Hanae Mori • Butterfly EDT • Fragrances

rated 4.0(297 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ryanhill on 10/27/2014 3:50:00 AM more reviews by ryanhill

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

while the bottle is beautiful the fragrance is not. I find it to be just plain strange. A blend of things that don't blend. It smells overly sweet with a weird chemical aftertaste

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 queenofthenile on 10/21/2014 12:27:00 PM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been interested in this perfume for nearly 10 years now (you read that right), and even though I'm a serial perfume hoarder it was only a few months ago that I finally decided to purchase this. Oh how I wish I'd done it sooner! I've never enjoyed gourmand scents or anything with more than a trace of vanilla, which is why it took me so long to buy this. But Butterfly is exactly what I needed in my collection. It's creamy vanilla and berries but doesn't smell foody at all to my nose. It's sweet, innocent and sexy all at the same time. The lasting power is incredible (I can still detect it on my clothes days after) and the drydown smells just like the initial spray. I know I'll be getting a lot of use out of this during the fall and winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SUPAtime on 7/12/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by SUPAtime

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Flagrantly artifical fruit mixed with slightly powdery vanilla and woods. Super sweet and jejune. Not a fan of this at all-- sorry folks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 7/10/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance leans sweet on some, but on me it smeels just like roses and vanilla. Not what I was looking for. Luckily I had a sample to try this out. I will not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 5/2/2014 11:50:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hanae Mori Butterfly EDT is one of the greatest fruitys *ever*, in my humble opinion. Just really really delicious. And generally speaking, fruity perfumes are not my favorite class at all -- neither fruitys nor florals (esp white florals). I usually favor orientals, gourmands, woody vanillas, florientals, and musks.

However, fruity with something that smells like *vanilla*? Now that's a different story and what shoves it onto my "Like" list. I much prefer fruit-&-vanilla over just-plain-fruit perfumes.

Launched in 1995, here are the notes, from parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Wild strawberry, Blackberry, Black currant, Blueberry
Heart Notes: Bulgarian rose, Ylang-ylang, Jasmine, French peony
Base Notes: Rosewood, Almond wood, Sandalwood, French cedar

My first thought is always "mango" when I smell Butterfly -- a rich, delicious "mango and vanilla". In spite of that note list, this smells to me kind of like a Mai Tai without the rum -- or some other fruity tropical Carribean cocktail without the alcohol. Or maybe V8 Fusion Peach-Mango with some vanilla added, strawberry, and maybe a hint of coconut.

Maybe it's the "rosewood" and "almond wood" notes above that come across as vanilla to my nose? -- because it definitely smells vanillic to me (one of my favorite notes of all time and the reason why I like this perfume). And I just can't get over my "mango" impression either, even though it's not on that note list.

To my nose, it's a very delicious mango-vanilla perfume, with maybe some other fruits mixed in there, like strawberry, tangerine -- maybe even a hint of coconut. Palm trees are swaying, bongos are playing, you're kicking back in Tahiti, and the *delicious* scent of Hanae Mori Butterfly wafts in the breeze.

A summery, islandy, yummy fruit-smoothie of a perfume. Not sheer & light -- it's a little dense and rich smelling, even in EDT. I've owned both EDT and EDP -- and in my humble opinion, the EDT is much better. EDP verges on syrupy -- it's too condensed and too sweet. But EDT is perfect, to me -- still richly delicious -- plenty strong enough -- and it lasts well.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 3/25/2014 3:09:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sitting in misty, foggy woods, drinking a strawberry milkshake and eating salted almonds. That pretty much sums up Hanae Mori for me. Oh, donít forget the black eyeliner. Thatís a definite wear. And listening to drum circle music. This is one perfume that takes you places.
Itís a perfume Iíve learned not to overspray. Itís there when I think itís not. Itís vanilla wrapped with a nutty feel but not a traditional vanilla. This vanilla is smooth, creamy, mellow, powdery, fruity and musky. Itís moonlit nights, eyeliner, jazz music and funky shoes. Itís mood perfume.
There is a sophistication and maturity to Hanae Mori that can be pulled off appropriately by the right woman if sheís flaunting herself naturally. Itís a sensual perfume that begs to be worn by a Seductress. The incense of this fragrance wafts around her innocently yet captures others. Thereís a smokiness to it thatís not heavy at all but there, just light enough to mesmerize.
Hanae Mori is a thick perfume if applied too heavily. It will come back with the heat of your skin and tickle your nose when you least expect it. Although its thickness can be somewhat off-putting to some, that quality gives it a unique, almost viscous feel. Thatís its muskiness drawing you in. Itís a heavy and thick musk with a sweetness that wraps around the vanilla with a gauzy scarf. This is a season-less perfume with mild floral undertones that can be worn anywhere, anytime, as long as you donít go heavy on the spritzing finger.
There are four fruits in the top notes to tantalize you. Blueberry, blackberry, strawberry and black currant work together with the middle and base notes to create the vanilla which is actually not listed. Wearing Hanae Mori you definitely feel this is a vanilla-based perfume.
Hanae Mori is considered a linear perfume, meaning that altho there are three layers of notes, the perfume stays the same throughout its run. It just stays beautiful throughout its many hours of runtime.
The day I picked this up, I was on my way to visit my grandson. Naturally, I spritzed some on as soon as I bought it. I really didnít notice it while I was with him, thinking I had sprayed it very lightly earlier. When I returned home, I received a text from my daughter asking me what perfume her son was now wearing. I didnít realize so little would transfer to him. Thatís how strong Hanae Mori really is.
Hanae Mori doesnít announce herself but youíll remember she was there. Kind of like a butterfly. She leaves a lasting impression.
The notes for Hanae Mori pink butterfly are:
Top Notes: Black Currant, Wild Strawberry, Blackberry, Blueberry.
Middle Notes: Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Rose, Peony.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Virginia Cedar, Brazilian Rosewood, Almond Tree.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 3/3/2014 3:53:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I wear Angel, Hypnotic Poison, Addict, Prada Candy, you get the idea. I am a certified vanilla whore, but I love branching out into fruitier gourmand scents. This Hanae Mori scent sounded perfect on paper- almond and sandalwood with berries. I enjoyed it when sprayed on a blotter as well. Then I wore the EDT and everything went horribly wrong. My skin chemistry warped this into a synthetic floral nightmare. The ylang-ylang was way too prominent and all the berry notes turned very sharp. As such, I had to remove it and had a similar experience with the EDP. I think I would like this if it had a darker muskier side but in its full throttle happy fruity true form, I have to pass. Additionally, I noticed a strange similarity between this and JS Fancy, the latter having a much more caramelized finish. I already have and enjoy Fancy so I probably won't revisit Miss Mori, but I recommend it to those with a sweet tooth who wear fruity gourmands well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blackberries on 2/10/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by blackberries

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this. Truly my HG fragrance.

This was the first fragrance I ever bought for myself (and I bought the BIGGEST size using my part-time job income AND being a student owing debt!!). I fell in love with it since I received a sample from Sephora. I couldn't help it :p

It's sweet.. that's the first impression you'll get -but in a good way. It's a sweet scent that isn't the typical fruity bubble gum stuff. It's NOT (in my opinion) for cheery, poppy, sugar-high girls. Not saying they can't wear it! I mean, it's fruity and sweet but NOT a scent that'll remind you of a crazy hot pink lady (if that makes sense lol)

It's a mature sweet... not innocent, in fact I'd say it's seductive. I wore this to literally attract guys LOL, this was BEFORE I had a boyfriend... and yeah, it really worked. The guys I hung out with adored this scent. Alright, fast forward, TODAY: I wear this with elegant blouses or work dresses. I also think it goes well with black suede heels and black skinny pants.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyannie2001 on 11/3/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by hollyannie2001

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like many other reviewers, I am not usually one for the sugar-sweet scents. I got a sample of this at Sephora and kept it in my office for months, using very occasionally, sometimes just squirting it into the air to freshen the room. Over time I became more and more fond of the scent. Finally, I decided I wanted to add it to my fragrance collection.

I am a fragrance layer-er. I like to start with a base of an oriental or musk and then layer a light white or green floral over that. But I have NOT layered the Hanae Mori and I think the reason why is also the reason I like it so much.

While it seems like a simple, sweet fragrance, it is actually surprisingly complex. For me, it has base notes of powder overlaid with musk, vanilla, white florals, jasmine and more that I can't identify. As a result, one of my favorite things about this fragrance is its staying power and its long, complex dry down during which it morphs every couple of hours. By the end of the day on me it is down to just a very stripped-down, sweet, simple powdery scent (that I LOVE) but it has gone through at least three or four different stages to get there.

Overall I am really glad I finally bought this and I am looking forward to getting to know it better over the coming months.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmg613 on 10/17/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by lmg613

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this so much. Very warm and sweet, but in a totally unique way; I'm not usually into the sugary food fragrance genre, and a lot of vanillas have sort of a scratchy quality, but this is smooth and lovely and makes me want to keep finding ways to discreetly sniff my arm all day. Definitely gets compliments, often food-related; I've been told I smell like cookies, cupcakes (I think it smells better than either), and just "really good."

The EDT formula is PLENTY strong, as in all-day staying power, and unlike many fragrances, it doesn't dry down to either "powder" or "musk," but stays soft and sweet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hanae Mori products

More Fragrances products