MAC • Viva Glam I - the original • Lipstick

rated 4.6(210 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 coffeecupcake on 10/21/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by coffeecupcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This lipstick is the perfect blue toned lipstick for me, because it has some brown tones which make it a deeper red that's perfect for any season, but especially fall. I l think this red could look good on almost any skintone( Im nc37-40 for reference). Its more of a retro and classic shade compared to ruby woo and russian red, which are brighter/ funner reds in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Painter94x on 10/19/2014 10:47:00 PM more reviews by Painter94x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second favorite lip color besides dubonnet. They are very similar colors but dubonnet is amplified and is the only amplified I own (the others including vg1 are matte). I love the brown tone vg1 has it makes it look bloody n sophisticated as opposed to a brighter blue toned red. I have ruby woo and used to wear it all the time (I even went through it one other time and I'm on my second tube) but I feel darker reds suit me better. So I decided to try vg1 and it applies much easier even though it's matte also. Plus the color is beautiful and formula feels nice. I feel so nostalgic for the 90s When I wear this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sapphirecoqui on 9/24/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by Sapphirecoqui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

My favorite so far of the Viva Glam collection! It's a matte brick red on me. I could honestly sit here and write a book about how awesome this color is. If you love reds or want to try a nice dark red, but not too dark, grab this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ASH1337 on 8/15/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by ASH1337

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

It wasn't love at first sight. I tried this on in the store, and didn't love it right away. I thought it was too dramatic, too deep, too whatever. I kept it on and wore it through the mall and every time I passed a mirror, I began to really love the color. My face seemed brighter and the color faded for a much less dramatic effect. I didn't end up buying a tube that day, but I sure came back a week later to get it. I work in a dimly lit restaurant at night, and this is my most-used shade.

VG1 is a brownish-red that leans cool. I am warm-toned and Russian Red did not work for me at all. This one however, is just brown enough to not make me look like a clown. It IS matte and it IS slightly drying. However, for a MAC matte lipstick, I don't find this to be particularly long-lasting. I have to reapply every couple hours in order to keep it as deep a color that I want.

100% of proceeds go to the MAC AIDS Fund! Hopefully I will find another shade from the Viva Glam line that I like so that I can keep contributing to this cause. Otherwise, VG1 is a shade I can honestly recommend to most women since it is (mostly) universally flattering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hottahitilover on 7/25/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by hottahitilover

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

love this and I thought it would be too dark its not it's perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 7/20/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

LORD HAVE MERCY!!!! I LOVE THIS SHADE!

When I purchased this, it was my very first MAC lipstick, and I am so happy it was. I usually go for a neutral shade, but this time I wanted something bold. HOWEVER I was not looking to go crazy, I was still sticking to my comfort zone, and I LOVE a classic red lip, so that's what I was in the market for. I passed up Ruby Woo right away, it's notorious for being drying and I struggle with dry lips, so I was not prepared for that just yet. I also didn't want a creme sheen, I just wanted to stick to something matte. The lady helping me went through many shades that didn't speak to me, BUT THEN, she swatched Viva Glam 1.

It was then that the heavens opened wide over that humble MAC counter. It was as if Jesus himself descended on a cloud, and handed me a solid gold MAC bullet engraved "Viva Glam 1" And said, "This is it, Hayley. This is the one." I saw the light that day, and I have never looked back ladies and gentlemen.

The very moment the sample of this lipstick touched my lips, I KNEW it was the one. This was the shade I was proud to call my first ever MAC lipstick. The lipstick went on FLAWLESSLY and it was a perfect shade for me, not so much a classic red, but more of a cool toned, with a hint of brown actually. I wouldn't dare say it looked "vampy", but maybe a step down from a vampy lip. The MAC employees sang the praises of this lipstick, talking about how gorgeous I looked. As the compliments surrounded me, I thought to myself "I know you ladies are just saying these things so I'll buy the product, but PLEASE go on!" I bought the shade immediately and pranced around the mall, knowing I made the best decision.

To this day I am proud to own this lip shade. Not only was my very first MAC lipstick purchase a Viva Glam (Which as everyone knows, is a very charitable purchase), but it is just an amazing shade for me. The staying power is great, I can eat, drink, and be merry, and this lipstick will not budge. 9+ hours of wear and my lipstick is STILL going strong. The color on the lips is very true to shade, and it stays the same color, so you don't have to worry about it fading into a different shade. The smell is beautiful, and I adore it. It is not too drying, which I was super excited about. It photographs exceptionally.

When I bought this, I had never spent over $10 on a lipstick, but because of the brand I was MORE than willing to shell out $16.50. However, now I am willing to pay the money not because of the brand name, but because I know it is actually worth the money you pay. I have purchased a couple more lipstick shades from MAC since this one, and I have yet to be disappointed.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 harmony7 on 6/11/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by harmony7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have finally found a true matte red for my skintone! VG1 is an intense deep red with brown undertones that is the perfect red on my NC50 skintone. I pair it with Brick lipliner to add extra color and to help it last longer. The staying power of this lipstick is strong. Even though it is matte, it is not as drying as I feared it would be, but I do wear lip balm under it. I'm dark enough that this color can be worn during the day and I also like to wear it for other occasions as well. I highly recommend VG1 for dark skinned girls who want a matte red that won't make you look like a clown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bunniluv88 on 4/9/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by bunniluv88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful shade of red.I wear this shade when I go out,because it is a little too strong for a daytime lip color look for work.I highly recommend.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stella0r on 2/9/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by stella0r

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This one's safe for those who want to give red lips a try. Amazing texture and suits most skintones. It's one of my favorites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nataliecrack on 2/1/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by nataliecrack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is the best red shade from the entire MAC lipstick collection.

It is a slightly brownish blood red with cool undertones and it looks AMAZING.

I used to be a hardcore Ruby Woo fan but i got tired of it, and then i remembered i had Viva Glam I in my collection but never used it. Wow. I felt the joy of redescovering an amazing matte red lipstick i never knew before.

It is creamy and opaque and feels like a dream.

It is borderline vampy, could be a bit similar to NARS's Fire Down Below (although FDB is a bit darker), and definitely pinup-y.

I have a yellowish NC20 skin and it looks amazing on me, always receive compliments.

I have almost finished my tube and I can't wait to buy a second one. Might even go get my second buller tomorrow. Can't wait!

Definitely recommended. Plus, the Viva Glam collection supports a good cause. Go get yours today!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products