Redken • Hair Cleansing Cream • Shampoo

rated 4.5(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 4ever29 on 10/17/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by 4ever29

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

So I couldnt find my true love "Joico - K-PAK Chelating Shampoo". I thought OK, I'll get this, such amazing reviews it should be the same. Ummm...in no way does this perform the same way. I dont know what magic is in the Joico stuff, which gets all the hard water deposits outta my hair and instantly becomes soft and managable and my uber dry, wiry, kninky colored hair looks like a model after I use the Joico.
The Redken just stripped my hair dry and made it into the biggest brillo pad you have ever imagined. I usually co-wash and do a clarify before I get my grays covered once a month.
So I stuck with this for several months, well because I couldnt find my Joico. Well each time just horrible!! I searched the ends of the earth for the Joico (amazon really ;]) Washed, used one of my two holy grail conditioners..".Enjoy" or AG Smooth Sleeek Argan Conditioner.
So long story if you ever wondered between the two, hands down the Joico. BTW, it is the only Joico product I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bflytilidy on 10/17/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by bflytilidy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shriveled up some of my strands and broke them off (like when you use too harsh bleach or something). Horrible product and I would love my money back, but can't find my receipt. STAY FAR, FAR AWAY!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pandasteaks on 10/8/2014 9:01:00 PM more reviews by pandasteaks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a creamy shampoo that will pull all the gunk out of your hair without weighing you down or over drying. I like to use this after using sticky products like hairspray and water wax. It's also great for after the beach when your hair has been exposed to the sun, salt, and sand. It clarifies and softens the hair.

The lather is thick and creamy. The smell is subtle, slightly citrus-y, very pleasant and not overwhelming.

Follow up after this shampoo with a thorough rinse and your favorite lightweight conditioner and your hair will thank you! It leaves your hair silky soft, smelling nice and clean, and bouncy. The price isn't amazing, but use your drugstore salon product sales and coupons the right way and you can get it for a steal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lime2000 on 8/13/2014 12:35:00 PM more reviews by lime2000

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is the most amazing hair product I've ever purchased! The scent is amazing- sort of citrus but clean smelling. After using it my hair was noticeably shinier. My hair is grossly course, but this softened it, giving it a silky touch. I would definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thestyleduckling on 8/7/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by thestyleduckling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was a miracle God-send. I moved from a place with fairly neutral water to somewhere that I couldn't even DRINK the water. At first I didn't know what was happening- the hard water took a little bit to ruin my hair. But after a month and a half I was to the point that I couldn't even wear it down anymore. I was wearing a bun or braid pretty much 24/7. I had tried oils, creams, gels, mousses- nothing was working. I just started googling the different hair symptoms I was experiencing, and discovered that hard water was the problem. I immediately started doing research because my hair is the double whammy of curls- thick and dry. I didn't want anything too stripping, but I knew it had to be intense enough to remove two months of buildup (and all the products I'd be applying to try and remedy it already)

This did the trick in one single wash. Even my boyfriend commented how much different my hair looked. The bounce, shine, and body was back, and my curls were more better than ever. It wasn't drying (although I did use a moisturizing mask afterward) I'm planning to use this once a week (I rarely shampoo my hair more than 3x a week, and it's usually only 2x a week) to keep things looking fresh. I would recommend this product to anyone who has been living with buildup for a while, because you hair WILL thank you.

Disclaimer- I tested how my hair looks when straightened yet. I can't imagine it's any worse than the straw like, dull, and frizzy mess it was before though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kiwiblue on 7/9/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Kiwiblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing. Cleans perfectly without stripping all life from your hair. Leaves hair totally clean, squeaky but not dry. I use once a week or so when my hairs feels in need of a good clean. Love this paired with Redken colour extend magnetics conditioner. Have repurchased many times.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fredrica32 on 7/8/2014 7:00:00 AM more reviews by fredrica32

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Way too drying for my fine, wavy hair. It felt like straw. Used once and returned to store.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ajb1 on 4/21/2014 5:12:00 AM more reviews by ajb1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Other    

I didn't find this shampoo to be anything special, BUT my fine, curly and rapidly graying hair is very persnickety, and so many variables go into how it looks--weather, amount of conditioner and styling products, drying method, stage of coloration--that I'm starting to think the shampoo I use is utterly irrelevant. I'm only "meh" about Hair Cleansing Cream's smell and packaging, so I won't buy again, since one of my shower goals is to be sensually delighted. However! On impulse I tried some of it to clean a round of makeup brushes and it was absolutely excellent at getting the gunk off them, and they dried soft, so for that four lippies! (It's also probably telling at what it will do for your actual hair, if not mine.)

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pammys25 on 4/19/2014 5:24:00 AM more reviews by pammys25

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing!!!!! I couldn't believe a shampoo would make this much difference. I have tried so many salon products over the last 15 yrs or so. I have naturally spiral curly red hair. No perms, no blow drying and my hair is a matted mess in the shower. I have had well water the last 7-8 yrs. I can actually run my fingers through my hair with ease in the shower and use less conditioner. I buy my husband a cheap store brand and ran out of his and he used mine (yes..MINE!). I bought his and found him using 'mine' again. I said hey- what's up I bought your shampoo and he admitted (after complaining I spent way too much for shampoo) it was a great product (this from a construction worker/biker guy!). I use it every time I wash my hair and have no problems with it being too dry or dull. The smell is great also. If they ever change this product Redken will get a tastefully nasty message!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PaleInComparison on 4/14/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love the light lemon scent of this shampoo, I'd probably use it daily for the scent if it wasn't a clarifying shampoo. Since it is though, I use it once a week or every other week to get the gunk and built up product out of my wavy hair. I get the softest, fluffiest curls the days I use this and I don't notice any extra dryness (perhaps a bit of extra frizz). But it's worth it, especially during the summer when I swim a lot or anytime I get chlorine in my hair from the gym pool. The smell of chlorine gives me a headache when it lingers and this has been great for eliminating it.

I was never one to buy expensive clarifying shampoo before this but my hairdresser recommended this when I was swimming in a chlorine pool regularly. The price was a bit high but since I use it so sparingly the bottle has lasted me forever. I have changed hair products, shampoos, conditioners etc while using this and it has worked with all products. When I run out I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Shampoo products