La Maison de la Vanille • Vanille Noire du Mexique • Fragrances

rated 4.0(89 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 1/21/2012 11:35:00 AM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

"Elegant and refined, this powdery fragrance has sparkling top notes of bergamot soothed with the richness of rose, jasmine, iris and patchouli."
This is my favorite of the La Maison de la Vanille scents. It surprised me, because I thought that it would be my least favorite based on the description. I'm usually not into powder, citrus, or florals, and this blend is all of those things, but in the best way possible.
First on, Vanille Noire du Mexique starts off a bit vanilla-powdery and with lots of the prettiest bergamot I've ever smelled (like a smooth, creamy, sweet lemon candy). As it dries down, the florals come out, but it's jasmine and rose at their best. The rose smells candied and the jasmine is warm and sunny and reminds me of honeysuckle. After about an hour, it settles into a warm, rich amber and marshmallow-y vanilla on my skin. Warm and pleasant in all of its stages <3
I wish it were a bit stronger/longer lasting, but it does last about five hours on me with decent throw.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LNSklnjr on 12/4/2011 6:27:00 PM more reviews by LNSklnjr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a big fan of vanilla in all its forms - from overly sweet and sugary to spicy and oriental. This, on me, was powdery, much to powdery. Its like my chemistry ate up everything else in the fragrance. I did not find it warm and inviting at all, more like old lady after-bath powder (translate: Jean Nate). For reference, my go-to scents include: Lolita Lempicka, Coco Mlle, Hugo Deep Red, BBW warm vanilla sugar, Vanilla Lace...Also, while the container is fun and different and ..shiny (come on ladies, who doesnt love shiny), I dislike that you cannot see usage, especially since this is a scent I quickly put up for swap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shinegirl on 8/19/2011 7:24:00 PM more reviews by shinegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only la maison vanille that I like, and at first I did not love it. All the others were a little old smelling and kind of like rotten fruit with florals. I ordered the sampler. I kept on trying different ones trying to see if I would like them because they are so raved about..and I love vanilla. After trying all of them over and over again I kept on coming back to Vanille Noire du Mexique. I am not a huge fan of the opening notes but the complete dry down is amazing!!! Its warm and inviting with just a touch of a powdery note so it is not too sweet. I love it! YUMMM! I do think this is more of a fall to winter fragrance because of how warm it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dehmorais on 9/10/2010 3:12:00 AM more reviews by dehmorais

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very unique just like the other vanilles. Itīs an elegant, misterious, dark type of vanila. Itīs more mature, I believe the jasmine note makes it more comfortable, more wearable than the other ones. But I still love Sauvage du Madasgacar. The evolution on the skin is what I find very interesting about these fragrances. Itīs amazing to see how they really change everytime on the skin. So try it out on your skin before you dislike it completely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lisaandtheword on 3/16/2010 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Lisaandtheword

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Liked this at first, the softness & fullness together, but ev'time I wore it it smelled more like vanilla cookies, a bit too sweet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 3/23/2009 5:49:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Mmmm, sultry.
I must confess I'm drawn to La Maison de la Vanille fragrances by the exotic French names evoking faraway warm places, and by the lovely aluminium bottles. About the scents, well, they all have those festive, brilliant opening notes but sadly they all end smelling the same to my nose.
About this one, in particular: well, this is a "different" vanilla, in that it won't convey that peculiar foody note so many vanillas have. Mexique tones down the vanilla beans among meaty petals of rich flowers like rose, jasmine and iris, thus giving the fragrance a sophisticated, rich and elegant edge. The rose, the most prominent flower here, also creates a light smokey effect to my nose.
It's an enveloping charming fragrance, one that won't cloy or ennoy anyone. In fact, it's lovely. About the staying power, well I don't smell much after one hour, but I had people comment on my scent (which happens rarely) well after 3 hours, so it must have sillage.
One lippie off because, anyway, La Maison doesn't use real vanilla beans but prefers the cheaper synthetic version, and my nose recognizes that from a distance.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 12/27/2008 12:17:00 PM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I agree that this smells a bit like a light version of Shalimar, which isn't a bad thing--no funky leather or mysterious balsams to challenge you, just the powdery-sweet bits. Perfume should sometimes be easy and comfortable. I also agree with the review at 1000scents that the opening is reminiscent of Tocade--sweet rose-vanilla brightened by bergamot. Powder-haters be warned, but otherwise, this is easy to love. Not too sweet, just hints at foodiness, perhaps a bit more strongly than the vanillic Guerlains, but still grown-up enough for me to wear unhesitatingly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 george3b on 10/1/2008 7:16:00 AM more reviews by george3b

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I spray this on as I'm getting dressed for work. At work I sit quietly in my office and hear most people at the corridor discussing on what that nice smell is. One of them eventually comes in to my office and says "so this is where that nice smell is coming from".

Yes, Vanille Noire du Mexique's sillage is MASSIVE. There is not a day when I have this on that no one asks me what I'm wearing. It is a lovely vanilla scent, sweet and spicy and one that everyone will agree on as being a pleasant scent.

Vanilla's are usually warm and are better worn in cooler weather but this has got something refreshing about it at the same time. It starts off with some spice, reminiscent of Zenzero to my nose but in a friendlier way, then all the spice smooths out and turns in to a light sweet vanilla. The fragrance is generally light, bright and quite transparent despite the massive sillage.

Downside is that it's a little too clean and feminine for me. After wearing this for a day, I dont feel quite myself. I come home and start rummaging through my fragrances looking for something with a bit more "kick" or "edge" to it. I also dont like the usual comment I get which is "I smell chocolate". Chocolate is nice but I dont want to smell like it (and to my nose it does not smell like chocolate!).

Others seem to have commented that this does not last but it does indeed on me. It last better than my Passage d'Enfer, Hiris and Le Chevrefeuille. Sprayed on before work it last until about lunch time.

Update: I dont really reach for this anymore. It's too sweet and feminine for my liking. It's not "me".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shwets on 9/22/2008 3:46:00 PM more reviews by Shwets

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

One of the finest vanillas i have smelt so far. This is refined and not musky. Delicately sweet and spicy without being cloying. It is a better version of Allysa Ashley's Vanilla. One of the fewest vanillas that doesn't give me a headache. It is yummy without being too foody. I prefer this to Lavanila's Pure Vanilla which is a floral vanilla to my nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 8/2/2008 10:22:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So very like my beloved Vanille del Madagascar that I had to try them side by side. Madagascar has more smoke than this, but both are a touch smokey and both are just gorgeous. As other reviewers has stated, it's not a foody vanilla, as far as vanilla can be not foody. The added notes aren't obvious, nor can you separate them out, but what you end up with is a velvety, dark vanilla with some indefinable elegance, some feeling of mystery and comfort in the same song. Gorgeous.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Maison de la Vanille products

More Fragrances products