Pureology Pure Volume

3.6

72 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 8/31/2015 3:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair - fine (but lots of it!), coloured (natural dark blonde, dyed nearly black), and wavy, with a tendancy to go flat on top with a frizz halo (my nickname in highschool was "christmas tree hair"). I have a few long layers but anything other than that and my hair looks stringy. Anyways, I've tried so many different shampoos/conditioners and never really found anything I was happy with. I have access to a Cosmoprof so I mix between drugstore and salon brands. My most recent failure was Redken Frizz Dismiss line paired with Bumble and Bumble Hairdresser's Invisible Oil.

A few weeks ago, I had an Olaplex treatment done, and the stylist used Pureology Volume shampoo and conditioner, followed by L'Oreal Mythic Oil. I let my hair air dry while driving home and OMG the waves...the softness...amazing. I bought all 3 products last week and I'm really happy with them - a coworker commented that my hair looks fuller, so something must be working! I paid $35 CAD for a litre at Cosmoprof (stylist price), but I would definitely pay retail. Doesn't come with a pump, but that can be purchased separately.



on 7/31/2015 4:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I regularly get my blond hair dyed red. while I use Pureology's shampoo for red hair, I like adding this to the mix to help give my longer hair some life. I love this stuff! It smells great and doesn't weigh down my hair. It's also color-safe. I have a kid with very tangle-prone fine hair. I try every conditioner I use on her hair and no other rinse-out conditioner comes close to being as good as this one to leave us with hair I can easily comb.

Pureology is expensive and of course everyone's hair is different but for mine, it's well worth the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a little better than the shampoo because it doesn't stink like lavender patchouli, but it's still not great.

It's like any other conditioner that you can get for $3 at the drug store, except this one cost 9x that! I am very mad at myself for spending nearly $30 on a small bottle of conditioner that doesn't do anything.

It does not really product much volume. I use it with the shampoo. Leaves my hair dull. It does condition but not that much - just average.

I would never purchase this again and I will certainly never buy this brand. Cannot believe how much they charge for something you wash down the drain. It's back to DS brands for me.


on 10/19/2014 7:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Finally, an HG conditioner for my fine, dry, color treated hair!! I initially received a free sample at my salon, and was really impressed at how smooth and vibrant my hair looked after blow-drying it so I purchased the full size. Usually after I dry my hair, it looks like I stuck my finger in an electrical socket, but after conditioning with this product, my hair actually looks and feels more healthy. I've tried many conditioners from cheap to extravagant, and this is the first time I've actually noticed a significant difference in my hair's appearance and texture. I took one lippy off for the crazy, high price of $29.00 per bottle, but it's well worth it!

*EDIT* - I don't know what happened, but after the second or third use, this simply stopped working. It no longer makes my hair feel and look healthy and smooth, and in fact is a very mediocre conditioner. I've removed one lippy and will not purchase this again.


on 1/3/2014 2:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

One of the best, zero sulfates conditioner. Leaves my hair smooth and nice. Love it. The only minus: bottle and price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2013 1:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

**UPDATE 2-13-14*** It came to my attention that when I 1st tried Pureology, it was a new reformulated product NOT the original that so many folks LOVE. Well, I have tried the new, "new" Pureology Pure Volume Conditioner (I think they went back to original formula) and it still does not work well for me. I can tell that it does "something" to my hair as it feels poofier but it made it sort of flat and too soft for my liking. ***

ORIGINAL REVIEW : This product did not work for me. I have also reviewed Pureology Pure Volume Shampoo which I used with this conditioner & hated that even more than this because the shampoo has a distinctly male scent & it's not a pleasant male scent! The conditioner does smell better than the shampoo but it's still an odd smell. Not so much male, more neutral. I really didn't like this combo. Ended up after 2 shampoos/conditionings w/ drier, thinner looking hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2013 9:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Expensive, but I like it fine. Smells great -- takes a lot of conditioner - about 3X more than the shampoo. And it really makes my hair poofy! If you're going for volume, this will do it.


on 1/16/2012 9:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pureology is rediculous!!! has anyone seen the NEW BOTTLES>????? HAAAAAAAA WOW pureology is already super expensive to begin with right then they go and pull this bulls#$it. the Old shampoo bottles used to have 10.1 oz of product NOW THE NEW BOTTLES OF SHAMPOO ONLY HAVE 8.5oz !!!!!!!!!! they are such cheats!!!! so your getting less product and its still 27$$ its unbeliveable what has happened to the pureology brand. it used to be reall 100% extracts now its all silicones and parahbens -____-


on 11/10/2010 12:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I alternate or mix this conditioner with the hydrate conditioner depending on the weather, etc

It is expensive but it last forever! Also, go to a beauty discount store or online and find the sales or ask them to call you when pureology is offering a special. The larger the size you buy, the better value it is for your money. Do the math on the bigger sizes and you'll see it's really the same as other brands- maybe cheaper b/c it lasts so long.


on 10/20/2010 7:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would re buy this over and over again.
But it tangles my hair a lot honestly.
Also for buying the 115$ bottle at ulta and the pumps getting stuck and still not being able to get the rest out of the bottem
makes me a lil mad >=l




Back to Top