Tom's of Maine Natural Anti-Perspirant and Deodorant

3.3

30 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Tom's of Maine is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 4/2/2015 2:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

The only deodorant/anti-perspirant I've found that doesn't cause me to have eczema breakouts. I have stocked up on this product. It works great for me and does everything you expect a Deodorant to do.



on 2/7/2014 1:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've found my new deodorant/anti-perspirant!!! I have been using Dove Unscented for sensitive skin as I am allergic to artificial fragrances. I have been wearing this the past few days and my underarms have stayed nice and dry the whole day. Sounds gross but I would not only do the sniff test, but would stick my finger under my pits to check for any yucky odor...and nothing! Although this is not the most natural deodorant, if you are looking for a good semi-natural ANTI-PERSPIRANT this is great and affordable.


on 8/28/2013 2:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love Tom's toothpaste - hate the deodorants (They don;t work) so I was so excited to see an ANTIPERSPIRANT deodorant that hopefully might be more "natural"? (Sorry - still has Aluminum Salts in it - sorry, Alzheimer's prevetion folks).

And - it is hard - does not apply without tugging.

And it doesn't work. I still sweated.

Back to Dove Clinical or Lady Mitchum.
If I gotta have heavy metals, I might as well clog up all those little follicles and STOP THE SWEAT.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2013 11:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So..,before I bought this, I was using Mitchum's. I have pretty bad odor as well as amount of sweat, and that was one of the top answers to "best anti-perspirant/deodorant". It definitely helped with the odor and sweat, but on hot days it didn't really seem to help. Anyways, I bought this on a whim (I had seen one comment rave about it) and looked up the reviews after, and I was so scared because most of them were negative :( I used it on the first day and it didn't help at all. It eliminated odor but no sweat reduction. I was so sad! I was going to return it but I had thrown the receipt away, so I decided to keep it and use it anyway. OH MY GOD. I'm so happy I did, I don't know why but on the second day and on, it worked like a charm. Literally no sweat, AT ALL. I had a double shift today and I was kind of expecting it not to work through all that but it did. I'm seriously just blown away because I didn't think there was anything short of a prescription deodorant to help me. I know it hasn't worked for many people, so I don't really know what to say but it's definitely working rainbows for me, haha. Definitely re-purchase. :)


on 1/27/2013 10:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My fellow stinky ladies, I'm afraid to say that this is yet another disappointing purchase waiting to, well, disappoint you. It's expensive, it has aluminum in it which is what buyers of natural deodorant usually want to avoid, and it flat out friggin didn't work. Maybe I got a crappy old tube of this junk but I don't think so because it was ok at first texture wise. However after just a few days it dried out even with the lid constantly on. It turned into a sweaty pit anxiety inducing trauma (ok so I exaggerate a bit, but it was hella annoying) trying to scrape enough of this junk onto my pits waiting for my body heat to melt it so I could apply a thin useless layer.



So it didn't stop my stanky lady pits from sweating but ok, it's natural, maybe it's supposed to suck at that but keep me smelling lovely and fool everyone into thinking I'm a classy stink free broad, which is of course what all deodorants do because we class ladies don't sweat, we glisten, and we surely don't stink. Sarcasm alert.


But no. I gave it an honest week and a half or so of diligent denial-filled effort and after the trial period, it was so crappy and became so dried out I threw this hot mess of a deodorant which doesn't deodorize into the trash. I kept perfume on my so i could spray it onto my pits because sure enough a few hours into the day the ol familiar shameful pungent BO smell wafted up to greet me. Stupid stanky armpits, how I loathe you so.


So yeah, this garbage was a true new low for me. I'll usually keep something that doesn't work just to spite it and delude myself into thinking I didn't waste money after all or give it away if hygienic to do so. But no, I wanted this crap in in a tube outta my life and it was sweet justice disposing of this junk.


By now you're thinking dear lord, this cynical lady hated this junk, and she has nothin better to do than write lengthy reviews about deodorants she hates. Well yeah, I retort. But I know that my fellow classy ladies out there do sweat and sometimes even stink a bit and they deserve to be warned. So in summary: don't waste your money. Go buy yourself something off Etsy like I did that's hand made and works well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 10:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There is only one reason why i use deodorant...so i wont smell bad. This product works.
It doesnt go smooth on your skin though but it does work. I bought this because i was trying to use something that wouldnt contain all the controversial parabens and aluminum and i was not disappointed.
I bought this one because is also unscented so it doesnt mix with my parfum.
it is a little more expensive than most deodorants but totally affordable and is also 2.25 OZ (64 g) so i think it is an excellent purchase.
Would buy again? ABSOLUTELY!


on 12/19/2012 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I truly hated this product. I am generally a natural-deo user, but when I saw this "naturally dry" addition to the toms line I decided to be bad and buy it even though I could clearly see it contains a great deal of aluminum. I thought, hey, it's still gotta be better than Dove, right? Well I'm not sure health-wise but as far as effectiveness, this stuff SUCKS. It was a no-better-than-average antiperspirant I guess, as far as odor control, this was HORRIBLE. I swear it made me smell worse than I've ever smelled before; I am not generally a stinky person but I reeked of B.O. all day the one day I wore this. And another real downer I noted - this stuff is like impossible to wash off. It took a lot of scrubbing, and if you're on the "natural" train with stuff other than deodorant, let me warn you there is no way you will get all the residue out of your armpits at the end of the day without an SLS based shower gel. Nope.

Major fail toms of maine. Truly the worst pit product I've tried.


on 11/27/2012 10:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Okay so this is an antiperspirant which is more natural than the rest but I hate it. It's so dry! Applying it isn't pleasant because it doesn't go on smooth. It's mediocre at reducing sweating. But the worst part is trying to wash it off! Unless you have a loofa, soap just won't dissolve it!


on 6/28/2012 6:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This review is for the new Tom's of Maine Naturally Dry antiperspirant deodorant.

I sweat A LOT (just my luck to inherit this trait from my mom!) and of course I have body odor like everyone else; not worse than average but I still don't like to smell it on myself. I also have very sensitive skin and cannot wear antiperspirant deodorant from most traditional brands.

I have been using the regular Tom's natural deodorant in apricot scent for years. It was the only thing I'd found that didn't irritate the skin under my arms. It smells nice but didn't really help with my sweating, of course, and I'd have body odor after a few hours.

So when I found this new kind from Tom's at the store, I snapped it up. First of all, it is kind of difficult to apply. It's sort of sticky and tugs at the skin, doesn't glide on easily at all. But, once it's on, IT WORKS. Seriously. My underarms sweat MUCH less than before, and after a full day of cleaning my apartment on a hot summer day, I can barely smell any body odor on my t-shirt. It's incredible!

Conclusion: I freaking LOVE this stuff! Winner!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2010 6:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have the crystal roll-on deodorant in Garden Rose and absolutely adore it. In a quest to eliminate as many synthetic skin care products from my bathroom as possible, I tried MANY different natural deodorants.
The Tom's solid did absolutely nothing for me, which was the case with every other natural brand's solid deodorant.
I picked up the roll-on while at the factory store in Kennebunk and am so glad I did!
One thing to note: the packaging will leak a bit if you are traveling with it. I just make sure to put mine in a plastic bag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Tom's of Maine Products

Back to Top