L'Artisan Fragrances • Premier Figuier Extrême • Fragrances

rated 3.8(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 missiwi1970 on 6/25/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by missiwi1970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My spring and summer fragrance!
I love the smell of figues and this is exactly what they smell like.
It's fresh,like fresh cut grass.
Smells expensive and what i like about it,it smells like old classy perfumes.To me,most perfumes nowadays have a "chemical" "cheap" smell.
When i put this on people always ask me what i'm wearing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 3/5/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

What a pleasant and modest fragrance that is both realistic and ethereal, elusive. I never thought I would fall in love with a fig fragrance or something that has coconut in - but alas. Le Premier Figuiere Extreme is clean and milky on my skin, more demure and deeper than airy but sugary Philosykos. Coconut here is rather a very light touch of coconut milk, adding a bit more life to the milky note. And the figs are green, perhaps even wild. It has some earthy moments but nothing that disturbs the overall serenity. Casual, modest but somehow addictive. Close to skin, but somehow present. I think its simplicity is the fruit of great skill, talent and mastery. It makes me think of summer breeze in the Mediterranean and pastel colours. I'll wear it a lot this spring and I feel lucky to have come across it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sassykzt on 10/11/2011 12:58:00 AM more reviews by sassykzt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first thought was that I had found my holy grail. I think this is the most pleasant “fig” fragrance I’ve tried—it presents such an excellent green accord: Fig leaf, green notes, a bit of pine—all smooth and rich, non-aromatic and non-resinous; it’s quite warm and it retains its warmth through the dry down. There is a slight touch of sweetness in the accords, the result, I think, of the almond milk and a bit of dried fruit. I don’t smell the coconut and I don’t get a strong sandalwood, but then, none of the notes seem to stand out in this beautifully refined green / milky fragrance. It is linear and doesn’t throw very much sillage; it stays close to the skin and has good longevity. I don't see it as particularly feminine. I must say, though, that this fragrance provided the quickest olfactory fatigue that I’ve ever experienced. Within five minutes of applying it, I couldn’t smell it. After fifteen minutes of avoidance, there it was back again in all it’s glory. So I had to short shift my sniffing sessions while I was wearing it. Premier Figuier Extème is just plain beautiful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 12/17/2010 6:54:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes:fig tree leaves, gorse bush flowers; almond milk, figs, sandalwood; coconut milk, dried fruit notes, stone pine.

This fragrance opens with the typical fig note: green and milky at the same time. Underneath the strong fig note I smell the aromatic sandalwood which acts as its base, but only if I go very close to the skin. In this fragrance the fig note is softer, compared to other fig scents. As the fragrance progresses, the milky bitterness of the fig leaves softens to a harmonious nutty milk and sweet fig fruit accord. Once the fragrance has reached this stage, it stays this way until it fades. Lasts for roughly 4 hours on my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 christinaking on 11/9/2010 2:15:00 AM more reviews by christinaking

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first tried Philosykos a month ago and was completely enthralled with the experience, it was the most wonderful thing I had ever smelled, at first green, sharp and then developed into the beautiful scent of a fig, a little coconutty, still green, wonderful. The problem was it disappeared in almost an hour. So then I tried Premier Figuier and PFE, and side by side, PF was lost in comparison to the stronger, richer PFE, and did fall in love with PFE. So I came home with the beautiful PFE bottle. At first I found it very strong, very coconutty, not very green. Keep in mind that my fig journey had begun with Philosykos. After a week, I am able to love it. I do smell the green, and the fig, and all the wonderful aromas of fig. But it is not sharp, it is feminine, and beautiful. The absolute perfect scent. It is PF, but sexy and lasts and lasts.
EDIT: Sorry to the lovers but this perfume smells like ashes on the drydown...really gross

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrystelica on 6/3/2010 5:43:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very nice overall. One of my favorite L'Artisans I've tried so far. I love the effect the creamy, slightly sweet powder of the fig and sandalwood has in blending together. The sweetness is slight, and produces in my mind, a bizarre association of: my own very sweet grandmother, when I was a child and, for some reason, a Buddhist altar, the figs all piled up on a bronze bowl with sandalwood incense unlit in an offering dish. There would have to be bowls of milk here as well. The milkiness in this scent is unparalleled. It smells lovely on my skin... very maternal, generous and peaceful.

I don't get coconut, -maybe- coconut milk? But smells less like coconut, more like cream on me. Nor do I get any pine or green from this.

EDIT: I kind of dislike the drydown of this. It smells somewhat too mature for me, like the fig gets too soft, sweet and overripe. Minus 1 lippie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 2/16/2010 11:52:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

(3.5)

If figs grew on fairytale trees whose wood was santal and whose needles were pine, then we would have Premier Figuier Extreme, a fragrance that begins as the pure flesh of ripe fig and ends as a bit of a horticultural upset.



PFE shows promise in the money notes, the ones that appear first and that attract an unconsidered purchase. Luscious fig pulp smells honeyed at the outset, joined by what L'Artisan gives as almond and coconut milks. The fig is clear as sugar syrup and is nearly as sweet. You could stay in this phase forever, gratified as much by the scent as memory would be gratified by recalling a simple dessert of figs drizzled with honey, taken al fresco...



Reality intrudes. PDE (and PE before it) is a glorious artistic conceit: to create a scent that explores all facets of fig and to select as companion notes those extraneous things that both illustrate and repurpose it into aesthetic brilliance, to take nature one step beyond.



But nature can be bitter and it often victimizes where it might enhance. This is the effect of combining sandalwood with pine in the base, and it it transcends the fig notes almost in entirety, leaving the wearer wondering why the fig has been abandoned in favor of the wood and the cone.



PDE has an exceptional amount of movement, although I am not sure if this is deliberate. It went from sour to powdery to gasoline fumes and then into bitterness, ultimately becoming a frustrating exercise in futility as the wearer searched for the promise of the opening.



There is even a strong and stubborn "perfumey" section that refuses to give up its grip and floats above the sandalwood drydown with some persistence, becoming irritatingly soapy. It feels as if the fragrance has moved away from its moment; where fig should have been center stage it is not and raw pine needles and sandalwood are. Although there is a floral note, it isn't necessarily anything recognizable and seems only to serve the purpose of making PDE smell like "perfume."



Overall, it smells as if two-thirds of this fragrance has been outsourced, or was a brief worked on by various competitive noses, each with his or her own agenda. That it moves with such whiplash speed from sweet to bitter is interesting and a peculiar study in contrasts, except I am certain this is not what was intended. The end result is the olfactory equivalent of eating ripe fig and then sucking on bark. Quirky enough to become addictive, even if the equilibrium is off.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doree_001 on 7/17/2009 7:43:00 AM more reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Hm, nice, although I usually don't like figue scents. The milky-coconut blast is also nice and comforting here (and I don't like the smell of coconut in perfumes either).

All in all, a fragrance that I was sure I wouldn't like turned to be quite nice and almost on my wish list. Anyway, I am not sure would I buy it because the drydown is a bit flat, bland, and I have noticed a strange artificial ruberry (?) smell in it.

Between 3+ and 4.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephhamilton on 3/24/2009 2:46:00 AM more reviews by stephhamilton

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love the blast of coconut I get when i put this on but it doesn't last it just gets rather blah and boring on me after a while, I don't hate it but I don't think its going on my to buy list, after reading the reviews maybe its the sandalwood I don't like. I like it more than the original though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Faucet188 on 2/12/2009 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Faucet188

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Admittedly, The L'Artisan line is one of my favorites, as their scents are unique and full of layers and surprises- though some last longer than others. I love this floral fig scent because it is so versatile. It is, like other reviewers have noted, both green and warm and I believe this to be because of the notes of almond. I have been wearing this for a very long time. I find it so versatile because I enjoy it alone as well as layered with other fragrances. It blends very well with Michael Kors and also smells beautiful when layered on top of the Papillon body cream. HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Artisan Fragrances products

More Fragrances products