Calvin Klein • Escape For Women • Fragrances

rated 3.3(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/18/2013 7:56:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is way too strong but very clean smelling. Immediately after spraying this I can't describe a single note of this fragrance as it has such strange chemistry. The sample I have just smells chemically when first applied but dried down after a couple of hours to a vague watermelony scent. I will not buy a full size bottle and it is doubtful whether I will finish the deluxe size sample that I have. This is way too harsh a fragrance for me, but I do think I have the newer version rather than the vintage one. Perhaps the original version is less harsh but I am not wasting my money trying to find it when I don't really like the reformulated one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/11/2013 6:02:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

On the fence with this, its very hard too describe fragrance. Its dense, modern and does have a certain uniqueness, but still not a classic. I wouldn't put this in my favourites list but I might pick it up again at future time to try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/14/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

For a mass-market fragrance, Escape is supremely weird in its pairing of watermelons and peaches with seaweed, saltwater, and white flowers. Somehow, it all works to provide a sense of lushness, sunshine and ocean breezes.

By using a new kind of aromatic called calones, which provide that melon/marine effect, Escape was groundbreaking in 1991 and paved the way for other "watery" scents like L'Eau d'Issey. It still has a distinctive signature and I can always pinpoint someone wearing it. I LOVE that about Escape.

It's not something I wear often, as I have to be in the mood for its weird alchemy. I do think the reformulation is just fine-- I have both vintage and current, and while the former is more rounded and fruity, the current is a bit lighter and more wearable.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fcirone1 on 1/24/2012 5:05:00 PM more reviews by fcirone1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had an on and off love affair with fragrance over the years - i remember loving it in the nineties. I would purchase the fragrance again some 10 years later...but ended up swapping it again. I recently repurchased today actually - it was only 19.99 so the price was right. I sprayed on the sample and automatically started to rekindle fond memories i had for this scent...fruity and fresh at the same time. Lasting power is amazing and sillage as we all know is amazing too. I think it is a classic that will never go out of style. I think it is a nice change from all the caramel cupcake vanilla scents that are all the rage right now....mind you i have several of those also...fantasy, heiress, fancy, mariah...but for a change i am welcoming the appley fruity melony and flowery sweetness from Escape!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauLau215 on 1/19/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by LauLau215

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful clean aquatic scent! Strong and pretty too! I wear this to work...and co-workers say that it smells beautiful! Works well wiht my pheromones! U can buy this at Ulta or Marshalls/TJMaxx!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 manvisudan87 on 12/28/2011 10:06:00 AM more reviews by manvisudan87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like dis fragnance..it stays whole day n is kinda flowerly one...but i will prefer ck euphoria to it...i think euphoria is more classy...

i got it as a gift but i will never spend money on dis...its very strong so use wid caution...good for everyday use!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 godpsent on 5/3/2011 10:15:00 AM more reviews by godpsent

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Deep Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There is something in this fragrance (as is in many CK frags) that makes my stomach turn. Other than that it is quite lovely and classic.

A dab will do, it is pretty strong.

Has incredible staying power.

Clean, white floral...perhaps the precursor to Marc Jacobs' frags

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keumoak on 12/11/2010 3:11:00 PM more reviews by keumoak

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this when I wore it in college 20+ years ago. It was warmth personified if that makes sense. It always put me in a dreamy mood. i stoped wearing perfume but came across an ad for it recently and I was surprised it was still around and bought a bottle at beauty.com.

Uggh, it smelled like the ugly imposter. It had some resemblence but now smelled acrid and had a distinct smell of Cat pee. Maybe my sense of smell had changed? Then I read the review how Coty had taken over and maybe the formula changed. Another reviewer mentioned smelling fecal, so maybe what I need to do is find a "vintage" edition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme2 on 7/9/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

After reading reviews of this long-lost favorite on MUA and other sites, I concluded that when Coty took over CK's fragrance line, it cheapened the formulas. So I got "vintage" Escape pure parfum in a splash bottle online just to be safe. (FragranceNet and eBay sell 1/8 oz. bottles for under $10.) And I am surprised by how pretty it smells on me! It's actually a lot less sharp and headache-y than Eternity, which I can only wear a couple times a year, although it has a similar rose note in the drydown.


I agree with the reviewer who commented that the color of the juice should really be aqua. On me, Escape has a very clean marine/saltwater note, along with a touch of not-too-sweet summer melons. There is also a lovely tea-rose accord. The overall effect is clean, pretty, and lilting, with a delicate but entrancing sillage. But it's not bland, unisex, or ozonic; the fruits and flowers ground the scent and make it a true "perfume" and not a soapy-smelling body spray. It's lovely for summer, and not at all overwhelming when dabbed on in parfum strength.


I will say that I've smelled Coty's version of this in EDP/body lotion giftsets at Marshalls, and I found it to be more harsh and synthetic. I highly recommend the original parfum from Calvin Klein.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happywoman28 on 6/6/2010 5:10:00 PM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Watermelon and cantalope and pineapple. MMM! It makes me think of a big fruit and melon salad poolside at a tropical resort.
They named it right. The one very slight thing that bothers me is the lack of sex appeal, as melons have no sex.
But when I feel very neuter, and want to be off on a beach under a coconut palm, all calm and mindless and sunny, this is the one. Nothing else does it better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products