikk's. It's perfect and what I would have said. I've been self tanning a long time. My boyfriend normally refers to me as his oompah loompa all summer long, but not with this stuff. I'm ghostly pale with NO yellow. A cool undertone - what there is. If you're a total white chick and everything makes you look orange, give this a try. 4 lippies for the smell. It's strong but not horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melissa1424335 on 10/20/2012 9:54:00 AM more reviews by melissa1424335

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product wins an award in my book- for the WORST TANNER EVER. I have tried a lot of self-tanners over the years and nothing was as bad as this. I really gave it a good try, using it 3 or 4 times before quitting (I hated to waste the money!)

1) It's goopy, muddy, sloppy and hard to apply (and I have lots of experience applying a variety of self-tanners)
2) It smells like fake tan mixed with burning rubber
3) It doesn't matter if you stand in front of a fan for 30 minutes (which I have done), this stuff does not dry. At best, it goes from muddy to damp.
4) because it doesn't dry, it ruins your sheets
5) Hope you're sleeping alone, because you'll look like a ridiculous body builder wannabe after you put it on
6) when you shower the next day, 98% of the color you put on runs down the drain. Seriously, using Jergen's daily glow ONCE gives me more color than using this 2 days in a row.

I'm a sucker for packaging and the box was pretty, haha. That's about the only good thing about this product. How they get away charging over $30 for it, I do not know. I can name a half dozen drug-store quality tanners that work better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fake Bake products

More Self Tanners products