Shu Uemura • Cleansing Beauty Oil Premium A/O • Cleansers

rated 4.0(234 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 mimihoco on 9/11/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by mimihoco

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Shu Uemura has been my go-to for cleansing oils and I had high hopes for a special feature touted on the product description. I like their basic formulation - formulation closer to the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mybeautycravings on 8/31/2014 12:10:00 AM more reviews by mybeautycravings

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil is my holy grail makeup remover.

Top 3 Reasons for Loving it
1. 100% Perfect Cleansing
2. Non-drying
3. Save on Facial Cotton

Check out full review and tips on how to get it cheap at: http://bit.ly/shuoil

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jotaku on 7/31/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by jotaku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: After using this cleanser for a good 4-5 weeks, I've had to drop my lippie rating to a 2 :(. This is because the cleanser actually broke me out after prolonged use - I ended up getting angry pimples amongst random clusters of small bumps, although this wasn't evident during the first week or so of use... my skin was actually the best it's been in several months during the first couple weeks!

It's really such a shame it didn't work out, but it may just have been my fault for choosing an oil which may not have been most suitable for my skin type (when I told the Shu Uemura MUA I had combo oily acne-prone skin and said I was using the green A/O oil he was really surprised and instead recommended the pink one because the A/O cleansing oil is a lot thicker!). But despite all this, this product is still darn good at removing makeup. I'll be trying out other Shu Uemura oils for this reason (i.e. the pink one) and seriously hoping it'll work out better!



OMG. O.M.G. Never in my life have I ever been so impressed with a cleanser or actually looked forward to cleansing my face because I know my skin is going to feel fabulous afterwards.... until I finally put aside my skepticism for this cleansing oil and actually tried it out recently!

So I have combination-oily skin, and for the past few months my skin has become more acne-prone than usual. The reason for my previous skepticism was similar to what people unfamiliar with the product may think - using oil to clean makeup off my acne-prone, already oily skin? No thank you! But after trying it out, I realize now this cleanser REALLY does the job well.

Prior to using the Shu Uemura cleansing oil, I removed the makeup on my face using facial wipes and Bioderma. After cleansing, my skin felt like it was stripped of moisture and it didn't give me that squeaky clean kinda feeling. I also noticed parts of my face would temporarily become slightly red after cleansing, perhaps maybe due to minor irritation from tugging my skin with the wipes + cotton pads. But with the Shu Uemura cleansing oil, I have never come across a cleanser that leaves my skin so looking and feeling so incredibly smooth, soft and clean. There's absolutely no redness on my face (i.e. less irritation to my skin perhaps?) and instead my skin looks so white and bright, as if I had just finished using a whitening mask! I also feel as though that after multiple uses, some of my acne scars aren't quite as visible (although this could be attributed to my skin just looking softer). I have not broken out from this product, although I would stress removing the oil properly is so crucial to avoid this, so be sure to wash your face with water maaany times before continuing with the rest of your skincare routine.
(I will admit though, slathering oil on my face was quite strange at first, but it feels soo nice on my skin after emulsifying the oil with water... it's almost like a facial massage haha.)

I'm in total love with this product and I would happily repurchase it although it may be on the slightly pricer side (here in Australia, it retails for $39AUD for the 150ml, and the 450ml was $9x AUD) - the results I get from it totally justifies the price :).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hayleyrex on 4/23/2014 10:05:00 PM more reviews by hayleyrex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

ABSOLUTELY MELTS MAKEUP.

I'm not 100% sure I used this particular one, but regardless, Shu Uemura cleansing oil is the hands down The Best Makeup Remover that exists. This stuff melts away even the most caked on tough waterproof eyemakeup in seconds. Which means that I have actually washed my face crazy drunk at 5AM instead of falling asleep with all my layers of makeup on. Some cleansers you buy for hydrating or pore cleansing or blablabla. You buy this stuff to take everything off FAST. Is it worth the price tag? It is if you wear a ton of makeup (I'm looking at you, Illamasqua counter girls!) and dont want to spend more than 5 seconds taking it off at the end of the day. Otherwise, you can skip it. For me, it didn't do much more than that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tarayeo on 3/25/2014 3:33:00 PM more reviews by tarayeo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE LOVE LOVE Shu Uemura cleansing oils! I've only tried the Brightening one in the blue bottle and this- both are great. The brightening one seems to be slightly thicker while this version is more runny. Both smell great and cleanse my makeup really well without leaving any residue when I use my clarisonic after that or when I swipe my face with a cotton pad and toner. Doesn't feel oily, skin feels super fresh after cleansing although I still use my normal cleanser after this. Don't think I see any skincare benefits from it though, but that wasn't the reason I purchased this product in the first place. Initially I felt guilty since it is so expensive, but I only use 1 bottle in 1 year, (3 pumps each time) so in the long run it is pretty affordable. Compared it to the price of makeup wipes (e.g. Biore) for a whole year, the shu uemura cleansing oil would actually cost less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eastend_Snob on 3/21/2014 5:16:00 AM more reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I've finally jumped on the cleansing oil bandwagon! I love double cleansing but I really wanted to break away from my Dermalogica Microfoliant and Lush Angels On Bare Skin. I love these two but sometimes I worry that I might be overexfoliating my skin and I can really feel it when I haven't used it for a day or two. I don't wear a lot of makeup but I understand it's important to properly cleanse your face before bedtime. I was very wary of cleansing oils because I have combo-oily skin and anything with the word "oil" in it tends to be a big no no for me. But I did some research and thought I might just try it anyway just to see what all the hype is about. I have the updated advanced version. Love the pump action bottle - one pump dispenses the right amount of product for my face. It looks clear at first but turns a bit milky upon application. It smells a bit nostalgic to me - I can't quite pinpoint the smell but it's a bit herbally. I follow this up with a cleansing foam and it really does the trick. My face feels cleansed but not tight, and I haven't experienced any breakouts!!! The only con I have is that it cannot completely remove my eye makeup but that's OK because I have a separate eye makeup remover anyway. Will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlestarface on 3/2/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by littlestarface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used to be on the fence with this but I only use it now at night if I'm wearing foundation, so mainly as a makeup remover. I don't use this on a daily bases.
As a makeup remover (also being able to remove waterproof mascara) I can't fault it. I think it's perfect. As long as you COMPLETELY AND THOROUGHLY wash the oil off your face after emulsifying etc, you won't break out with this at all!

There's no doubt this product is overpriced! However it lasts a VERY long time. I've had mine in the bigger size which came to 60-something pound for more than a year now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissNananana on 2/23/2014 12:20:00 AM more reviews by MissNananana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This smells heavenly and removes makeup like a charm. It also leaves the skin feeling supple and looking fresh and dewy. But it broke me out a few hours after I used it. I think it's just my skin which can't take anything oily. But I got all the other good effects. I wanted to love this so much, and I guess I did for the positive results, but not so much for the pimples it gave me.

I have not repurchased this since I bought it. For one, it's really expensive. For another, cleansing oils don't leave me with clear skin, not even something as amazing as this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Brenda1986 on 2/19/2014 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Brenda1986

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I switched to this product recently from Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil [Fancl will cease its operation in Singapore in March]. Heard alot of positive reviews about this product and decided to buy it. Have been using it continuously and didn't further cleanse my face with my usual cleanser- no breakouts so far [a must for me].

It has a nice scent. The texture is not as thick as Fancl's.

Though the recommended number of pumps to cleanse the entire face is 3, I am contented with 2 pumps. I do not use foundation [I pair Chanel Le Blanc White Essential Whitening Makeup Base with Clinique's loose powder] - maybe that's the reason why I require 2 pumps only.

It does a good job at removing my makeup thoroughly and leaves my skin feeling freshed. Am satisfied with this product and will continue to purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prowl2000 on 2/16/2014 4:53:00 AM more reviews by prowl2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this product as a make up remover (before the actual mild cleanser) for years. I don't think it is as good as SK-II's cleansing oil but replaceable. The SK-II is too expensive judging from the price per cc. Not that this one is cheap but because my issue is about dryness. I have to rely on a cleansing oil which doesn't dry my skin. You might think I'm an idiot because a cleansing oil would theoretically not be able to dry your face. But not every cleansing oil is created equal. I used to try Dermalogica's Preclense and it didn't work for me. This SU's premium A/O is okay considering my condition. Also, this oil is rinsed off well with water and the stickiness doesn't linger on. There is no need to use another cleanser to wash it off but I take it in my regimen to use a really mild cleanser (a prescription from my dermatologist or sometimes I even use cetaphil) after using the oil. It works well for me.

Price-wise, it is expensive but let's think about it as having a big 400 ml. Cleansing oil which will las for about 6 months (I don't wear much make up so I use only a pump per day. A bottle would last me at least had a year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shu Uemura products

More Cleansers products