Acqua di Parma • Colonia Assoluta • Fragrances

rated 4.2(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* djsaphira on 4/7/2014 4:41:00 PM more reviews by djsaphira

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've always love citrus-based colognes and eau de toilettes. My first experience with them was finding a box of Roger & Gallet Jean Marie Farina soaps in my mother's closet when I was about 5 years old. I just love the freshness and clean, skin-like dry down of citrus top notes and herbal accords. But I digress...

This eau de cologne, as other ladies have already pointed out, is a dry citrus mixed with middle notes of woods, spices, and finally a slightly powdery, yet refined, lingering finish. I know this would smell amazing on a man as I detect a large hint of leather and spices, but somehow I find this scent to be familiar and comforting, like a well worn pair of shoes or a luxuriously thick and soft sweater. I have been known to wear this in the fall more so than the heat of summer, but it would work well in either season. Refined, classic, and always a pleasure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annasol on 1/21/2011 6:09:00 PM more reviews by annasol

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Fantastic smell ! I bought it witout smelling it before which I normally never do. But as Jean Claude Elena had developed it, I thought I will take the chance. It reminds me of Spain and old fashioned colognes but with a modern twist. I am very glad I bought it and it is one of my favorites. It does not stay on very long but maybe this is because it is a edt ? Although it is said to be masculine smell as well as femine I think it is more suitable for women.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maggiequinn on 10/6/2010 1:33:00 PM more reviews by maggiequinn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Colonia Assoluta opens with a blast of citrus notes, which is not dissimilar to ultra-cheap 4711, and is a great wake up call in a bottle first thing in the morning. But, as opposed to 4711, it does not end there – the citrus notes quickly disappear and give way to warmer and more sophisticated mix of woods and spices – very elegant and well balanced, which persist for the next 4-6 hours. How I wish some people at work would use this one instead of whatever “fresh cologne” they are applying in the morning! Colonia Assoluta is not groundbreaking or particularly novel, but it is an extremely well done every day and any occasion cologne. I like the elegant bottle. The sprayer creates an absolutely perfect fragrant mist – I wish the sprayers on my other bottles would work like this! I only take one lippie off for the price – I would love to have a gallon of it at hand but it is way too expensive for this dream to come true!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 10/13/2009 1:55:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Colonia Assoluta is the only product from Acqua di Parma line that I use regularly, and the only cologne in my collection that I truly care about. I find myself reaching for it more and more often nowadays, especially after sampling fragrances in department stores that make me wonder whether I am becoming anosmic or fragrances super weak. To me, Colonia Assoluta goes one step beyond aromatic citrus fragrances and showcases how something as light as a cologne can also be deeply memorable with great presence, depth and confidence when concocted with care. Indeed, my senses register Colonia Assoluta as a spicy citrus with a relaxed and carismatic attitude. On me, it opens with a hot/peppery but relaxing citrus that is never screechy or alcoholic. The pepper is not a black, dry aroma that tingles my nose but the hot presence of bright red dried chillies that I soak in warm water before use. This is accompanied by a nbalanced citrus that brings to mind the inner side of the peel or the flesh itself. It isn't an acid attack. Soon after, I get a greener note that lifts the smell up and almost bridges the opening with the heart. Luckily for me, this does not dominate the heart and is accompanied by flowers that I know are there just as a senation. Not a single of them dominate the heart that slowly becomes powdery - ylang ylang?- but not again, not bitter.At this point, I always appreciate how the fragrance has developed ever so smoothly into a more complex, spicy yellow elixir on my skin. It is both uplifting and relaxing. The drydown is longer than many EDPs in the market and to me, again a well blended, slightly musky white wood sensation. Fantastic during summer days with cotton trousers and leather sandals, during summer evenings with long dresses, autumn days with chic trench coats and in the spring with light sweaters. More importantly, it helps me to re-focus while working or studying. It has more sillage on me than a skin scent and lasts and lasts. I have and will rebuy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jtcomboy on 6/30/2008 10:46:00 AM more reviews by jtcomboy

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tend to subscribe to the ‘fragrance wardrobe’ school of thought, as opposed to the idea of a single ‘signature scent.’ Just as you wouldn’t wear a full length evening gown to a barbecue at the beach, different kinds of scents are appropriate to different occasions, and it’s nice to have a varied fragrance wardrobe with different options. The Eau de Cologne genre is the olfactory equivalent of a chic but airy sun dress (or a light linen jacket for men) – effervescent, transient, refreshing, and not at all serious or buttoned-down.
Acqua di Parma’s Colonia Assoluta is a refined and sophisticated variation on the cologne theme, and was created by Jean Claude Ellena and Bertrand Duchaufour, two of my favorite noses. Like the original AdP Colonia, Colonia Assoluta plays up the floral aspect of the cologne formula, with rose, jasmine, and ylang ylang layered under the usual citrus top notes (orange and bergamot). Where Colonia Assoluta differs is to add a touch of spice (pepper and cardamom) and a warm, woody drydown that, incidentally, seems to add to its longevity.
Since the eau de cologne formula has been around for such a long time, there is perhaps a certain perception of being a bit old-fashioned in wearing the scent. I prefer to take it as the equivalent of favoring beautifully tailored vintage clothing over modern, trendy, sweatshop-wear. In an era when young women are encouraged to smell like sticky fruit, and young men like the air conditioning system of a multi-story office building, I’ll take Colonia Assoluta, thank you very much.

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Perfmavin on 6/7/2007 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Perfmavin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a summer fragrance that would be sophicated and subtle. I didn't think this would do the trick, but it does. True, it has the notes mentioned in the other reviews, but they are so well blended that none of them sticks out distinctly on me - only a very powdery dry-fown. I can wear this any day when I'm not in the mood for one of my singularly distinctive fragrances. It makes me feel as if I just stepped out of the bath and into some new finely-tailored Italian clothes. The bath line is also wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondefornow on 8/5/2006 2:21:00 PM more reviews by blondefornow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I spent a lot of time in Italy as a teenager and remember walking the boardwalk of the beach resort we were staying at. Everyone was tan, dressed to the nines and on the prowl. This is what Colonia Assoluta reminds me of. Raw, cocky Italian confidence! It's subtle and dignified but also exudes an intense sensuality. I bought a bottle for my drop dead gorgeous "eurofied" husband. I literally swoon when I smell this on his tanned muscles. Occasionally I spray it on myself and told him just today that I turn myself on when I wear this! I tried Iris Nobile this spring but was turned off by it's coolness. I'm a pale blonde and figured this was a Grace Kelly classic fragrance but it did nothing for me. Smelled pretty but very simple. Assoluta is far more complex. Definitely nothing you'd ever smell in the mall. I love the bottle, very classy-you just know what smells inside will be good. It's expensive and very hard to find. I know that I will be repurchasing however, if just to bring back the memories of being 16 and in "love".

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* veruska on 7/5/2006 1:39:00 AM more reviews by veruska

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

colonia assoluta is a improving redition on the classic acqua di parma colonia.as i'm not a fan of the first offering i think that assoluta is definitelly better and i can sense some pretty ethereal white flowers in the citrus concotion,maybe alight jasmine or a hint of orchid .i can't really tell.after all it's just a whisper.the drydown also is a bit muskier but in a good way.this is definitely better than the original

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Clearing on 6/2/2005 10:01:00 AM more reviews by Clearing

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This has a dry down very much similar to Philosophy's Baby Grace, with a potency ten times as strong.
It's a musky soft ending (white musk)...and very very sweet. The brief citrus opening is not important really, because the base is nothing like it and emerges within ten minutes. I would think there's mimosa in this...but it's not in the published release of notes. The verbena, pink pepper, cardamom, and rose notes come out well in the middle and base. I wouldn't think most American men would want to wear this. It seems ultra feminine to me, but *my DH* (mr-hunky-able-to-wear-any-old-prissy- thing-and-make-it-manly) could pull it off I'm sure.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tomoe2 on 6/10/2004 6:13:00 AM more reviews by Tomoe2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Oh, I love this scent. The original version was much too harsh on me - me, the confirmed citrus scent lover! This version blends in ylang-ylang, rose, jasmine, red pepper, cardamom, woods, amber and musk into the original notes, and it morphs from a crisp to a soft, spicy, musky citrus. I can imagine it will wear beautifully in the hottest of summer days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Acqua di Parma products

More Fragrances products