Olay • Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum - Fragrance Free • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(209 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 inouerinn on 1/21/2015 5:13:00 PM more reviews by inouerinn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this used to be one of my HG serums. it has been reformulated recently, yet another victim of unnecessary reformulation. this is the new ingredients:
Water, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Niacinamide*, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Panthenol**, Polyethylene, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4***, Sodium Peg-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Tocopheryl Acetate^, Allantoin, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract^^, Dimethiconol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Peg-100 Stearate, Dmdm Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Aminomethyl Propanol, Laureth-4, Laureth-7, Disodium Edta, Fragrance
I didn't notice the ingredients changed until i caught a whiff of fragrance when i applied it. not only that, the texture is different compared to the original formulation, it has tendency to "balls up" and seems to not properly absorbs/evaporate. i say evaporate because the original formulation used cyclopentasiloxane as a base ingredient, a lightweight silicone that evaporates. it also caused me slight irritation on the outer corner of my eyes.
I think this is bad move for Olay. The serum WAS perfection in every sense of the word. It seems Olay has replaced the parabens preservative system (which in truth is much gentler, but has been getting bad press and reputation) with DMDM hydantoin, a proven formaldehyde releasing preservative and adding fragrance to a fragrance free product and still brazenly naming it "fragrance free". wtf were they thinking?
FYI, I have been buying Olay from international sellers (mainly US and UK) because in Malaysia, where i live, the Olay products comes from Thailand. It may have the same name, but when u compared the regenerating serum manufactured in US/UK and the one from Thailand, it is not the same. It's no surprise that, when i used the ones i bought locally, it doesnt work as well.
LOI for Olay regenerating serum sold locally: Water, Dimethicone, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Panthenol, Polyethylene, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polyacrylamide, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Dimethiconol, DMDM Hydantoin, Allantoin, Laureth-4, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanolamine, Laureth-7,Sodium PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Fragrance, Disodium EDTA, PEG-100 Strearate, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Alcohol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Limonene, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Salicylate, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4.
Could it be that P&G US is slowly downgrading its ingredients too? I know the superstar ingredients is Niacinamide but other supporting actives (antioxidants etc) should be front and center, not tossed down after preservatives and fragrance.
As a skincare enthusiast, I am sincerely heartbroken when a skincare company reformulate a best product, turning it into a mediocre stuff. Well, enough ranting. Looks like the only thing left to do is for me to move on. RIP regenerist regenerating fragrance free. ur demise will be missed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 futuredermeditor on 11/6/2014 8:49:00 PM more reviews by futuredermeditor

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm a huge fan of Olay products, if for no other reason than I suspect they contain the highest amount of niacinamide permissible in over-the-counter products (4%), judging from niacinamide's ranking on the ingredients list.

I've written about Olay products a lot here: :https://www.futurederm.com/2007/11/11/which-olay-night-moisturizer-should-i-use/

But, basically, huge fan of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 11/6/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this serum. I love the price ($18-$23), I love the texture, I love that it doesn't break me out, or make my skin red or do anything except help my moisturizer to work more effectively. And no weird fragrance. Just great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AsianchickAtl on 11/3/2014 2:02:00 AM more reviews by AsianchickAtl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the serum for years. It makes my face feel and look so much better. I feel like I especially need our in the wintertime when my skin feels drier.

I try to get the fragrance free one when I can since I'm really sensitive to smells.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 9/22/2014 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

HG!!! I had been using Regnerating Serum then stopped using any serum for a while, I just switched to the fragrance free which is supposed to be better for your skin. My skin is so much better since I started using it again!
I like that it has 2% to 3% niacinamide and other beneficial ingredients. My skin feels so smooth and silky after applying and my moisturizer applies nicely over top. I have noticed my skin tone is more even, my greasy t-zone is more under control and my pores so much smaller. I don't know why I ever stopped using it.
Interesting as well, I have been looking for an eye cream since I have the deep dark circles, fine lines, wrinkles starting on my lids and the beginning of crows feet. I read on beautypedia that the Regenerist Eye Lifting Serum (which also rated best) is similar to this so instead of spending more money on an eye product I began to also use this on my eyes. Wow! what a difference. My dark circles are lighter, the fine lines under my eyes gone, my lids are smooth and it is beginning to help with the crows feet.
This product is something I will make sure I don't run out of!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aemccall81 on 9/11/2014 2:31:00 AM more reviews by aemccall81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. It's moisturizing and light. I don't know if it does anything dramatic but just having moisturized skin is enough for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 6/8/2014 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Have been using this for years and it's hard to beat. Excellent anti aging ingredients including niacinimide , fragrance free.The texture is like a very thin lotion but it sinks right in.Your skin will reap the benefits with a serum of this quality. And it's affordable.Excellent as a primer.Not at all greasy. I've used load of high end serums and I keep going back to this.It rivals the best. Packing great, ingredients remain stable during use.If you're looking for a good serum , look no further.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mrsCuevash on 4/11/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by mrsCuevash

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Hello! I am in my late 30's and I have combination/sensitive skin that can break-out if a moisturizer is too much or end of up dry patches if not enough, yeah very frustrating!!! Anywho, I really wanted my skin to love this cause it's "cheap" compared to most serums and it is fragrance free BUT I did NOT! For some strange reason ANY Olay product I use breaks me out and/or I wake up with a SUPER oily face,(which happened)!! Beautypedia lists this as a "best" serum for my skin type but Olay and I just can't seem to get along! BAAHH!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellaeliz on 1/28/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by ellaeliz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination, acne prone skin. I have used this for several years with the Garnier gel-creme moisturizer over it and it is the only combination I've found that does not cause breakouts. (No sunscreen however.) Seems to help with skin texture. Will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geeemm on 11/15/2013 11:25:00 AM more reviews by geeemm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was very surprised to find that this "serum" has more in common with a moisturiser. I tried it to use as a serum before applying the Paula's Choice Skin Balancing moisturiser, but they are in fact incredibly similar to each other in consistency and feel. This is, however, the superior product in my view.

As I stated in my review of the PC product, it feels great on application - very matte without any tackiness. In fact, it feels even lighter than its rival, yet provides more moisture in my opinion. My skin looks calm and its redness reduced, and it seems to keep my skin hydrated no matter what the temperate is. I've found an added bonus was its ability to prime my face for sunscreen - I'd had problems with my Clinique City Block flaking on application, but if I put it on straight after the Olay serum it glides on with minimal flaking!

There's not a great deal more to say about this product, but it was simply made for my skin! I'd highly recommend this fragrance-free version as a moisturiser (morning and night) for anyone with oily skin, especially if sensitivity is an issue. My only real criticism is its price and size - I need at least two pumps for full coverage, and the 50ml bottle doesn't last very long. You don't get a great deal for your money so in future I think I'll have to bulk-buy if I see it on offer!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Treatments (Face) products