Diptyque • Elide (Eau d"Elide) • Fragrances

rated 3.0(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Paolita on 3/20/2010 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Paolita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

What can i say for this masterpiece!!! I am a lavender lover and tis perfume is my favorite Diptyque! Wild lavender and bitter orange creates a great combination! Too bad that it is discontinued!I adore it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LianH on 8/7/2008 11:07:00 AM more reviews by LianH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

the smell I would describe as orange syrup that is very warm and cloyingly sweet.

Not that special I think

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 paschat on 8/4/2008 11:25:00 PM more reviews by paschat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

unable to delete review due to javascript error.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 5/7/2008 2:16:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This one takes a while to settle down and a while to adjust on your skin, then you get it: a clean and comforting bitter orange (more on the candied side I'd say) mixed with the ever-fascinating lavender and infused with musk to give it consistency. The result is a comfy Orange popsicle in an undistinguishable herbaceous background. To my nose, although the notes are quite different, the fragrance evolves to a more sophisticated sister of Hypnotic Poison, fortunately without that loud, ambiguous, "Come hither and possess me, whoever you are" harloty halo I've always got from Dior's creation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovnit on 2/28/2008 10:23:00 AM more reviews by lovnit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Philosykos sparked my love for all things Dyptique, but there are many scents in the line that just don't suit my chemistry. I wore the former to death, and wanted a replacement which had a similar uniqueness. I am trying Elide again after it has been in my dark vault for fumes I've gone off and recycle at a later date. This scent is quite unique, I do like it, but it's strange intensity is an acquired taste and keeps me from loving it. I do like that its a warm comforting scent, tips to the masculine but is balanced by the spicy gourmandy edge, which makes it a keeper for me. Not sure if I would buy it again as I only wear it occasionally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 5/4/2007 9:53:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This would appeal to someone who liked SL Ambre Sultan. This is one of those mincemeat pie, sugared almonds, candied citron, and spice scents. It smells richly gourmand on me, and so far the sillage is powerful and it is long-lasting. It is sweet in a honeyed, languid way, rather than a saccharine overload. I doubt I would buy it again, as it does not appeal to my taste. But I could see the charm it might have for others.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ECMac25 on 2/23/2007 10:11:00 PM more reviews by ECMac25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

If I sniffed this blind, I would have thought it was a new fragrance by "Clean" -- I get orange creamsicle, something slightly green/sharp...grass?, and fabric softener. The end result on my skin just smells like soap -- it's like I didn't even put any perfume on! It's not bad, but it's definitely forgettable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 PatchHag on 7/24/2006 1:21:00 PM more reviews by PatchHag

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a nice scent, as far as these things go. Starts off with orange, but not a tart, sour orange. Then it morphs into something with an amber or vanilla creaminess and then...poof! It's gone! Lousy staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nancybridget02091979 on 2/23/2006 11:25:00 PM more reviews by nancybridget02091979

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This fragrance is clean and sweet. I'm smelling violet, powder, maybe vanilla. It's quite faint. After an hour or so, I'm getting nothing. Absolutely no staying power. Yet again, Diptyque disappoints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Maller on 9/5/2005 7:07:00 PM more reviews by Maller

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like the smell of most of the scents in the Diptyque line even if there are some that I prefer as candles rather than as fragrances to wear. My exptectations for Eau d'Elide were high given this and the fact that the notes sounded so promising - bitter orange, lavender, aromatic shrubs and musk. Bitter orange is one of my favorite notes, aromatic shrubs and musk sounded excellent and although lavender doesn't always work for me, I remain open. For a brief, happy moment at the beginning I thought that this could be up there with FM's Bigarade Concentree in my Bitter Orange Hall of Fame. However, within minutes I realized this was not meant to be. Eau d'Elide rapidly degenerated into a rather musty, murky herbal range scent with no clear sense of direction. Reminded me a bit of a more herbal, unsweet version of Antica Farmacista's Vaniglia Bourbon Mandarino. Instead of the Bitter Orange Hall of Fame this gets placed into the "Good Notes Gone Bad Hall of Infamy." Not a Diptyque I want for either house or body.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Diptyque products

More Fragrances products