Dr. Hauschka Translucent Bronze Concentrate

4.5

117 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Alcohol, Anthyllis Vulneraria Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Lysolecithin (Hydrolyzed Lecithin), Beeswax/Cera Flava, Fragrance/Parfum (Essential Oil), Citral, Linalool, Farnesol, Benzyl Benzoate, Limonene, Citronellol, Geraniol, Benzyl Salicylate, Coumarin, Eugenol, Benzyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Algin, Arachis Hypogaea (Peanut) Oil, Chlorophyllin-Copper Complex/CI 75810, Iron Oxides 5/29/09


on 4/20/2015 7:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I have been a big fan of Dr. Hauschka, I normally rotate using Dr. Hauschka's products and Decleor Aromessence oil and balm, occasionally experiment with other natural/ organic products here and there.

I am Asian with a relatively light skin tone, and I would like to add some natural tan and glow on my cheeks without sun tanning. 10 years ago, I had tried Dr. Hauschka Bronzing Powder Compact, I applied it with a brush very light handed, and I dislike it. It looked more like a blush and not translucent, it was like a very pigmented solid brown and did not blend well with my skin tone, looked unnatural, dirty and without glow. Not so easy to control.

Recently, my friend purchased this Dr. Hauschka Translucent Bronzing Tint from Germany along with a bunch of other products, she did not mean to buy this one and passed the bottle to me as a gift. So I started to experiment with this tint.

Surprisingly, it turns out that I quite like how this one works. It is translucent with a good light texture and consistency, blends and spreads very well, you can build up its intensity gradually if you want. I apply this on top of moisturizer and sunscreen, mostly on my cheeks to give my skin a healthy tan glow, it contains some microscopic glitters but not dramatic, won't make you look like a clown. It can make blemishes less noticeable but this in fact is not created to provide any coverage. It also layers well with highlights, shimmers, blushes. For example, High Beam by Benefit, or a golden peach color creamy blush by Shu Uemura, or a mineral loose powder I purchased from Japan (a local Hokkaido brand).

All you need is a tiny drop, 1/2 of a pump would possibly be more than enough, normally I do not pre-blend it. I dab it on my cheekbones, temples, tiny bit on the bridge of my nose, along with my hairline and chin with fingers until it blends into the skin. Blend it with a blush to make it more natural. Can be used alone, gives me a healthy tan, or can be applied with blush and highlight.

On a no-makeup day, I would use this on top of moisturizer, and I am not worried about having to take it off, because the ingredients are better than all natural and great for the skin.

30ml a bottle can probably last forever, the dispenser pump can be twist-locked, so you can carry it around in your luggage/ cosmetic bag without spilling. The scent smells herbal, natural and refreshing. Anyone can use this basically.

Get a sample and give this a try, you won't regret.





on 3/17/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am probably on my 10th bottle of this stuff. It is so amazing. I mix it with my moisturizer. I also put it over my Dr. Jarts Dis-a-pore BB to counteract how pale the cream makes me. It gives me a great glow! It is pricey but totally worth it. I can't even feel it on my skin. It gives just a slight shimmer. Use sparingly!! Especially if you are as pale as I am.


on 2/5/2015 10:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The color was off both for myself and a friend. Very obviously looked like bronzer. I didn't like the way it darkened my face, w/o any payoff or added benefit in terms of texture, sheen... I don't know, but it I've worn other bronzers that weren't flat and that I thought were pretty. I returned this.


on 9/12/2014 7:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

It burns on my skin.Difficult to work with and accentuates dry patches


on 7/9/2014 6:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Stunning stuff. I get compliments on my glow when I wear it. Because of the size of the bottle and the expiry (it's not packed with nasties so it expires quicker than other stuff), I feel justified to use it all the time. I'm half Indian half white so I go pretty sallow in the winter and I love using this to offset that.

I mix it with my Green People facecream and it goes on beautifully. You notice a slight (and gorgeous) smell but other than that, no difference to the feel of the cream.

I find it evens out the tone of the skin, so blemishes are less obvious and oddly the skin feels softer too (not sure how this can be true but it does feel like that!).

Very expensive to buy but totally worth it. I've stopped bothering with foundations etc. now, not that I was ever a big makeup user, and having a skin which changes colour radically with the sun isn't a good basis for having minimal amounts of makeup product on hand (and shades!).

it's fun to play with using more or less.

I read a lot of the reviews on here before I got it, and I was super impressed with the reviewer who said that their african-american boyfriend used it every day!

I'm in the UK and Dr Hauschka sent a sample of it for me to try out which was excellent (certainly wasn't going to pay that much to try something!) and it left me totally convinced.

The bottle is a bit annoying although I understand how they have to keep the rest uncontaminated but surely there must be a better dispenser out there? All the stuff I've had with these gold topped dispenser bottles have been leaky. The lock is pretty effective though.

Highly recommended!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2013 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A little goes a LONG WAY.


I use this to cancel out the pasty look my sunscreen gives me.

Step 1: Apply zinc oxide sunscreen.
Step 2: Dab a few spots of this on (like you would foundation) and then blend with the beauty blender sponge.

Result: glowing skin (not white, not orange).

Also can be used as a bronzer (like the label says).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2013 12:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I will start by saying that I'm not a bronzer person. I have never found a bronzer that looks good on me. I remember a lady at the Guerlain counter once tried to convince me otherwise and literally forced me into trying one of their bronzer but the effect was so bad that even she had to admit it and told me to just stay out of it.
Until I have found this. What the secret behind this product is, I can't tell. Maybe it's because it has no shimmer at all or maybe because it's so sheer and of just the perfect color it looks like a real, natural, healthy tan.
What is even better about it are numerous ways it can be used. You can use it alone, all over face for a subtle tan or you can apply it below or on the boney structures to contour.
It can be mixed with a moisturizer or - and this is my favorite feature - it can be easily mixed with a foundation either for a tanned look or to transform your lighter winter foundation into a darker summer one! It blends in beautifully with a foundation, especially the water based ones. I believe (I haven't tried this yet) you can also mix it into the physical sunblock to reduce the white cast it usually leaves.
It doesn't clog pores, evens out skin tone, neutralizes redness, doesn't dry out the skin and even hydrates a little.
It's a thick liquid packed in a glass bottle with a pump dispenser (I have no trouble getting out the amount of the product I want, you just need a little practice and I always wipe the pump with a tissue after I've used it to avoid clogging it - yes, this works!). It looks really dark and bad in the bottle but transforms into a sheer tint when applied.
I believe it's a product that just about anyone can make work for oneself.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2013 1:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Like other reviewers stated this is a very thin liquid bronzer with no shimmer that's meant to be used mixed with a lotion. It comes in a pump dispenser that dispenses way too much product and I don't think I would have bought this if I hadn't spotted it online for under $20 since the regular rate is upwards of $30. I love that it's good for your skin and it's much more subtle than others I've used. This gives a more naturaly tanned look without any orange tint or sparkles but I prefer to use a half pump with a physical sunscreen as opposed to moisturizer. When I use this with a moisturizer it's a bit too sheer and seems to emphasize any redness in my skin but with sunscreen it's a very pretty sunkissed color that lets me skip foundation and just use some concealer under my eyes. I'm not sure if I'd pay full price for this but I would repurchase if I could find it at a discounted rate again since it's less expensive than the Bronze Goddess bronzer I've been using to tint my sunscreen and skip the hassles of foundation matching.
*Update* 5/17
I've been using this every day now that the weather is warming up and the rest of me is getting more color than my face. It's easy to add to my sunscreen for as little or as much color as I want and it's perfect for daytime since it has no sparkle. The pump can still be a little hard to control but I could have gotten an oddball. This has never caused me to break out but I don't wear it alone either. Even though I find the price a bit much I'm getting ready to order a second bottle.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2012 8:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a must-have for when I am between foundation shades! I use it to darken my lighter foundation. It's pretty watery but pigmented, and absorbs well into skin. I've been using it on and off for 3 months, and am halfway through the bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2012 1:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Didn't want to shell out the bucks and had been using Cargos Multi Mix Bronzer which is discontinued:( Dr. H is not as concentrated as I had hoped and have to use a lot more than I'd like. I have used up a half a bottle in about 4 weeks. Also it does not blend with my zinc based SPF (Luzerns)as well as Cargos. A little streaky. I like to use silicone, synthetic fragrance and paraben free skin products.Next up is Omorovicza Sunkiss SPF 15 mucho $$$

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Bronzers


HOOLA
HOOLA
1233 Reviews
Chocolate Soleil
Chocolate Soleil
414 Reviews
Laguna
Laguna
1260 Reviews


Top Rated Dr. Hauschka Products

Back to Top