Philosophy • Pure Grace • Fragrances

rated 3.8(359 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 welshgal on 3/21/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by welshgal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had this a few years ago and loved it, as others have said fresh, clean, just a REALLY pleasant scent that people around you usually comment on. I received it this Christmas as a present, and I'm afraid the formula appears to have changed?! It does not last, at all. About 2 minutes out the house and it's gone. There is also not the same 'depth' of scent.
It does still smell pleasant, I would recommend this as a present for a young teen perhaps as a first perfume as it is SO inoffensive/barely there in fact. But please don't buy this is you actually want to smell of something. I will be using this up by wearing it around the house etc.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyannie2001 on 9/15/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by hollyannie2001

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am fine with how it smells but it does not last on me for even 1 minute. I don't know what happens with this fragrance. I put it on and it is like I put nothing on. The fragrance doesn't "project," it's like it sinks below the surface of my skin and instantly disappears. I have never had this happen with any other fragrance. Won't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amswtr on 7/4/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by amswtr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

To me, Pure Grace smells like clean laundry. It has a very fresh soapy smell to it. I was surprised that the scent was so strong. Most of the other philosophy fragrances I've tried have been very light. Don't get me wrong, this smells clean but it definitely has a strong clean scent to it. I'm a nurse and this is the perfect fragrance for me while I'm at work in a hospital. I smell clean and fresh. There is no floral or sweet smell to this at all, just fresh and clean. I am a huge fan of Falling in Love perfume but the scent doesn't last very long, pure grace lasted longer on me for some reason. If you just want to smell fresh and clean then I would recommend it. It's not a sexy or flirty fragrance at all. It just smells like you took a shower and are wearing a shirt that you just got off the clothes line that was washed in Tide.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlawedAngel on 5/30/2013 5:16:00 PM more reviews by FlawedAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

If you love the smell of Tide laundry detergent (some do), you will love this. I wanted a clean, and yes, soapy smell for the summer. But I wanted a feminine, soft clean, not power wash your deck, detergent clean scent. I read the reviews and was recced Pure Grace a number of times. Soap and Water says the tidy little box. Simple, clean, inoffensive, should be perfect, or at least pleasant, went my logic in purchasing it unsniffed. And based on its popularity, it obviously is for many. But I found it very sharp. It is a unisex type of clean IMO. If you are looking for a soapy fragrance more like Dove or Caress (which are softer and more feminine with watery floral notes), this is not it. Pure Grace is soapy in the sense of detergent soapy. If you love BBW Sea Island Cotton, EL White Linen, D&G Light Blue, you will probably like or love Pure Grace. But it is simply too sinus cuttingly sharp for my senses. I'm giving it 4 lippies because my dislike is subjective and it smells just as it is advertised: soap and water. It's just not my kind of soap. Cute, neutral bottle in an era of insanely tacky and elobarate frag bottles. Will not Repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 3/31/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm pretty sure this is the exact fragrance that came in my Sephora fragrance sampler kit. Oh no non no. This just smells bad. Like alcohol and old lady perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Whiffnotes on 3/20/2013 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Whiffnotes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A simple, flat, quiet scent. It does not offend, but it does not enthrall either. I bought it on a sweltering Los Angeles day when none of those great perfumes would tame the heat, and then sprayed it on while walking about the mall. Then I got compliments.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RainBo on 12/3/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by RainBo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

This is always in my handbag in an atomiser. Always. If you use public transport on a wet day or end up in a smoke filled environment after work it is perfect for at least attempting to help you smell a bit cleaner than you feel. It is VERY light. It smells like clothes dried outside on a windy day. The taxi driver asked me what I was wearing last week because he would, and I quote "like my wife to smell like that rather than the sweetshop she stinks of now". Charming. However he probably summed it up. It is the anti-sweetshop smell, the anti-heavy smell, the anti-"oh my nostrils" smell.
I wouldn't really have considered it an evening perfume but why not. Smelling clean and simple shouldn't be limited to any time of day or year.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paisleyann on 8/22/2012 8:18:00 PM more reviews by Paisleyann

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love IT. Pure and simple, just like my comment.

Made in USA
Not tested on animals
Owned by big Corp-Coty

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 profumo on 7/28/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by profumo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my go-to fragrances when I want to smell great but don't want anything too complex or heavy. It's fresh, light, clean -- it really is a 'soap & water' scent. It's especially nice in hot weather. It doesn't the best lasting power, but I don't find it to be gone in a few minutes either as some have said. This is my favorite of all the Graces in the Philosophy line -- will always have a bottle on hand!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jods101 on 7/27/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by Jods101

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I haven't bought myself any perfume in a really long time and thought I'd treat myself to something new. While on my search I stumbled onto this. I'm not really a big fan of perfumes in general and I prefer things that smell fresh, light and clean as opposed to musky, heavy overly floral scents etc. According to the description of this it's supposed to smell like fresh from the shower clean (which is exactly what I was looking for) I don't know if this just didn't agree with my body chemistry or if maybe I just happened to get a bad batch or what it was about this but this did not smell fresh and clean on me at all. This smelled very much like patchouli on me. The only smell I hate more than baby powder is patchouli. I absolutely HATE patchouli. It smells like old lady or something that's been in an old trunk in your grandmothers musty basement for the last forty years. Absolutely nauseating. And not only does it smell awful but the scent has no staying power either. Which was probably a good thing in my case. I'm glad I only bought the small purse size with the roller ball. At least I wasn't out much when I tossed it in the trash. I couldn't throw this stuff out fast enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Fragrances products