Hanae Mori Butterfly EDT

4.0

299 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/11/2015 11:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Will always have a special place in my heart even if I outgrow it. When I first smelled it from the bottle, it reminded me of my childhood because it was so sweet, like Asian soft drinks/candy. It's quite harsh upon initial spray, but on the skin, it blooms into something so feminine, romantic, sensual, warm, comforting, and dreamy. To me, it's creamy strawberries, vanilla, and a bit of mixed florals and woods. Itís sweet and innocent, yet complex, unique, beautiful and alluring. Despite its sweetness, I feel like you could wear it at any age. At the very end it smells like a fluffy marshmallow vanilla cookie. I prefer the EDT to EDP because EDT is airy and pretty with way better sillage. EDP is too closed, syrupy sweet, and reminds me of a cute thing rather than a lady. Lasts 12+ hours on me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/11/2015 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Not a perfume I usually gravitate towards. I tend to avoid sweet powdery vanilla fragrances. This one is different. It's warm and creamy. When someone hugs you while wearing this, it'll leave the faintest most haunting scent on you. I always get asked what I'm wearing when I wear this.

The vanilla that people detect is actually almond. There is no vanilla in this scent.


on 10/27/2014 3:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

while the bottle is beautiful the fragrance is not. I find it to be just plain strange. A blend of things that don't blend. It smells overly sweet with a weird chemical aftertaste


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been interested in this perfume for nearly 10 years now (you read that right), and even though I'm a serial perfume hoarder it was only a few months ago that I finally decided to purchase this. Oh how I wish I'd done it sooner! I've never enjoyed gourmand scents or anything with more than a trace of vanilla, which is why it took me so long to buy this. But Butterfly is exactly what I needed in my collection. It's creamy vanilla and berries but doesn't smell foody at all to my nose. It's sweet, innocent and sexy all at the same time. The lasting power is incredible (I can still detect it on my clothes days after) and the drydown smells just like the initial spray. I know I'll be getting a lot of use out of this during the fall and winter months.


on 7/12/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Flagrantly artifical fruit mixed with slightly powdery vanilla and woods. Super sweet and jejune. Not a fan of this at all-- sorry folks!


on 7/10/2014 9:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This fragrance leans sweet on some, but on me it smeels just like roses and vanilla. Not what I was looking for. Luckily I had a sample to try this out. I will not purchase.


on 5/2/2014 11:50:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Hanae Mori Butterfly EDT is one of the greatest fruitys *ever*, in my humble opinion. Just really really delicious. And generally speaking, fruity perfumes are not my favorite class at all -- neither fruitys nor florals (esp white florals). I usually favor orientals, gourmands, woody vanillas, florientals, and musks.

However, fruity with something that smells like *vanilla*? Now that's a different story and what shoves it onto my "Like" list. I much prefer fruit-&-vanilla over just-plain-fruit perfumes.

Launched in 1995, here are the notes, from parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Wild strawberry, Blackberry, Black currant, Blueberry
Heart Notes: Bulgarian rose, Ylang-ylang, Jasmine, French peony
Base Notes: Rosewood, Almond wood, Sandalwood, French cedar

My first thought is always "mango" when I smell Butterfly -- a rich, delicious "mango and vanilla". In spite of that note list, this smells to me kind of like a Mai Tai without the rum -- or some other fruity tropical Carribean cocktail without the alcohol. Or maybe V8 Fusion Peach-Mango with some vanilla added, strawberry, and maybe a hint of coconut.

Maybe it's the "rosewood" and "almond wood" notes above that come across as vanilla to my nose? -- because it definitely smells vanillic to me (one of my favorite notes of all time and the reason why I like this perfume). And I just can't get over my "mango" impression either, even though it's not on that note list.

To my nose, it's a very delicious mango-vanilla perfume, with maybe some other fruits mixed in there, like strawberry, tangerine -- maybe even a hint of coconut. Palm trees are swaying, bongos are playing, you're kicking back in Tahiti, and the *delicious* scent of Hanae Mori Butterfly wafts in the breeze.

A summery, islandy, yummy fruit-smoothie of a perfume. Not sheer & light -- it's a little dense and rich smelling, even in EDT. I've owned both EDT and EDP -- and in my humble opinion, the EDT is much better. EDP verges on syrupy -- it's too condensed and too sweet. But EDT is perfect, to me -- still richly delicious -- plenty strong enough -- and it lasts well.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Sitting in misty, foggy woods, drinking a strawberry milkshake and eating salted almonds. That pretty much sums up Hanae Mori for me. Oh, donít forget the black eyeliner. Thatís a definite wear. And listening to drum circle music. This is one perfume that takes you places.
Itís a perfume Iíve learned not to overspray. Itís there when I think itís not. Itís vanilla wrapped with a nutty feel but not a traditional vanilla. This vanilla is smooth, creamy, mellow, powdery, fruity and musky. Itís moonlit nights, eyeliner, jazz music and funky shoes. Itís mood perfume.
There is a sophistication and maturity to Hanae Mori that can be pulled off appropriately by the right woman if sheís flaunting herself naturally. Itís a sensual perfume that begs to be worn by a Seductress. The incense of this fragrance wafts around her innocently yet captures others. Thereís a smokiness to it thatís not heavy at all but there, just light enough to mesmerize.
Hanae Mori is a thick perfume if applied too heavily. It will come back with the heat of your skin and tickle your nose when you least expect it. Although its thickness can be somewhat off-putting to some, that quality gives it a unique, almost viscous feel. Thatís its muskiness drawing you in. Itís a heavy and thick musk with a sweetness that wraps around the vanilla with a gauzy scarf. This is a season-less perfume with mild floral undertones that can be worn anywhere, anytime, as long as you donít go heavy on the spritzing finger.
There are four fruits in the top notes to tantalize you. Blueberry, blackberry, strawberry and black currant work together with the middle and base notes to create the vanilla which is actually not listed. Wearing Hanae Mori you definitely feel this is a vanilla-based perfume.
Hanae Mori is considered a linear perfume, meaning that altho there are three layers of notes, the perfume stays the same throughout its run. It just stays beautiful throughout its many hours of runtime.
The day I picked this up, I was on my way to visit my grandson. Naturally, I spritzed some on as soon as I bought it. I really didnít notice it while I was with him, thinking I had sprayed it very lightly earlier. When I returned home, I received a text from my daughter asking me what perfume her son was now wearing. I didnít realize so little would transfer to him. Thatís how strong Hanae Mori really is.
Hanae Mori doesnít announce herself but youíll remember she was there. Kind of like a butterfly. She leaves a lasting impression.
The notes for Hanae Mori pink butterfly are:
Top Notes: Black Currant, Wild Strawberry, Blackberry, Blueberry.
Middle Notes: Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Rose, Peony.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Virginia Cedar, Brazilian Rosewood, Almond Tree.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wear Angel, Hypnotic Poison, Addict, Prada Candy, you get the idea. I am a certified vanilla whore, but I love branching out into fruitier gourmand scents. This Hanae Mori scent sounded perfect on paper- almond and sandalwood with berries. I enjoyed it when sprayed on a blotter as well. Then I wore the EDT and everything went horribly wrong. My skin chemistry warped this into a synthetic floral nightmare. The ylang-ylang was way too prominent and all the berry notes turned very sharp. As such, I had to remove it and had a similar experience with the EDP. I think I would like this if it had a darker muskier side but in its full throttle happy fruity true form, I have to pass. Additionally, I noticed a strange similarity between this and JS Fancy, the latter having a much more caramelized finish. I already have and enjoy Fancy so I probably won't revisit Miss Mori, but I recommend it to those with a sweet tooth who wear fruity gourmands well.


on 2/10/2014 11:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Originally this was my HG fragrance, but it's not anymore. Right now it's too too strong for me.

It's very seductive and attractive. It's fruity sweet but in a delicious kind of wayóit's the black currant. It's really good. Complex.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Top Rated Hanae Mori Products

Back to Top