Diptyque Elide (Eau d"Elide)

3.0

22 reviews

31% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/20/2010 11:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

What can i say for this masterpiece!!! I am a lavender lover and tis perfume is my favorite Diptyque! Wild lavender and bitter orange creates a great combination! Too bad that it is discontinued!I adore it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



on 8/7/2008 11:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

the smell I would describe as orange syrup that is very warm and cloyingly sweet.

Not that special I think


on 8/4/2008 11:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

unable to delete review due to javascript error.


on 5/7/2008 2:16:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This one takes a while to settle down and a while to adjust on your skin, then you get it: a clean and comforting bitter orange (more on the candied side I'd say) mixed with the ever-fascinating lavender and infused with musk to give it consistency. The result is a comfy Orange popsicle in an undistinguishable herbaceous background. To my nose, although the notes are quite different, the fragrance evolves to a more sophisticated sister of Hypnotic Poison, fortunately without that loud, ambiguous, "Come hither and possess me, whoever you are" harloty halo I've always got from Dior's creation.


on 2/28/2008 10:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Philosykos sparked my love for all things Dyptique, but there are many scents in the line that just don't suit my chemistry. I wore the former to death, and wanted a replacement which had a similar uniqueness. I am trying Elide again after it has been in my dark vault for fumes I've gone off and recycle at a later date. This scent is quite unique, I do like it, but it's strange intensity is an acquired taste and keeps me from loving it. I do like that its a warm comforting scent, tips to the masculine but is balanced by the spicy gourmandy edge, which makes it a keeper for me. Not sure if I would buy it again as I only wear it occasionally.


on 5/4/2007 9:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This would appeal to someone who liked SL Ambre Sultan. This is one of those mincemeat pie, sugared almonds, candied citron, and spice scents. It smells richly gourmand on me, and so far the sillage is powerful and it is long-lasting. It is sweet in a honeyed, languid way, rather than a saccharine overload. I doubt I would buy it again, as it does not appeal to my taste. But I could see the charm it might have for others.


on 2/23/2007 10:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

If I sniffed this blind, I would have thought it was a new fragrance by "Clean" -- I get orange creamsicle, something slightly green/sharp...grass?, and fabric softener. The end result on my skin just smells like soap -- it's like I didn't even put any perfume on! It's not bad, but it's definitely forgettable.


on 7/24/2006 1:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a nice scent, as far as these things go. Starts off with orange, but not a tart, sour orange. Then it morphs into something with an amber or vanilla creaminess and then...poof! It's gone! Lousy staying power.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This fragrance is clean and sweet. I'm smelling violet, powder, maybe vanilla. It's quite faint. After an hour or so, I'm getting nothing. Absolutely no staying power. Yet again, Diptyque disappoints.


on 9/5/2005 7:07:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like the smell of most of the scents in the Diptyque line even if there are some that I prefer as candles rather than as fragrances to wear. My exptectations for Eau d'Elide were high given this and the fact that the notes sounded so promising - bitter orange, lavender, aromatic shrubs and musk. Bitter orange is one of my favorite notes, aromatic shrubs and musk sounded excellent and although lavender doesn't always work for me, I remain open. For a brief, happy moment at the beginning I thought that this could be up there with FM's Bigarade Concentree in my Bitter Orange Hall of Fame. However, within minutes I realized this was not meant to be. Eau d'Elide rapidly degenerated into a rather musty, murky herbal range scent with no clear sense of direction. Reminded me a bit of a more herbal, unsweet version of Antica Farmacista's Vaniglia Bourbon Mandarino. Instead of the Bitter Orange Hall of Fame this gets placed into the "Good Notes Gone Bad Hall of Infamy." Not a Diptyque I want for either house or body.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1363 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top