Weleda • Skin Food • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(505 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ishkae on 3/15/2014 5:08:00 AM more reviews by ishkae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

...It's about time I wrote a review for Skin Food! This has been, without a doubt, my most faithfully carried-around moisturizer. Ever.

Hands: I am a rock climbing instructor and a part-time landscaper. My hands are calloused due to these factors, and when I do not use Skin Food, they dry out, crack, and bleed. They would be so disgusting without Skin Food. Seriously, I have tried soooo many intensive gardening hand creams, it is stupid. Yet, Skin Food moisturized better than any of them!

Body: I get eczema on my elbows, and this helps it heal! If I ever notice it getting bad (lets be honest, how often do people notice the skin on their elbows), I use this and it is *poof!* smooth and supple within the week! I use it on my knees, and I use it on my heels before sandal time. I use this on my legs if they are dried out from shaving, and they glo like a freakin' goddesses. The. Best.

Face: I have hereditary dark circles around my eyes, so have used heavy concealers around them since I was 13. Since concealers are REALLY drying, it's made me have fine lines under my eyes long before my time (I first noticed them when I was 22). I started putting Skin Food around my eyes (under sunscreen and the concealer) and *BHAM!* they are hydrated, my eyes lines vanish- at least for a little while. This is pretty close to a miracle cream, but you know, it's a cream not a silicone, so I have to reapply every six-eight hours. NBD. I use it on the rest of my SUPER sensitive SUPER acne-prone face when it gets dry patches (I have combination skin- but it seems to be extreme combination? Oh why can't I have normal skin...) and it moisturizes without breaking me out. I have only used this on my face in times of emergency, so can't say if I wouldn't break out with continued usage. I would say not an all-over everyday kind of facial moisturizer.

On Planes: I travel a lot. Planes are like tepid deserts. This WILL moisturize yo face and hands and whatever else is left parched while flying (maybe even your throat? The ingrediants at Weleda are always edible, so... I mean, I wouldn't. But do what you need to).

Fun Fact: A good friend of mine just did a study in Mongolia for the UN on how the seabuckthorn (that's what's making that delightful citrus scent in yo Skin Food) helps reverse desertification by afixing water and nitrogen into soil. This is a whole plant function, not merely fruit function (which is the only part of the plant in Skin Food), but it does seem like moisturizing is the seabuckthorn's purpose for being!

Smell: Citrusy and delicious, thanks to the aforementioned seabuckthorn berries. Yum!

Texture: Thick as my grandma's middle. This works well for all purposes, except for general coverage of the face. In that case, apply Skin Food evenly to hands, pat hands on face until desired amount is absorbed. Do this while rubbing your tummy (jk).

Packaging: I have had my current tube (my third!) for one year. I have used it daily and it has lasted. I have thrown it into every purse and backpack I have carried during that time, and it has accompanied me to four different countries without exploding, praise the lawd! I love that the tube is metal, so that when I start running out of Skin Food, I can roll it to get more product. The green colour of the tube is unique enough that I can find my Skin Food at the bottom of the most disorganized pack while rumaging with a headlamp. In a sandstorm.

Buy Again: forever and ever, ahem.



31 out of 31 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akmann on 3/9/2014 1:48:00 PM more reviews by akmann

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have acne-prone skin that I treat with prescription Differin (Adapaline), and Weleda Skin Food has been a miracle product for me. The Differin (and winter) dries me out and dehydrates my skin, and the Skin Food replenishes it without breaking me out. In fact, I feel like it helps the Differin do its job of acne treatment and prevention. I've read here that a lot of people don't like the lanolin in the product, but it doesn't seem to bother my face at all, and for some reason seems to help me. My skin has never looked better. I use it as a night cream every night and when I'm feeling particularly dry I sometimes use it as a day cream under makeup (in this case giving it extra time to sink in because it's so emollient). I also use it on my elbows, heels, cuticles and hands. I keep a tube at work. I love the fragrance, and the price is unbeatable!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nickys79 on 2/27/2014 6:38:00 AM more reviews by nickys79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Finally.. something for my incredibly dry, lifeless skin, I use this on my face every 2nd night and on my very flaky calves every day, it has changed my skin DRAMATICALLY it's absolutely incredible, I tried it after hearing someone on youtube say they use it whilst travelling as airplanes suck the life out you! I immediately bought 3 tubes after I saw the difference and I keep them in my office/ living room/ bathroom and practically bathe myself in it, love love love it!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valerian on 2/26/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by valerian

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love skin food, its natural and feels and works great. Ive read some reviews and it seems that some people are underwhelmed with it, the same way I was when I tried Dr Haushskas Rose cream the first time until I learned how to apply it correctly. (both this and skin food are very similar in texture)

When applying either cream to the face, neck and decolletage, never apply it like a traditional moisturiser. It will feel thick, gloopy and not nice.
After cleansing, toning etc, get a pea size blob between fingers, spread over the palms of hands and press/ pat on the areas you wish it to be applied to. Keep pressing and you will find that within a few minutes, skin will feel moisturised but not oily or shiny.

Applying either skin food or Haushka rose cream in this way will mean that it can be used before make up in the daytime and wont overload the skin when used as a night treatment.

Hope this helps anyone who may have tossed this great product aside, and also note, this is how I use oil blends when applied to the facial skin, it lets the skin absorb the goodness without leaving an oil slick situation.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missconsistency on 1/5/2014 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Missconsistency

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow the Weleda skin food really got the job done of actually softening and healing my roughened damaged skin from washing a lot dish with Ajax Lemon Dishwash liquid soap without gloves!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Flurby on 1/1/2014 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Flurby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get what everyone sees in this cream. I have very dry hands and elbows, so I wanted to try this for this purpose, but no luck! Does not sink in, smells horrible, does not moisturise anything. It basically just sits on top of the skin and does nothing. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KSchumann on 12/17/2013 12:06:00 AM more reviews by KSchumann

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I received a tube of Weleda skin food several years ago. At the time I didn't understand the hype but enjoyed the smell on rough winter hands. Years later my skin has changed to extremely dry. Where once I would never have considered putting this on my acne prone combination skin, times have changed. Since I'm nearly 50 I've noticed my skin drying out. Residual retin a use has left me with severely dry and flaking skin. My skin care routine has changed. I now incorporate several emboli ants in an effort to balance my skin. Lately that has included Cereave Hydrating Cleanser and Moosturizing lotion. I remove the days makeup and grime with coconut oil followed by the cerave products. I then tap a small amount of the skin food over my facial skin. On the residual burned area I apply 40% zinc diaper cream to hear the small burned patches. A final tapping on of the cerave, or coconut oil or skin food keeps my skin hydrated all night. The way it feels when my estitician has given me a moisturizing treatment. A year ago I would never have thought I would be dousing my acne prone skin this way, but it is working. I love the healing feel of the Weleda Skin Food as well as the scent. I also use it on my hands and cuticles as well as rough patches on my body. I love it most out of all my skin care products.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 linkd on 12/16/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by linkd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The only thing I do not like about Weleda skin is that is has lanolin as an ingredient. I do not want to put that stuff on my face. However, it feel nice to patch on my elbows, legs and whenever needed now that is winter where I live. I like that it comes in a tube and the smell is fine.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kalya on 12/7/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Kalya

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Weleda skinfood would have been a wonderful cream for everyone, had it not have the lanolin as an ingredient. Lanolin is not good for sensitive skin or skin prone to eczema or rashes! I have always had breakouts if i use products with lanolin on my skin.
Badger Balm has similar creams to Weleda, but without lanolin and also priced lot less ( added bonus).
So no, this is not really skin food for all types... :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dienausicaa on 11/28/2013 12:12:00 PM more reviews by dienausicaa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I read about this particular product in many beauty blogs. Intrigued, I went off to buy it. At first the sensible toothpaste like container is very practical, higienic and no frills. Clearly labeled and easy to carry around, I was glad to buy it as an all purpose cream.

Well, it has its pros and cons for me. On the pro side, it is very thick which creates a sort of film over my hands literally shielding them from dryness. This effect on my face is very unpleasant, as my face is much more delicate and drier than my hands, and I am not washing it is as often as I do with with the former.

On dry knees, elbows and feet this is truly heavy duty. Once warmed up in my hands I apply this after taking a shower.
There was no way to use this on my face, too thick, pulling on my face to be able to blend it, yet somehow not really plumping or revitalizing my facial skin, or neck for that matter. I even broke out from it.

In few words: good for very dry body parts, and also as an overnight hand treatment. Not my face, neck or decolletage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Weleda products

More Moisturizers products