Redken • Rough Paste 12 ragged texture hair paste • Styling Products

rated 4.1(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shamuball on 5/11/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by shamuball

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

not crazy about this. i have short spiky hair + am hunting for a great wax. pros: medium hold doesn't make hair look stiff
cons: 1. smell is kind of floral chemical, but not overpowering; 2. the dispenser is so weird! you push up from the bottom of the bottle, then press a button on top that dispenses the paste. the first few times i ended up w/way too much product on my fingers b/c i pressed too hard or pushed the bottom too far up or something; 3. takes a while to emulsify on fingers + can leave white streaks in your hair, which go away when worked in, but that means more minutes spent on hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 11/5/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is more matte than most pomades or pastes, so if you're looking for a shine product look elsewhere. However, if you want texture and hold, that won't weigh your hair down or leave it looking greasy, give this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* synergena on 6/20/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by synergena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff - Rough paste 12.

I have longer (bra strap length) hair and this is great for
-controlling flyaways and frizz
-adding texture
-making my hair feel thicker/less whispy and easier to style

I apply a walnut size amount to wet hair and dry.

Only drawback: I hate the packaging, which often gets clogged up from product drying up in the spout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nailpolishdebby on 3/13/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by nailpolishdebby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had my hair cut @ a salon some months ago into long layers. I didn't want them to use a razor (heard its not good for your hair) but wanted the ends to be "choppy/textured". The stylist used this on the ends and it was great for that. The smell didn't bother me-she had told me there was a fragrance to it and that it was usually targeted to men (guess that's why it smells like cologne to some). But it was amazing. Now that I have gone shorter,this comes in very handy to get the choppy look. Does not weigh my fine hair down or give it a greasy feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crossett on 3/5/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by crossett

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yes it is expensive, but it is the best. I tried Garnier and it smells great, otherwise a total waste of money as it didn't hold my hair - not even a little bit. I also have Paul Mitchell wax, but it doesn't work like paste. Don't be cheap, if you need paste - this is the paste to buy. Nothing else works like this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kellylynn22 on 10/19/2011 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Kellylynn22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have long, thick, layered hair, and wanted a little bit of texture in the layers. This product works GREAT-and I don't find a lot of products that I love. After drying and straightening my hair, I rubbed a small amount in my hands and ran it through the ends of my hair-just the top layer. It adds that little bit of separation between layers and as a bonus-keeps away frizzies and flyaways. It does not feel sticky or gooey at all. There is a bit of a men's cologne fragrance to it-but I kind of like it. And after an hour or so you don't even notice it. Love, love, love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 12/28/2010 1:14:00 PM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I have fine hair that I recently had cut short so I wanted a product to get that piecy textured look. It's Redken code 12 which means it has a medium hold. I use a small amount on damp hair then blow dry. You can also use it on dry hair.
I do find it stays in better with hairspray. Possibly not as good as Redken's Rough Clay, which is for use on dry hair. Maybe better to combine the use of the two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zirk0518 on 10/14/2010 10:44:00 AM more reviews by zirk0518

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine and thin hair but sometimes a wave. Instead of using mouse that is crunchy, I wanted something that would help enhance the slight wave without crunch or weighing it down. I HATED this when I first bought it b/c I think I was using too much. I gave it a month and tried it again (I will not be defeated) and used a small small amount, rubbed it in my palms and put it in my hair the same way I moused my hair. It's light and it keeps from getting frizzy and gives a fun, easy look. I'm getting to the end of the bottle and can't decide if I should try something else that's not so expensive but it really was well worth the $$ and I'll keep it in my styling stash. My hair is getting past my shoulders so I think I need something even lighter as my hair gets longer and heavier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jenniferla32 on 10/1/2010 9:42:00 AM more reviews by Jenniferla32

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, this product COULD have been HG if it weren't for the smell. I usually don't get affected by the scents in hair products, but this was just overwhelming. I felt as if I had just made out with some guy wearing too much bad cologne...I smelled it ALL DAY. It was strong, and obviously not a feminine scent.

The product itself is great, though! Defintely the texture of paste, and it did a great job at keep my side-swept hair off of my face. Added some volume, definitely provided texture for my piecey bob. I just couldn't take the smell, though. If it comes out in unscented, I'll rebuy...but for now, I keep searching :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxo241 on 12/16/2009 7:39:00 PM more reviews by xoxo241

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love love love this stuff!! It is amazing at achieving the 3rd-day hair bed head piecy look. It has pretty good hold, but it also works well with some hairspray to make it really hold. I know some people have said the smell is bad, but its one of the best part about this product! I think it smells so good, it has a earthy hippie sort of smell but not in a bad way!! A little goes a long way and the pump tube is genius!! Also I've read other reviews where people were complaining that you can't get all the product out, but if you push on the bottom it will move up and squeeze out more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products