NARS • Madrague Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 maicdl on 10/6/2013 2:25:00 PM more reviews by maicdl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the perfect product to achieve a beautiful natural eye look in mattes.
The texture is smooth, feeling very soft on the skin and has a great staying power. Used over primer can last all day. Has a certain transparency even though it's quite pigmented, resulting in the perfect barely-there crease look, put some eye liner and red lipstick and turn it sophisticated. The slight warmth of the tones gives off a healthy aura.
I use this every day, mainly because most days I go for a natural look applying the lighter shade on the entire lid up to the eyebrows and the darker shade for the crease and the lower lash line; other days I use as a base for the entire lid. I have also used it with other eye shadows and it blends perfectly.
These are two of my favourite matte eye shadows. Highly recommended, this is a duo you will always use. An indispensable for me, wish it was more affordable!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissJacqui85 on 12/10/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by MissJacqui85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Best. The ultimate for a natural eye. I am tan and thought this would be too light,but its perfect. Have never found a base colour so perfect on me, or a contour colour that looks so natural. Blends like no ones business. Did I say it's the best?:) same comment on price as others-but then I ask you all, isn't that why we're all so happy with this product ?;) in this case we are getting what we paid for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lclc on 4/24/2012 1:32:00 PM more reviews by lclc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to, quick, everyday eye shadow. Love! Worth the expense because of ease of application, staying power, and the understated, yet polished look it gives me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gconn on 3/28/2012 10:30:00 AM more reviews by gconn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I purchased this a year and a half ago and just hit pan on the lighter shade. It's an everyday staple for me.

Texture for the lighter shade (matte cream) is amazing - it's powders up very easily, and goes on incredibly smooth. It's actually very pigmented, though it's hard to tell because it's so close to skin tone. I use this as a base shade to even out my eyelids (NC20) and also use it underneath my lower lashes to prevent eyeliner and mascara smudges and brighten the eyes. I've used this in a pinch in place of concealer.

The darker shade (matte caramel) isn't as soft, but still very smooth and blendable. A very subtle contour for the eyes, and also works as a base shade. You can layer this underneath a different color of shadow to create an near-invisible contour.

I'm currently trying to find a suitable cheaper replacement for this duo, but haven't been able to find a pair with the right textures and shades in one convenient package. Everything I've tried is either shimmery (the matte nature of these shadows is what makes them so versatile), chalky, too warm, too cool, too dark or light, or packaged with a bigger palette. Will probably repurchase, unless there's something more affordable out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zowye2002 on 12/25/2011 2:59:00 PM more reviews by zowye2002

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I been searching for a great eyeshadow that could replace a neutral nude eyeshadow that I had from Avon when I was in high school and this Christmas morning it was gifted to me. For people who are light to medium or in the range of skin tones from MAC are NC30 or MUFE 203 in the powder foundation or who have neutral warm skin tone with bits of beige undertones this color will act as a nude eyeshadow. I decided to apply it over my eyelids with along on my lips the Montego Bay from NARS and I must say it made me look as if I were not wearing any make-up, still looking natural with barely there make-up.

In my opinion every woman or man should have in their make-up case a nude eyeshadow, you have a nude lipstick? Right? Well for me this is my nude eyeshadow and will be using a bit more often. My only complain is the price.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CarolynKeene on 12/12/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by CarolynKeene

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I donít know how I lived without this duo in my life. Iíve had this for several months now, and I use it nearly every day. The ivory/cream side serves as a great base for other shadows and is handy for blending. The soft caramel/tan side (swatched in store, it looked similar to UD Naked and Smashbox Nude) is the ideal crease color. It also works beautifully as a subtle liner along my lower lash line. Although I'm cool-toned (NW15/blue eyes for reference), I do better with warmer browns as cool-toned browns make me look tired. Both matte shadows apply like buttah with no powdery kick-up or fall-out, and last all day over primer.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katharineb on 2/10/2011 11:40:00 PM more reviews by katharineb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE LOVE this shadow. I keep looking for a less expensive substitute but can't find one. Perfect matte neutrals - just perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MackMimiMommy on 12/23/2010 8:01:00 PM more reviews by MackMimiMommy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a beautiful color combination. There is a warm cream or light camel color. Then, there is a darker warm brown. It applies velvety. It looks beautiful once applied. Madrague has golden or yellow undertones to it. It is like nothing I've seen on my eyes before. I think sometimes we get confused and use cool colors on our eyes, but it can tend to make some people (me) look bruised or ill. This does not make me look ill. It enhances my green eyes. I love it. I don't even always need liner with this as it stands on its own without liner. I also like how it is a duo, and I don't have to open another eyeshadow container to finish my shadow application.


I do not love the packaging of NARS in general. I don't like how they attract smudges. I also don't like how it looks exactly the same as other NARS products, so it is hard to discern what is what.


I will be repurchasing in the future.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuzyCutie on 8/15/2010 2:49:00 PM more reviews by SuzyCutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this after nearly hitting pan on my BB Nude on Nude palette,which I don't think I've ever done on anything.I love my matte nudes,and I love them even more when there are no red/peach tones in them.This is what you will get with Madrague-straight up cream and light brown.The shades have decent pigmentation,very soft,little to no powdery fallout.They stay put well over an eyeshadow primer,basically echoing what other reviewers have mentioned.Lately I've been wearing red and coral lipsticks, and this is the perfect eye palette to complement them.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Schelli on 1/2/2010 8:13:00 PM more reviews by Schelli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Great soft, neutral shadow duo from NARS. Soft matte colours, go on smoothly, stay all day and blend beautifully. I like the light colour for all over base and highlighter and the darker makes a nice soft contour in crease. I'm usually very picky about browns but this soft combo looks great

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products