Alpha Hydrox • Enhanced Lotion - 10% AHA • Moisturizers

rated 4.2(169 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Sunegulf on 10/24/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Sunegulf

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My HG treatment for glowing skin. Apply at night and under moisturizer in the AM and my skin does just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 10/22/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am one of the unfortunate lot this product didn't work for, this gave a very bad horrible reaction, red bumps, itchy skin( insert some cursing here) Never reacted to anything like this before...my skin has gotten very sensitive lately. I learnt a very valuable lesson after using this product, never mess with a good thing! Waiting for all effing mess to clear up...AHA is defenetly out for me!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 serendipity764 on 10/11/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by serendipity764

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing. Along with my 0.025% tretinoin prescription every night, using this 4/7 days of the week, and 10% benzoyl peroxide every day, my acne that has been resistant to all other treatments is almost gone! I have been battling moderate acne for a year now, with huge inflamed painful pustules and whiteheads. Even with foundation, the texture of my bumpy skin would show through and my self confidence took a hit. Now my skin is smoother and I only have one pustule. My severe post inflammatory acne marks/hyperpigmentation is also almost gone after just 1 month. Amazing and so cheap! Don't waste your money on other products with snazzy marketing and fancy bottles. This actually works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MiaGator on 10/7/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by MiaGator

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, new Holy Grail. I completely second everything KellyCrash says below. My skin has always been very oily, has a few minor pimples every now & then. My main desires are to have more even-toned skin that loks poreless and refined. Enter this Enhanced Lotion. I should say I was skeptical about this brand since AHA Souffle was an unmitigated disaster for me and clogged every pore I had. Thankfully, this has none of those effects.

Upon first use, I woke up feeling like the surface of my skin was flatter--almost like what you think dermaplaning would do. I had done a RevLite laser treatment to target some leftover (brown) hyperpigmentation on my jawline and cheeks, and I was told the spots would get worse before they got better. They had risen to the surface and were an angry brown, which required some creative concealer camouflage that week in order to be presentable. Every morning that week, they'd be marginally better, but no big improvements.

The morning after I had slept in this then washed my face, the spots were HUGELY improved and drastically lighter. Cell turnover had been super fast. Pores looked smaller. Overall I seemed less oily, but not like I was dried out. Time will tell if it works on reducing any stubborn hyperpigmentation I have. After the dark spots from laser treatment wore off, I'm still left with some lighter residual spots. Time will also tell if this can help the fine line that's trying to get a foothold to the left of my mouth.

But overall, amazing results and literally overnight. I use this under a sunscreen during the day and under a moisturizer at night.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellyCrash on 9/27/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by KellyCrash

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a HG for me. It's like the fountain of youth in a bottle!! Every time I use it at night it seems like in the morning I wake up with amazing skin and I look so refreshed. It evens out any uneven skintones, helps minimize pores & of course helps with any lines.

I slack sometimes and don't use it because I don't particularly like the smell or the itchy tinglyness that it gives me. It doesn't last long and it's only a tiny bit bothersome. I was taking a break from it recently and came back to it. I don't know why I ever took a break! The PROS far outweigh the CONS here. I notice a difference overnight after using this product. Nothing else I have ever used worked that fast. I usually only use it at night, but recently have been using it AM and PM and it's making my skin amazing. You can use a moisturizer after applying, but I don't usually right now.

Admittedly I don't have a lot of skin issues to start with, but enlarged pores and uneven skin tone are issues along with some fine lines under the eyes. This helps with it all!

This is hard to find. I picked it up at Ocean State Job Lot for a very good price. I'm not sure if I'll be able to find it there again. I had used this years ago and loved it. I have been looking for something similar in other products, but nothing else compares!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jdvancza on 9/23/2014 3:10:00 PM more reviews by jdvancza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Solid choice for AHA lotion. No breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mittenzzs on 8/24/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by Mittenzzs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Decided to try this because ever since a horrible breakout I've been cursed with not only marks left behind but recurring breakouts in the same area. I've tried BHA's before and they didn't really do anything for my skin, so I decided to take a chance on this because I'd heard great stuff about AHA. The application feels nice, but I had expected some stinging because that's what others had said and yet I had none...so I feel like this has no effect on my skin whatsoever? It's only been 2 days though, so I'll put an updated review after about a week. This is just my first impression. Really hoping this product will work because I've heard so many good things about it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 8/14/2014 1:52:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First time user of an AHA lotion. I bought some stuff off ebay years ago and didn't see any results. It just stung and had to be neutralized with baking soda. It didn't improve my acne and didn't reduce my scaring or imperfections. At least not that I noticed.


I've known for awhile that BHA's work for me, but largely ignored AHA's after my first experience. Enter Lisa Eldridge who shared her skincare routine. She stated she had problems with acne and her routine helped. I of course couldn't buy all the high end stuff she had so I decided I would look for DS alternatives. Enter Alpha Hydrox, which I had seen good buzz about on MUA. I decided to pick up this lotion.


So far no increase in breakouts. This seems to dry out current break ups and has smoothed my skin. I've only been using for a few weeks so I can't say if it has reduced any pigmentation issues, but will update in the future about that in the future.


I use this at night only currently. Once the summer is over I might bump it up to morning and night application, but for now I just do the night application. You have to wear sunscreen when you wear this. I haven't gotten a burn yet, but I try to wear spf 50 everyday on my face. I also think not applying this in the AM has prevented unintentional burns.


This lotion did sting my face when I put it on at first, but it wasn't bad. It was nothing like the ebay acids. This was just slightly irritating. Definitely not painful. And unlike the ebay stuff this stays on all night and doesn't need to be neutralized. I like that. It also has a slight chemical smell, but it is similar to the smell of the ebay peel I bought. It isn't gross or obnoxious. It just has a smell.


I apply this to my face, neck and chest. Mostly because one squirt of this covers all of that surface area, plus Lisa E. made the point of saying that the neck and chest need cosmetic attention too. I guess it makes sense since the neck especially shows signs of aging.


The bottle says this is for dry skin. I believe that it just labeled that way because glycolic acid is a chemical exfoliate. My skin is not dry and it still works for me.


Overall very pleased with this product and will buy higher levels of glycolic lotions in the future. I have heard great things about the 12% souffle. I ended up buying the foaming face wash and it works well too.


Great brand and can't wait to try more stuff. :)


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sonicRED on 8/1/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by sonicRED

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried all sorts of skin care products over the years, and I can truly say, I never notice much of a difference. Some products will cause more drying or obviously not work, but almost never do I actually notice a measurable improvement in my skin. With this one, I did. from the very first day. I am in my twenties, but already dealing with fine lines and sagging skin in addition to my acne. My forehead had been permanently flaky despite trying a variety of moisturizers.

This took care of my forehead flakiness in just a few applications, and my skin no longer looks/feels so dehydrated. My acne has also noticeably improved. My foundation applies and looks better, it no longer sits on top of flaky, sad skin. This isn't a miracle product, I still have fine lines, acne and my skin isn't perfect. But it's as close as I've ever found!

My routine: OCM with sweet almond oil, dry with microfiber cloth, apply this lotion, wait a few minutes, apply my nightly moisturizer. In the morning I wash with just water and apply my sunscreen. The combo of OCM and this product seems to manage the acne, dryness and dehydration, which is difficult to do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ANA723 on 7/28/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by ANA723

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I stumbled across this in researching ways to get rid of my acne and scarring and am so glad I did. First week, I was amazed at the results! Second week...purge week...everything surfaced and I almost stopped using it. I am glad I didn't. Since then, I have not had one cystic pimple, I am finally wearing my bangs off of my forehead again, and skin appears to be improving. It isn't a "miracle-wipe away all of my scars and pores overnight" lotion, but what really is? My skin has lightened a lot, so I appear a little pale, but it's better than looking like a meth addict! I pair it with Physician's Formula Super CC+ cream and powder (which also is very light). I will continue to use this every night or every other night. I use pure aloe (yes, from the leaf) as a primer under my CC+ cream and only wash with Burt's Bees Soap Bark and Chamomile face wash. These products together have created relief for me and I am no longer 100% embarassed to have my face showing going out in public.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Moisturizers products