Calvin Klein Escape For Women

3.3

110 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/20/2014 5:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Exquisite on me. One spritz to the neckline from several inches and the scent is delectable for hours and hours. I receive compliments daily. However, those women who squirt it liberally will indeed find it nauseating as does everyone who abuses fragrance. The best compliment was an ex-lover who told me that when he was moving out of his apt and could still detect Escape on his pillow it made his legs go weak.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/18/2013 7:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is way too strong but very clean smelling. Immediately after spraying this I can't describe a single note of this fragrance as it has such strange chemistry. The sample I have just smells chemically when first applied but dried down after a couple of hours to a vague watermelony scent. I will not buy a full size bottle and it is doubtful whether I will finish the deluxe size sample that I have. This is way too harsh a fragrance for me, but I do think I have the newer version rather than the vintage one. Perhaps the original version is less harsh but I am not wasting my money trying to find it when I don't really like the reformulated one.


on 1/11/2013 6:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

On the fence with this, its very hard too describe fragrance. Its dense, modern and does have a certain uniqueness, but still not a classic. I wouldn't put this in my favourites list but I might pick it up again at future time to try again.


on 12/14/2012 7:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For a mass-market fragrance, Escape is supremely weird in its pairing of watermelons and peaches with seaweed, saltwater, and white flowers. Somehow, it all works to provide a sense of lushness, sunshine and ocean breezes.

By using a new kind of aromatic called calones, which provide that melon/marine effect, Escape was groundbreaking in 1991 and paved the way for other "watery" scents like L'Eau d'Issey. It still has a distinctive signature and I can always pinpoint someone wearing it. I LOVE that about Escape.

It's not something I wear often, as I have to be in the mood for its weird alchemy. I do think the reformulation is just fine-- I have both vintage and current, and while the former is more rounded and fruity, the current is a bit lighter and more wearable.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2012 5:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had an on and off love affair with fragrance over the years - i remember loving it in the nineties. I would purchase the fragrance again some 10 years later...but ended up swapping it again. I recently repurchased today actually - it was only 19.99 so the price was right. I sprayed on the sample and automatically started to rekindle fond memories i had for this scent...fruity and fresh at the same time. Lasting power is amazing and sillage as we all know is amazing too. I think it is a classic that will never go out of style. I think it is a nice change from all the caramel cupcake vanilla scents that are all the rage right now....mind you i have several of those also...fantasy, heiress, fancy, mariah...but for a change i am welcoming the appley fruity melony and flowery sweetness from Escape!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2012 3:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a beautiful clean aquatic scent! Strong and pretty too! I wear this to work...and co-workers say that it smells beautiful! Works well wiht my pheromones! U can buy this at Ulta or Marshalls/TJMaxx!


on 12/28/2011 10:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i like dis fragnance..it stays whole day n is kinda flowerly one...but i will prefer ck euphoria to it...i think euphoria is more classy...

i got it as a gift but i will never spend money on dis...its very strong so use wid caution...good for everyday use!!!


on 5/3/2011 10:15:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Black

There is something in this fragrance (as is in many CK frags) that makes my stomach turn. Other than that it is quite lovely and classic.

A dab will do, it is pretty strong.

Has incredible staying power.

Clean, white floral...perhaps the precursor to Marc Jacobs' frags


on 12/11/2010 3:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I loved this when I wore it in college 20+ years ago. It was warmth personified if that makes sense. It always put me in a dreamy mood. i stoped wearing perfume but came across an ad for it recently and I was surprised it was still around and bought a bottle at beauty.com.

Uggh, it smelled like the ugly imposter. It had some resemblence but now smelled acrid and had a distinct smell of Cat pee. Maybe my sense of smell had changed? Then I read the review how Coty had taken over and maybe the formula changed. Another reviewer mentioned smelling fecal, so maybe what I need to do is find a "vintage" edition.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading reviews of this long-lost favorite on MUA and other sites, I concluded that when Coty took over CK's fragrance line, it cheapened the formulas. So I got "vintage" Escape pure parfum in a splash bottle online just to be safe. (FragranceNet and eBay sell 1/8 oz. bottles for under $10.) And I am surprised by how pretty it smells on me! It's actually a lot less sharp and headache-y than Eternity, which I can only wear a couple times a year, although it has a similar rose note in the drydown.


I agree with the reviewer who commented that the color of the juice should really be aqua. On me, Escape has a very clean marine/saltwater note, along with a touch of not-too-sweet summer melons. There is also a lovely tea-rose accord. The overall effect is clean, pretty, and lilting, with a delicate but entrancing sillage. But it's not bland, unisex, or ozonic; the fruits and flowers ground the scent and make it a true "perfume" and not a soapy-smelling body spray. It's lovely for summer, and not at all overwhelming when dabbed on in parfum strength.


I will say that I've smelled Coty's version of this in EDP/body lotion giftsets at Marshalls, and I found it to be more harsh and synthetic. I highly recommend the original parfum from Calvin Klein.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
340 Reviews
Light Blue
1409 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top