MAC Viva Glam I - the original

4.6

214 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Octyldodecanol, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Silica, Tricaprylyl Citrate, Ozokerite, Isononyl Isononanoate, Paraffin, Phenyl Trimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax\Cera Carnauba\Cire De Carnauba Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Vanillin, Acrylates Copolymer, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Stearyl Stearoyl Stearate [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6, Red 6 Lake, Red 7 Lake, Red 21 Lake, Red 28 Lake, Red 30 Lake, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 lake, Yellow 10 Lake]


on 4/3/2015 10:07:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I needed a good retro looking deep red.
Ruby Woo, she didn't work for me, she went too blue red on me.
I needed darker deeper.
So I dropped what to me is a ridiculous amount of money for a lipstick on this.
Annd yeah, it totally delivered.

There probably isn't much I can say that hasn't been said dozens of times by others.
It is a very drying formula. So exfoliate and moisturize prior to application.
And I mean it.
Exfoliate.
Put on a moisturizing lip balm with some staying power (honestly, with MAC, I use ChapStick, and it works like a charm) and then wipe it off a little (not a lot, you just don't want slidey lips)
And then apply.
And this is a red that you can apply from the tube. In fact I recommend it. Because trying to use a lip brush to get a good solid cover with this is not much fun.
Use steady hand (or line your lips first and then soften the line if your hand isn't steady)
Blot on a piece of paper (trust me) and then apply again and blot.
That lip, it isn't going anywhere.

So yeah. Dark Sexy Red.



on 1/17/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing red lipstick! I have nothing like it. I have a warm skin tone and I was worried it would be too blue based/cool-toned or possibly be unflattering but it wasn't at all. I wouldn't call this a brick red since on me it doesn't show up that way. The hue is definitely a brighter red, on the cooler side-most of my red lipsticks are brownish in tone but this is way brighter. The matte texture makes it look very classic, reminds me of old Hollywood. Staying power, being matte, is great. If you want moisture and creaminess then you probably wouldn't like this. But seriously- think pin-up, statement-making, and bold. Snow White. Your lips will stand out with this one!! Love it- had the reddest lips in the room when I went to a wedding! Oh and it made my teeth look whiter. Awesome.


on 1/14/2015 6:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Vg1 is such a beautiful deep dark red. I thought russian red was my hg red until I found vg1. This lippy is a little darker than russian red with russian red being more on the bright side. Overall, Vg1 is a sexy and classic shade!


on 12/14/2014 2:22:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

The best red on me. Doesn't look clownish, just a great neutral, somewhat browned red that doesn't make your teeth look yellowish, the way blue reds can do. It's practically the only red lipstick I wear. The finish is semi-matte. If you apply it with a brush, it's very good for day, and you can layer it on and I think there is (not sure if it's always available) a matching lipglass for night drama. This lipstick makes me feel happy. And the profits go to AIDS research, which no matter your politics, is beneficial to all people. A bonus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 5:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This lipstick is the perfect blue toned lipstick for me, because it has some brown tones which make it a deeper red that's perfect for any season, but especially fall. I l think this red could look good on almost any skintone( Im nc37-40 for reference). Its more of a retro and classic shade compared to ruby woo and russian red, which are brighter/ funner reds in my opinion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2014 10:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my second favorite lip color besides dubonnet. They are very similar colors but dubonnet is amplified and is the only amplified I own (the others including vg1 are matte). I love the brown tone vg1 has it makes it look bloody n sophisticated as opposed to a brighter blue toned red. I have ruby woo and used to wear it all the time (I even went through it one other time and I'm on my second tube) but I feel darker reds suit me better. So I decided to try vg1 and it applies much easier even though it's matte also. Plus the color is beautiful and formula feels nice. I feel so nostalgic for the 90s When I wear this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My favorite so far of the Viva Glam collection! It's a matte brick red on me. I could honestly sit here and write a book about how awesome this color is. If you love reds or want to try a nice dark red, but not too dark, grab this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2014 3:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It wasn't love at first sight. I tried this on in the store, and didn't love it right away. I thought it was too dramatic, too deep, too whatever. I kept it on and wore it through the mall and every time I passed a mirror, I began to really love the color. My face seemed brighter and the color faded for a much less dramatic effect. I didn't end up buying a tube that day, but I sure came back a week later to get it. I work in a dimly lit restaurant at night, and this is my most-used shade.

VG1 is a brownish-red that leans cool. I am warm-toned and Russian Red did not work for me at all. This one however, is just brown enough to not make me look like a clown. It IS matte and it IS slightly drying. However, for a MAC matte lipstick, I don't find this to be particularly long-lasting. I have to reapply every couple hours in order to keep it as deep a color that I want.

100% of proceeds go to the MAC AIDS Fund! Hopefully I will find another shade from the Viva Glam line that I like so that I can keep contributing to this cause. Otherwise, VG1 is a shade I can honestly recommend to most women since it is (mostly) universally flattering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love this and I thought it would be too dark its not it's perfect.


on 7/20/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

LORD HAVE MERCY!!!! I LOVE THIS SHADE!

When I purchased this, it was my very first MAC lipstick, and I am so happy it was. I usually go for a neutral shade, but this time I wanted something bold. HOWEVER I was not looking to go crazy, I was still sticking to my comfort zone, and I LOVE a classic red lip, so that's what I was in the market for. I passed up Ruby Woo right away, it's notorious for being drying and I struggle with dry lips, so I was not prepared for that just yet. I also didn't want a creme sheen, I just wanted to stick to something matte. The lady helping me went through many shades that didn't speak to me, BUT THEN, she swatched Viva Glam 1.

It was then that the heavens opened wide over that humble MAC counter. It was as if Jesus himself descended on a cloud, and handed me a solid gold MAC bullet engraved "Viva Glam 1" And said, "This is it, Hayley. This is the one." I saw the light that day, and I have never looked back ladies and gentlemen.

The very moment the sample of this lipstick touched my lips, I KNEW it was the one. This was the shade I was proud to call my first ever MAC lipstick. The lipstick went on FLAWLESSLY and it was a perfect shade for me, not so much a classic red, but more of a cool toned, with a hint of brown actually. I wouldn't dare say it looked "vampy", but maybe a step down from a vampy lip. The MAC employees sang the praises of this lipstick, talking about how gorgeous I looked. As the compliments surrounded me, I thought to myself "I know you ladies are just saying these things so I'll buy the product, but PLEASE go on!" I bought the shade immediately and pranced around the mall, knowing I made the best decision.

To this day I am proud to own this lip shade. Not only was my very first MAC lipstick purchase a Viva Glam (Which as everyone knows, is a very charitable purchase), but it is just an amazing shade for me. The staying power is great, I can eat, drink, and be merry, and this lipstick will not budge. 9+ hours of wear and my lipstick is STILL going strong. The color on the lips is very true to shade, and it stays the same color, so you don't have to worry about it fading into a different shade. The smell is beautiful, and I adore it. It is not too drying, which I was super excited about. It photographs exceptionally.

When I bought this, I had never spent over $10 on a lipstick, but because of the brand I was MORE than willing to shell out $16.50. However, now I am willing to pay the money not because of the brand name, but because I know it is actually worth the money you pay. I have purchased a couple more lipstick shades from MAC since this one, and I have yet to be disappointed.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
186 Reviews
Provocalips
60 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top