Clairol • Jazzing • Hair Color

rated 3.1(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sjmbam on 3/26/2014 12:33:00 AM more reviews by sjmbam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

We bought this as temporary color for our daughter's hair for her role in a play - she's a natural blonde and needed to be a redhead for the role. We used the shade "Red Hot," and it did tinge her hair kind of red - but the red was very subtle. You have to leave it on for longer than the package recommends to get the color to show, and even then it's not hugely noticeable. It does stain skin and clothes, though - you definitely need to apply Vaseline along your hairline before using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maryjanebranigin on 12/14/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by maryjanebranigin

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this to cover gray. It only works if you you leave it on for at least an hour. I've tried both the Clairol Beautiful Collection Advanced Gray Solution and the CBC Moisturizing Color. Both work but the Moisturizing Color doesn't tend to last as long.
If you use heat I think the color takes even better. Of course both of these fade over a period of a few weeks. I have very porous hair but my grays are stubborn. Apply it to the stubborn areas first and as I said before leave it on for at least an hour. At least it doesn't damage my hair like all the other perm and semi-perm products do. I can really see a difference after using this for several months… no breakage at all.
Happy coloring!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HeySamJo on 8/14/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by HeySamJo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I have mixed feelings about this product. Back when I used to dye my hair a lot, this stuffed worked like a charm! However, I have not dyed my hair for two years, and after I did a strand test there was no change on my virgin hair. The clear IS fantastic for just about anyone, however unless you have porous hair, it probably isn't the best for you. I used "red hot" and it MAY have added a reddish tinge to my hair (my hair dark blond with highlights, slight wave, style resistant), but only to my highlighted areas. You really have to look HARD to see it. If you have chemically treated or relaxed hair, this would probably be a great find as it DOES add a sleek shine:) In the end, not good for virgin hair, great for processed :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helloitsme93 on 5/28/2012 9:10:00 PM more reviews by helloitsme93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the color mood indigo and racy wine. Both did not come out well. I followed the bottle and the color came out tealish instead of blue. Don't expect the color to last long, after 3 washes it completely came off. I tried it a second time leaving it in for 2-3 times longer then the bottle says, after a couple washes the color came out and left in a green tint on my hair for a week. Someone suggested that I leave it in a couple hours because thats how she gets her colors that bright. I listened to her advice and it came out similar to before. Also because the color came out so easily, it dyed my skin. Within the process I washed my hands (I wore gloves but rinsed with my hands) and arms multiple times because the color would keep coming off and going on my skin. I just did it a third time today and I could have sworn I washed my hands clean but they have blue blots and spots on them again. Racy wine came out a dark brown purple instead of a bright red/pink. The colors don't even go on even, I have parts of my hair teal, blonde, and green. Save yourself time, water, soap and don't buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tempescape on 2/8/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by tempescape

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Utter crap. I used Bold Gold amongst other brown shades on my bleached blonde hair and none of them worked. As soon as I rinsed my hair the dye went with it. At $7 a bottle it's a total waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* faija on 2/4/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by faija

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is for Fuschia Plum. I've seen other people use it and have their ears and clothes stained and I didnt want that. What I did was do an Aphogee treatment (the one where you let it get hard), then put the rinse in. I made sure to sit under the dryer for at least 30 mins. Worked like a charm. My hair is dark so it was just a tint, but it gave me color without damaging my hair which is what I wanted.

I recommend using the Aphogee and making sure to sit under a dryer. I think the Aphogee trick only works if you have a perm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 11/30/2011 12:24:00 AM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This review is for the shade CREAM SODA. When my hair was red, I mixed it with a cherry color, and it looked great. Recently, I dyed my hair black with a very misleading shade that turned out navy blue. I remembered that I had a bottle of cream soda left from long ago, and figured that since blue tones out the orange in blonde hair, then it would make sense for an orangey gold to tone out blue. Thankfully I was right. Worked like a charm! I have nothing but good things to say because of that!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 petiteprincess on 11/26/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by petiteprincess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't expect much from this product,and while I wasn't overwhelmed by the results,I was pleasantly surprised. I got "Ruby Red" with the intention to turn my dark brown shoulder length hair a nice red-violet burgundy with out any bleach or anything else that would severely damage my hair.,just to experiment over Thanksgiving break.I did a strand test and it turned a very nice purple-red brown,which I was pleased with. Although the color does not show up in pictures,I think it's a quite pretty color of maroon. However,this dye stains fast,and it is the ugliest color of cheeto-orange I have ever seen.My mom and most of my bathroom are stained with this color and it is not coming off. Also, I'm worried the color has begun to fade and it's only day 2!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FedoraJane on 5/11/2011 7:17:00 PM more reviews by FedoraJane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have bought the Jazzing in Moon Indigo twice now and been disappointed both times.


The first time I purchased it, it literally had no effect on my hair whatsoever. It just washed out like children's fingerpaint. I ended up throwing away whatever I hadn't attempted to use.


My second encounter with Jazzing was born out of desperation (My hair had just been buzzed and my muddy-colored roots were showing) and cheapness.


My usual go-to, L'Oreal's Starry Black is a wopping eleven bucks at my local Wal-Greens, a bit more than I'm willing to spend. Especially since I don't need a whole bottle, just enough to do the buzzed sides of my mohawk.

So I went next door to the local hair supply shop and poked around for some alternatives. I spied the Jazzing display again and upon seeing the six dollar price tag and conveniently resealable bottle, was promptly hypnotized into forgetting my prior disappointment with it.


Fast-forward to me on my next day off, having bleached my hair in preparation the night prior. I open the bottle and pour out the dye, finding that it appears inordinately oil and runny-looking for a modern semi-perm. I expected it to be messy as hell and a hassle to use by the consistency alone and really, that was the only expectation of mine Jazzing lived up to.


I heat treated it and left it on even longer than the bottle directed, crossing my fingers that I did 'something right' this time around and would get the results promised on package. But as I hinted at earlier, Jazzing really let me down.


Not only did its runny, syrupy texture leak everywhere around my neckline and hairline - permeating barrier gel, and stubbornly stained the hell out of my skin - it didn't stick to my hair at all! I had a few tiny patches of faded teal, not even indigo, that looked like someone had rubbed my head with Aldi's brand Kool-Aid mix.


So I don't know. It ended up being a waste of time and a waste of money that stained my skin but not my hair. I guess this would be totally awesome if you were into turning yourself into a smurf or one of those aliens from Avatar but it fails as a hairdye on all levels.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flybaby on 1/26/2011 12:57:00 PM more reviews by flybaby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I initially planned to use the clear color just to add more shine to my hair. But, when I was looking at the display at Sally's, I saw that the Spiced Cognac shade appeared to be close to the honey/amber the lighter shades of my hair are After finding it could be used as a deposit only semi-permanent color I decided to give it a whirl.


My natural hair color is a medium warm brown, it used to develop golden reddish highlights from the sun, and then I began getting professional highlights in my late thirties, moved on to all over base haircolor plus highlights in my forties. By time I was 50 it was base color, highlights, keratin straightening, occasional forrays in to Great Lengths extensions... you get the picture ~ $$$!

About a year and a half ago I stopped going to a colorist and started down the slippery path of Home Color. I just wanted to have my grays be my highlights, and, as many "do it yourself" dyes are translucent, that did not seem an unreasonable game plan.


Something went terribly wrong at first. I don't know if it was the combo of one too many (professional) Brazilian Keratin treatments and me putting demi color on top of permanent color (Goldwell was what my colorist had used) or perhaps it was the decision to switch to Revlon cornsilk, but needing to use heat to bring my hair to the desired shade (I was using Strawberry Blonde) whatever it was, I had extreme breakage, my hair would just snap, not even stretch first, it would just break off. Horrible, it felt like straw. I cut so much off that I kind of looked like David Bowie in his glam rock stage.


Next I tried to get Loreal Preference to work, and discovered 6A (amber something). It is the perfect color for my natural hair, the highlights (i.e. grays) are not quite as vivid as I would like, but my new growth is not that noticeable. I'm at least 60% gray on the top of my head, not so much underneath.


I'd read some reviews here where the person had luck with gray coverage with Jazzing, so I figured, what was to lose? If I could keep from having to touch up new growth due to grays about every 3 weeks with permanent hair color ( my hair grows SO fast!) this strategy could help get my hair into such good condition again. Plus, I hated how the odor from Preference permeated the drains in the bathroom. My bathroom is near the foyer of our home, and the one which our guests use. The ammonia smell from Preference tends to linger unless I pour Clorox down the drains after. If I don't, it just screams dirty cat litter box, without the litter box! Hence another plus for trying Jazzing.


I read the reviews about product staining, etc. I went into the bathroom armed with Aquaphor (didn't have Vaseline) to use as a barrier, I had the long rolled cotton to put around my hairline. I had gloves, I took all of the rugs and towels out of the room. How bad could it be, right? Well, it didn't seem like the Jazzing was any runnier that other hair colors, so that wasn't an issue as far as destroying my bathroom goes. I used heat for about 30 minutes, and rinsed with cool water (shower wand held trying to keep most water going down the drain, but had no issues with it staining tile or grout on shower floor anyway.) I shampooed well, rinsed with cool, conditioned, rinsed with cool water. I was majorly optimistic.... Until I saw it in the mirror after stepping out of the shower!


It stained my forehead despite the barrier jelly. . Importantly it didn't really cover the gray that was new growth, only gray which had previously had permanent haircolor applied to it. So, it was a huge fail for me.


The color was also not how it was represented on label. It is a much fierier orange-ier red, not amber like. So, most of my hair had this fake red look to it, and my roots were still gray. It stained my scalp, which I expected, but because it didn't color my hair at the roots it looked really bad. I tried getting the dye to come off of my forehead and neck with nailpolish remover, as I've had luck in the past getting this to work for permanent haircolor that got onto hard surfaces in my bathroom. It didn't remove it, although it lightened it, and made my skin raw!. So, when posters remark that it stains you skin, this needs to be in BOLD letters! Its not some minor stain, its old lady with a bad hair "dip" stain lol (but really not funny!) My hair was not any shinier after, but maybe it has a different effect if the clear color is used (??)


So, I ended up using my Preference the next day, pulling it through to the ends as much as I could with only one bottle's worth of coverage. This got rid of a lot of the too red in my hair, the rest I'm presuming will fade out with washing. It also helped get the dye off of my skin and scalp.

Jazzing was mostly just a waste of my time, as it was only about $5 per bottle. ( I used about 1 1/2 bottles, my hair is thick, and comes down a few inches past my collar bone. )

I did not want to rate it horribly, as it is after all temporary and inexpensive. The odor was not bad, the squeeze bottle was nice, not having to mix was nice. But it didn't add shine for me, the color didn't turn out anything like I expected, and the staining of skin was just awful to look at.

I'm on the fence about whether I would repurchase in Clear, or just give up on it completely.

EDIT If I try Clear, I may mix it with a tiny bit of leftover color and use it as a color refresher, keeping off the scalp! I think if the color was diluted and used in this manner, it might be a nice brightening effect to refresh my permanent color. If I do I will update here.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Hair Color products