Calvin Klein • Escape For Women • Fragrances

rated 3.3(110 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DawnHeather on 4/20/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by DawnHeather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Exquisite on me. One spritz to the neckline from several inches and the scent is delectable for hours and hours. I receive compliments daily. However, those women who squirt it liberally will indeed find it nauseating as does everyone who abuses fragrance. The best compliment was an ex-lover who told me that when he was moving out of his apt and could still detect Escape on his pillow it made his legs go weak.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/18/2013 7:56:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is way too strong but very clean smelling. Immediately after spraying this I can't describe a single note of this fragrance as it has such strange chemistry. The sample I have just smells chemically when first applied but dried down after a couple of hours to a vague watermelony scent. I will not buy a full size bottle and it is doubtful whether I will finish the deluxe size sample that I have. This is way too harsh a fragrance for me, but I do think I have the newer version rather than the vintage one. Perhaps the original version is less harsh but I am not wasting my money trying to find it when I don't really like the reformulated one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/11/2013 6:02:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

On the fence with this, its very hard too describe fragrance. Its dense, modern and does have a certain uniqueness, but still not a classic. I wouldn't put this in my favourites list but I might pick it up again at future time to try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/14/2012 7:18:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

For a mass-market fragrance, Escape is supremely weird in its pairing of watermelons and peaches with seaweed, saltwater, and white flowers. Somehow, it all works to provide a sense of lushness, sunshine and ocean breezes.

By using a new kind of aromatic called calones, which provide that melon/marine effect, Escape was groundbreaking in 1991 and paved the way for other "watery" scents like L'Eau d'Issey. It still has a distinctive signature and I can always pinpoint someone wearing it. I LOVE that about Escape.

It's not something I wear often, as I have to be in the mood for its weird alchemy. I do think the reformulation is just fine-- I have both vintage and current, and while the former is more rounded and fruity, the current is a bit lighter and more wearable.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fcirone1 on 1/24/2012 5:05:00 PM more reviews by fcirone1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had an on and off love affair with fragrance over the years - i remember loving it in the nineties. I would purchase the fragrance again some 10 years later...but ended up swapping it again. I recently repurchased today actually - it was only 19.99 so the price was right. I sprayed on the sample and automatically started to rekindle fond memories i had for this scent...fruity and fresh at the same time. Lasting power is amazing and sillage as we all know is amazing too. I think it is a classic that will never go out of style. I think it is a nice change from all the caramel cupcake vanilla scents that are all the rage right now....mind you i have several of those also...fantasy, heiress, fancy, mariah...but for a change i am welcoming the appley fruity melony and flowery sweetness from Escape!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LauLau215 on 1/19/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by LauLau215

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful clean aquatic scent! Strong and pretty too! I wear this to work...and co-workers say that it smells beautiful! Works well wiht my pheromones! U can buy this at Ulta or Marshalls/TJMaxx!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 manvisudan87 on 12/28/2011 10:06:00 AM more reviews by manvisudan87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like dis fragnance..it stays whole day n is kinda flowerly one...but i will prefer ck euphoria to it...i think euphoria is more classy...

i got it as a gift but i will never spend money on dis...its very strong so use wid caution...good for everyday use!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 godpsent on 5/3/2011 10:15:00 AM more reviews by godpsent

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Deep Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There is something in this fragrance (as is in many CK frags) that makes my stomach turn. Other than that it is quite lovely and classic.

A dab will do, it is pretty strong.

Has incredible staying power.

Clean, white floral...perhaps the precursor to Marc Jacobs' frags

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keumoak on 12/11/2010 3:11:00 PM more reviews by keumoak

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this when I wore it in college 20+ years ago. It was warmth personified if that makes sense. It always put me in a dreamy mood. i stoped wearing perfume but came across an ad for it recently and I was surprised it was still around and bought a bottle at beauty.com.

Uggh, it smelled like the ugly imposter. It had some resemblence but now smelled acrid and had a distinct smell of Cat pee. Maybe my sense of smell had changed? Then I read the review how Coty had taken over and maybe the formula changed. Another reviewer mentioned smelling fecal, so maybe what I need to do is find a "vintage" edition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme2 on 7/9/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

After reading reviews of this long-lost favorite on MUA and other sites, I concluded that when Coty took over CK's fragrance line, it cheapened the formulas. So I got "vintage" Escape pure parfum in a splash bottle online just to be safe. (FragranceNet and eBay sell 1/8 oz. bottles for under $10.) And I am surprised by how pretty it smells on me! It's actually a lot less sharp and headache-y than Eternity, which I can only wear a couple times a year, although it has a similar rose note in the drydown.


I agree with the reviewer who commented that the color of the juice should really be aqua. On me, Escape has a very clean marine/saltwater note, along with a touch of not-too-sweet summer melons. There is also a lovely tea-rose accord. The overall effect is clean, pretty, and lilting, with a delicate but entrancing sillage. But it's not bland, unisex, or ozonic; the fruits and flowers ground the scent and make it a true "perfume" and not a soapy-smelling body spray. It's lovely for summer, and not at all overwhelming when dabbed on in parfum strength.


I will say that I've smelled Coty's version of this in EDP/body lotion giftsets at Marshalls, and I found it to be more harsh and synthetic. I highly recommend the original parfum from Calvin Klein.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products